UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
September
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
The History Thread...
by Gremelin
09/18/14 09:42 AM
Doom 3
by Cyrez
09/11/14 08:58 PM
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#15695 - 06/17/02 05:07 PM NTFS and 2nd HD, installing program.
loanbanker Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/05/02
Posts: 69
Heres my delema. Im currently running windows 2k pro. I have a copy of ACT which is a contact management program that is a full working copy. However its only for win 98 or 95.

I have a second hd (8gigs)formatted for win98. Heres my problem.

A. I have to install this program on my 2nd HD.
B. My second HD is not NTFS but I cant boot to it either.

I need to find a way to load this program on my second drive.
Is there an easier way then taking my current drive and disconnecting in, making my secondary drive my master, loading windows 98 as my OS, installing my program, then disconnecting the drive, set up my original drive to be master again and my secondary would then have windows 98 and my program I need?

That is the only way I can think of doing it and it seems like one big friggin pain in the ass. If anyone knows of a shortcut on how to help lemme know. thanks.

Ps, I cant modify the path of the installation for this program. This program immediately recognizes Im running NTFS and aborts.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

P.S. If im a little unclear or you need information to help me please let me know.
thanks.
_________________________
Your mind is fine. Reality is what needs adjusting.

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#15696 - 06/17/02 06:21 PM Re: NTFS and 2nd HD, installing program.
CryptoKnight Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/06/02
Posts: 71
well, you cant dual boot 2000/NT and 9x if 2000/NT are on the boot partition and formatted with NTFS. the reason for that is b/c when you try to load 9x, it will look for some files in the boot partition and since it is NTFS, it wont be able to read it. What you can do is setup 9x on the other HD as a boot partition and then maybe back-up and reinstall your 2k as a dual boot.
_________________________
"If you let your wife stand on your toe tonight, she'll stand on your face tomorrow morning" - Sir/Saint Thomas More

-CryptoKnight-

Top
#15697 - 06/17/02 06:35 PM Re: NTFS and 2nd HD, installing program.
loanbanker Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/05/02
Posts: 69
Thank you CryptoKnight.

In the mean time I realized I can always change my bios settings to search for only the second HD. doesnt act as dual boot but temporarily solves my problem.

Thank you again.
_________________________
Your mind is fine. Reality is what needs adjusting.

Top
#15698 - 06/21/02 01:59 PM Re: NTFS and 2nd HD, installing program.
Soap Offline
Member

Registered: 03/08/02
Posts: 119
Loc: AfriKA
GET VMWARE .

just do it. It'll solve your problem.

Top

Featured Member
Registered: 08/22/14
Posts: 1
Forum Stats
2148 Members
46 Forums
34532 Topics
69702 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 02:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 27694
Gremelin 7193
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Tim050, Gecko666, defghi795767, Devo60, ali
2148 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 376 Guests and 291 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!