UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
November
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Latest Reviews
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#15229 - 01/16/03 02:48 AM Ram Question
Deviation187 Offline
Member

Registered: 03/26/02
Posts: 536
Loc: L.A Cal.
Well i have a win2k HP comp. intel Pentium3 and pc100 ram, 900mhz (just some extra info)

now this computer can only hold 256mb of ram. and there are two slots and one has 128 and the other of course empty, I was wondering if I buy a 128mb ram chip, would that help my computer? well more like, would I really notice a diffrence?

-dev
_________________________
"Hmm, they have the internet on computers now." - Homer Simpson
http://wired.promodtecnologies.com/

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#15230 - 01/16/03 03:19 AM Re: Ram Question
windead Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/11/03
Posts: 36
Loc: canada
if you are big on multi-tasking, watch movies, or run memory-eating programs you will probably notice a significant difference. if all you do is surf the net, and small things like that you probably wont notice much of a difference.
_________________________
-windead

Top
#15231 - 01/16/03 10:36 AM Re: Ram Question
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
yes, you will notice a difference.
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top
#15232 - 01/16/03 02:21 PM Re: Ram Question
xero Offline
Member

Registered: 03/28/02
Posts: 192
Really depends on what you're doing, but I don't see how having more would hurt.
_________________________
"Most of our imports come from outside the country" -George W. Bush

http://www.zero-technologies.com

Top
#15233 - 01/16/03 06:25 PM Re: Ram Question
Deviation187 Offline
Member

Registered: 03/26/02
Posts: 536
Loc: L.A Cal.
well i suppose for movies and games :-P
_________________________
"Hmm, they have the internet on computers now." - Homer Simpson
http://wired.promodtecnologies.com/

Top
#15234 - 01/16/03 07:46 PM Re: Ram Question
windead Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/11/03
Posts: 36
Loc: canada
then ya, you'll notice a difference.
_________________________
-windead

Top
#15235 - 01/16/03 10:31 PM Re: Ram Question
xero Offline
Member

Registered: 03/28/02
Posts: 192
heh watching movies and playing games... 256 should be plenty. oy try doing DVD ripping or DivX compression or 3D rendering.. now that's some intensive computing =X
_________________________
"Most of our imports come from outside the country" -George W. Bush

http://www.zero-technologies.com

Top
#15236 - 01/17/03 02:07 AM Re: Ram Question
Moffesto Offline
UGN Supporter

Registered: 04/22/02
Posts: 730
Loc: Kuntucky
you should notice a difference, i didnt notice to much once i went from 256 to 512... but i never do anything on my pc anymore. But i wouldn't settle for less than 512 now. the number is just so sexually attractive.
_________________________
2 people can keep a secret as long as one is dead

Top
#15237 - 01/17/03 06:10 PM Re: Ram Question
Deviation187 Offline
Member

Registered: 03/26/02
Posts: 536
Loc: L.A Cal.
lol yep. Ill get mine offline in about a week, well a week is when the order will be placed plus 4-7 shipping days :p

thanx for the convincing
_________________________
"Hmm, they have the internet on computers now." - Homer Simpson
http://wired.promodtecnologies.com/

Top
#15238 - 01/17/03 06:47 PM Re: Ram Question
SephiroX Offline
Member

Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 122
Loc: England
yeah i really noticed a big diff when i went from 128mb to 1gb on my p3 box
along with my p4 box that has 512ddr

Top
#15239 - 01/17/03 07:46 PM Re: Ram Question
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
get enough memory and you can disable virtual memory and enjoy true speed.
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top
#15240 - 01/20/03 08:29 PM Re: Ram Question
xero Offline
Member

Registered: 03/28/02
Posts: 192
so what is "enough memory" so one can disable their virtual memory?
_________________________
"Most of our imports come from outside the country" -George W. Bush

http://www.zero-technologies.com

Top
#15241 - 01/20/03 09:40 PM Re: Ram Question
Infinite Offline



Registered: 03/09/02
Posts: 1041
Loc: Canada eh
More memory than you could ever possibly ever fill up. Say (depending on your habits) around 2 gigabytes. More if you do anything memory intensive.

Infinite

Top
#15242 - 01/21/03 12:53 AM Re: Ram Question
Skull Offline
UGN Elder

Registered: 03/01/83
Posts: 55
Loc: Iowa
512 Should be fine for most anything you do, I didn't notice a huge jump when i went from 512 to 1.3 gig of ram.

(Is that enough Ram??)

Regards,

Skull
_________________________
Trust me, if i started killing people, there'd None of you left

Top
#15243 - 01/21/03 09:43 AM Re: Ram Question
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
You don't have to have obscene amounts of ram to safely disable virtual memory. Take a look at your pagefile size. It's probably less than 400 megabytes. 1 gig of ram is probably enough. Skull, go ahead and try to disable virtual memory and see what happens and let us know if it sped anything up.
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top
#15244 - 01/23/03 11:46 AM Re: Ram Question
ugnez Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/23/03
Posts: 2
Loc: dania beach, fl, usa
Hay, good repsonses, but try this link for more info, maybe more than you need -- there are links there to extensive, but useful info on the subject; bottom line, for this case, going for the extra memory was optimal, may or may not be in other cases.... chugalug

http://www.windowsbbs.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=13007
_________________________
I have spent most of my money on women and beer. The rest I just wasted...
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
If electricity comes from electrons, does morality come from morons?

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Featured Member
Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7193
Forum Stats
2150 Members
46 Forums
35738 Topics
70908 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 05:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 28899
Gremelin 7193
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
HushHush, golqm, Tim050, Gecko666, defghi795767
2150 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 472 Guests and 290 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News
luxury goods sales at $405B by 2019
by golqm
10/28/14 05:19 AM


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!