UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#10469 - 04/13/02 09:09 AM Scanning...SuperScan 3.0
Scallion Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 48
Loc: iraq
Okay, so on my quest to check out the web site cracking scene, I got me a scanner. SuperScan 3.0.

The only problem is...whenever I scan blocks of IP's, NONE of them are active. I've had luck on "localhost", but that's the ONLY one. Even website's URL's don't have ports open -- and they should have port 80 open at least.

So my question is this: What's up? Why is noone active?

Also, what kinda packets does SuperScan send out? ICMP?

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#10470 - 04/13/02 10:56 AM Re: Scanning...SuperScan 3.0
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
The program pings, then scans. a ping IS a ICMP packet. It's what determines if a host is active. Even if a machine IS online, it can show as inactive cause the ping was not returned.

Make sure that "Ping Only" is not selected. And make sure that "Scan only responsive pings" is not selected.

I'll explain what it means to "scan" a host. When you tell the program a range of IP's to scan, it will then try to connect to every port in the port list, or every port in the port range you selected. If it successfully connects - it will disconnect and tell you that port is open.
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top
#10471 - 04/13/02 12:39 PM Re: Scanning...SuperScan 3.0
Scallion Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 48
Loc: iraq
So...when I scan like that, however, all the hosts that come up in my "results" list have little red "x"'s beside them. Doesn't that mean that they're not responding?

Also, nowadays, don't most places reject ICMP packets because they're commonly used as scans?

Top
#10472 - 04/13/02 12:52 PM Re: Scanning...SuperScan 3.0
AK Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/13/02
Posts: 61
SuperScan uses a full TCP connect() so that it can also grab the daemon banner. this is the loudest way to scan an it will be detected in logs. you have to check what ports you selected in the port list. Then check "scan ports in port list".

Top
#10473 - 04/13/02 04:54 PM Re: Scanning...SuperScan 3.0
Scallion Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 48
Loc: iraq
Would, possibly, a better way to do this be using nmap and nlog?

Top
#10474 - 04/13/02 05:00 PM Re: Scanning...SuperScan 3.0
unreal Offline



Registered: 03/01/02
Posts: 860
Loc: KCRQ
nmap is definitely a good scanner to use. However, don't be fooled into thinking that stealth scans (even FIN scans) are undetectable. When I would peruse the IDS logs at work, you wouldn't believe what I would see...

Top
#10475 - 04/13/02 09:24 PM Re: Scanning...SuperScan 3.0
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
All the X's mean they didn't respond to the ping. It will still scan it and show you open ports if you make sure to follow my instructions in my previous reply.
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top
#10476 - 04/14/02 11:37 AM Re: Scanning...SuperScan 3.0
Scallion Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 48
Loc: iraq
So...I'm wondering.

If i go to http://www.ibo.org, I see a website. When I scan http://www.ibo.org, however, when I scan it, port 80 should be open & listening...why is it not? This should work for all web servers!

Top
#10477 - 04/14/02 05:41 PM Re: Scanning...SuperScan 3.0
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
probably cause you're not adding the IP into the range fields. You're adding it in the top text box aren't you? Well, that box is only for resolving the IP to a host or to resolve a host into an IP which will be put into those 2 range text boxes with 'start' and 'stop' in front of them.

So load up SuperScan. Enter http://www.yahoo.com into the top text box. Click the "Lookup" button. Now click the "Start" button.

If you STILL don't get an open port on 80, then maybe you didn't tell it to scan that port.

Well, if you can't get it to work this time, tough. I've lost all patience.
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top
#10478 - 04/14/02 09:55 PM Re: Scanning...SuperScan 3.0
AK Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/13/02
Posts: 61
yeah -=cough:"SPOONFEEDING":cough=- jus do what Rage told -=cough:"SPOONFEEDING":cough=- you.

Top

Moderator:  Infinite 
Featured Member
Registered: 08/22/14
Posts: 1
Forum Stats
2148 Members
46 Forums
35038 Topics
70208 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 05:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 28200
Gremelin 7193
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Tim050, Gecko666, defghi795767, Devo60, ali
2148 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 334 Guests and 264 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!