UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
July
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#12970 - 11/10/05 03:35 AM Need some help setting shit up
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Registered: 03/14/02
Posts: 1136
Loc: Pimpin the Colorizzle
I have a 20" LCD (Dell 2001fp) that has an S-VIDEO input, but I don't own a TV. I'd like to be able to play playstation through my LCD...so I bought a little thing that connects the playstation to S-VIDEO. Hooked it up, it works fine, but there's no audio. The monitor doesn't have built-in speakers so..duh. I obviously would like to have the audio while I play, so I need a way to figure this out. I haven't been able to find an audio out on the monitor that I can just plug my speakers in to. So is there some way I can hook the speakers up directly to my playstation? They're standard computer speakers with the 1/8" jack or whatever.

I also noticed there's an s-video input on my graphics card...maybe I can hook my playstation up to that and play it through there? I don't know if that'd take a toll on my computer, as opposed to connecting the display directly to the playstation. Anyway, just lookin for some ideas here. Thanks

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#12971 - 11/10/05 05:20 AM Re: Need some help setting shit up
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7192
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
SVideo is video only; it's non-audio...

What does the adapter that you bought look like? Where does it plug in? Can you hook in the standard output cable and use the LR audio cables to plug it into a sterio or get a Y adapter and a 1/8" jack to plug into them so you can jack into "modern" computer speakers?

Likely the SVid on your graphics card is SVid out; you'll have to dilly dally though...
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#12972 - 11/10/05 11:00 PM Re: Need some help setting shit up
KillHour Offline

*

Registered: 04/15/05
Posts: 247
Loc: Tonawanda, NY
There are only two audio outputs on a PS2. Component and phiber. Since only tv's have component, you will need a phiber system to play sound. There are two options:

A: Get a SoundBlaster Sound card. These come standard (I believe) with phiber input/output jacks.

B: Get a surround sound system (A GOOD ONE!) I got mine from BJ's for about $1k, and it comes with a Kenwood audio reciever -w- two phiber inputs, a Kenwood DVD player (really nice BTW), and a 5.1 Bose surround sound system with a HUGE subwoofer. Only one problem: the police came to my house, and I'm not allowed to play MOH after 9PM anymore...
_________________________
"We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area."

-UK military spokesman Major Mike Shearer

Top
#12973 - 11/11/05 02:12 AM Re: Need some help setting shit up
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Registered: 03/14/02
Posts: 1136
Loc: Pimpin the Colorizzle
I went to Radio Shack today, and he gave me an adapter to convert RCA to 1/8" stereo, and then a coupler so that I can plug my speakers in. Cost about $8 total, and I'm rockin.

Only problem is is that the monitor does shitty resolution when it takes s-video...don't know why, it can do 1600x1200 normally, makes no sense to me. Anyway, I can play video games now holla.

Top
#12974 - 11/11/05 02:21 AM Re: Need some help setting shit up
KillHour Offline

*

Registered: 04/15/05
Posts: 247
Loc: Tonawanda, NY
Damnit, just when I think I know something
_________________________
"We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area."

-UK military spokesman Major Mike Shearer

Top
#12975 - 11/11/05 02:37 AM Re: Need some help setting shit up
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7192
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
See, I rock lol... Fiber is great if you have the cash to do so... But RCA is pretty decent as well.

Perg, you may wanna fool with your monitor settings as well, you may have an option ther
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top

Featured Member
Registered: 08/21/13
Posts: 1
Forum Stats
2145 Members
46 Forums
33153 Topics
68320 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 10:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 26316
Gremelin 7192
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Jimmie Menon, fghijk435948, Devo60, ali, lavos
2147 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 710 Guests and 384 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!