UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
September
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
The History Thread...
by Gremelin
09/18/14 09:42 AM
Doom 3
by Cyrez
09/11/14 08:58 PM
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#10346 - 06/17/02 12:02 PM i Screwed up !!!!
Grifter Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 05/25/02
Posts: 81
Loc: Who is this?
Ack i found my hd unhooked im my cpu, and when i reconnected it and rebooted it a litle blue message apeared and said it couldnt and the only thing i codl do was either retry or reboot from a disk, and well i dont have a disk to reboot from.... i dont even know what happened. is my whole hd erased? [Shit]
_________________________
As i walk through the valley of the shadow of death, i carry a big stick because i am the badest mother****er in the valley

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#10347 - 06/17/02 12:14 PM Re: i Screwed up !!!!
loanbanker Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/05/02
Posts: 69
I highly doubt it.
_________________________
Your mind is fine. Reality is what needs adjusting.

Top
#10348 - 06/17/02 06:45 PM Re: i Screwed up !!!!
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
boot from a disk and see if you can access the harddrive's files. If you can, then the file system is intact and you may try something like booting from your windows CD and reinstalling without formatting. If you can't access the disk, then you're screwed, and may have to reinstall. Unless you can find a boot disk that will repair the boot sector on your hard drive.

And I'd try making sure you hooked up the harddrive properly.
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top
#10349 - 06/17/02 07:52 PM Re: i Screwed up !!!!
BackSlash Offline
UGN's Resident Homo

Registered: 03/16/02
Posts: 599
Loc: TN
you haven't lost anything. when you unconnect alotta stuff it messes it up. you should be able to get a reboot disk and be fine. i've gone through it before
_________________________
"It's better to burn out, than to fade away."

Top
#10350 - 06/18/02 10:19 AM Re: i Screwed up !!!!
Soap Offline
Member

Registered: 03/08/02
Posts: 119
Loc: AfriKA
what's the filesystem?

I it's NTFS and u've made the data private then you're (practically) screwed.

If it's FAT/FAT32 then it's ok, u can get all your data back.

Top
#10351 - 06/18/02 05:47 PM Re: i Screwed up !!!!
Grifter Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 05/25/02
Posts: 81
Loc: Who is this?
i donno what type of file system it is... but i remeber d/ling somthing like fat32 long time ago??? or maybe i installed somthing.. well anyway i dont think i hooked it up the wrong way since there was only 2 cords left on my computer and only 1 place to put each.... also i dont have a boot disc or the windows cd... anyone know were i can get a bootd disc???
_________________________
As i walk through the valley of the shadow of death, i carry a big stick because i am the badest mother****er in the valley

Top
#10352 - 06/18/02 07:40 PM Re: i Screwed up !!!!
Cyrez Offline
UGN Member

Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 136
Loc: O.C
What os do u run.. If its like 2k its prolly ntfs unless you told it to be a fat32... what did the screen say.. like "Unable to find o/s"? If that is what it says check the jumper settings on the back of the h.d also make sure that all the cords are plugged in.
_________________________
_-={N3TMASK.COM}=-_ [MAXIMUM INTERNET SECURITY]

Top
#10353 - 06/18/02 08:44 PM Re: i Screwed up !!!!
olosoft Offline
Member

Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 143
Loc: .
hmm, it seems to me that cmos isnt detecting your boot partition. when your computer if first starting up, press del of f2 or whatever to get into cmos config, go throught the menus until you find your ide configuration. check if its detecting your hard disk. if not, its most likely a master/slave conflict.

uhhh, its hard to explain how to fix if you dont know much about computers...

unhook all your ide devices, cdrom, dvd, hard disks, etc. on your mother board, find the primary ide connecter and connect it to your hard disk with the boot partition. make sure that the hard disk is set to master, which it shold since i hope you didnt move any of the pins. now try to start your computer up. if it doesnt work, its too much trouble to explain, go someplace to get it fixed, shouldnt cost much.

if it does work, plug your other ide devices back in, one by one, and see if it works. if not, try to figure out where the problem is. remember, only one master and one slave on each channel.

Top
#10354 - 06/19/02 05:06 AM Re: i Screwed up !!!!
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
harddrives usually come now with a default as "cable select" or something like that. The master and slave is determined by which plug you hook your harddrive to on the cable. That's how I do things.
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top

Moderator:  Infinite 
Featured Member
Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 136
Forum Stats
2148 Members
46 Forums
34540 Topics
69710 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 02:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 27702
Gremelin 7193
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Tim050, Gecko666, defghi795767, Devo60, ali
2148 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 381 Guests and 289 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!