UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
September
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
The History Thread...
by Gremelin
09/18/14 09:42 AM
Doom 3
by Cyrez
09/11/14 08:58 PM
Amazon Gift Card Generator/KeyGen?te
by Gecko666
08/22/14 09:21 AM
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#16580 - 02/25/03 11:17 AM redhat 8.0
Ares Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 02/16/03
Posts: 20
I need a little help installing red hat 8.0
I set the boot priority to Cd-ROM i insert the Install disk 1 and reboot. Then it asks what type of install action prosses i pick Graphical "because iam a newbie to linux" then it ask what country and laguage and keyboard i pick and press enter. Then it says "RED HAT 8.0 WAS NOT DETECTED ON ANY OF YOUR CD-ROM DRIVES PLEASE INSERT DISK AND PRESS OK "

any help on this will good thanks, <img src=" title="" src="graemlins/pissed.gif" /> <img src=" title="" src="graemlins/pissed.gif" /> [upset]

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#16581 - 02/25/03 12:16 PM Re: redhat 8.0
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Registered: 03/14/02
Posts: 1136
Loc: Pimpin the Colorizzle
If you burned your CDs, you may have gotten a bad iso or the burn just didn't work. So first thing to do is run a checksum on the iso, you can get a utility for windows at http://www.irnis.net/soft/acsv/ Then if the checksum matches the one RH gives, burn the CD. If you've got nero, choose the burn iso option, and just drag your iso into the workspace and choose burn. If you're using something else, make sure that it takes an iso and actually recreates the file system on the CD. Should just be "burn iso" or something similar. When in doubt... make a new disk

Top
#16582 - 02/25/03 12:16 PM Re: redhat 8.0
Infinite Offline



Registered: 03/09/02
Posts: 1041
Loc: Canada eh
I know redhat 8.0 has a cd integrity check you can run on the install disks to make sure they're good to go. You could try that. Other than that I can't think of anything else right off. That is odd.

Infinite

Top
#16583 - 02/25/03 01:40 PM Re: redhat 8.0
Ares Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 02/16/03
Posts: 20
Iam thinking it is a error in the cds any way because i tried it on my other computer and it didnt work got the same thing.
I got it off ebay for 7 dollers and i just emailed that guy and told him to send me another one or he was gonna get reported to ebay for a bad product.
Thanks ill try your suggestions

Top
#16584 - 02/25/03 10:15 PM Re: redhat 8.0
Skull Offline
UGN Elder

Registered: 03/01/83
Posts: 55
Loc: Iowa
Wouldn't it be easier just to d/l it your self?
_________________________
Trust me, if i started killing people, there'd None of you left

Top
#16585 - 02/26/03 02:40 PM Re: redhat 8.0
Ares Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 02/16/03
Posts: 20
no not realy my parnts are gay and wont let me leave the computer on at night. and i got dial up with a 56k i dont think that that would work out to well

Top
#16586 - 02/26/03 04:08 PM Re: redhat 8.0
Ares Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 02/16/03
Posts: 20
hum well i did a little searching and found this.
http://linuxiso.org/viewdoc.php/isofaq.html#corrupt


Why does the installation program keep asking for the cdrom when it's already in the drive, or states it can't find a file?

If your system uses a SCSI cdrom drive, or an older IDE cdrom drive, it's possible that the correct module was not loaded during hardware setup and your cd drive is not enabled. You may be able to determine this by viewing the boot messages in one of the virtual terminals. This is done by holding down the Alt and Control keys while pressing, one at a time, the F1 through F10 keys. You should see different text messages on each virtual terminal. Look for indications that your cdrom drive was detected and a module loaded, or an error message indicating failure. If this occurs you will need to either find the correct module for the drive, upgrade to a newer unit, or use a different installation source.

Not being able to find a particular file is usually an indication that the cd is corrupt. You should have checked the MD5 sums before burning. If the MD5 sums are correct, then there could have been a problem during burning. View the cdrom in whatever OS you are running. If you see one large .iso file, you've copied instead of burned the disk image. Even if you see files and directories and the MD5 sums checked, a file or directory may have not burned correctly. I do not know of an easy way to 100% verify each file and directory was burned correctly.

There could be a problem with the cd media itself. Don't burn at a speed that is faster than the rated speed for the media you're using. If you use a cdr-w, make sure there are no smudges on the burning surface _before_ you start the burn, and, just to be sure, blank the disk before burning your iso file.

Another possibility is that your cdrom has problems reading from the media you're using. Try using the cd in another cd reader, or another system to see if this is the case.
i dont fully understand it though

Top

Moderator:  Infinite 
Featured Member
Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7193
Forum Stats
2148 Members
46 Forums
34502 Topics
69672 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 02:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 27664
Gremelin 7193
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Tim050, Gecko666, defghi795767, Devo60, ali
2148 Registered Users
Who's Online
1 registered (Cyrez), 415 Guests and 313 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!