UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
August
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Amazon Gift Card Generator/KeyGen?te
by Gecko666
08/22/14 09:21 AM
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#16619 - 02/23/03 03:50 PM Trying to add a slave drive to my redhat box without formatting...
Rapture Offline
Member

Registered: 04/23/02
Posts: 212
Loc: Redwood
ok I'm trying to add a slave drive that was previously a slave drive in a freeBSD 4.5 box into my redhat 8.0 box without formatting. Not sure how to go about doing this.

when i try....
#mkdir /mnt/hdd2
mount /dev/hdla /mnt/hdd2

I get "mount: your must specify the filesystem type"

IF anybody can help me out with adding this slave drive without formatting that would be great.


thanks

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#16620 - 02/23/03 04:16 PM Re: Trying to add a slave drive to my redhat box without formatting...
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7192
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
Read the man files for mount, if I recall its just a trigger that tells your system what filetype the new drive is using. I don't have a linux box up right now (re organizing my office, so all of my systems are unplugged and sitting on an old desk).

Its rather easy but I don't really recall...
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#16621 - 02/23/03 05:47 PM Re: Trying to add a slave drive to my redhat box without formatting...
Rapture Offline
Member

Registered: 04/23/02
Posts: 212
Loc: Redwood
unfortunatly it's unable to recognize the file system type. I knew this was a problem but was hoping there would be away around it. I've read through redhat's web site and serached on google but couldn't find anything. I may just have to wait till linux can recognize each file system and be more compatible.

Top
#16622 - 02/23/03 05:55 PM Re: Trying to add a slave drive to my redhat box without formatting...
mtlhd Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 05/21/02
Posts: 67
Loc: Los Angeles,CA
Actually it should be able to read the freebsd filesystem. Correct me I'm wrong but I think the FreeBSD filesystem uses UFS. IF that's the case then you'd just have to configure your Kernel to allow it to read from that type. It's not too hard. I've done it.
_________________________
People demand freedom of speech as a compensation for the freedom of thought which they seldom use.

Top
#16623 - 02/23/03 06:00 PM Re: Trying to add a slave drive to my redhat box without formatting...
mtlhd Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 05/21/02
Posts: 67
Loc: Los Angeles,CA
Oh, by the way. I just found this doing a search on Google Linux :

Click Here

It might be a little outdated but it should clue you in on how to use it, if nothing on there helps, then check this out:

Google Results
_________________________
People demand freedom of speech as a compensation for the freedom of thought which they seldom use.

Top
#16624 - 02/23/03 06:09 PM Re: Trying to add a slave drive to my redhat box without formatting...
Rapture Offline
Member

Registered: 04/23/02
Posts: 212
Loc: Redwood
thank you

Top
#16625 - 02/23/03 06:34 PM Re: Trying to add a slave drive to my redhat box without formatting...
mtlhd Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 05/21/02
Posts: 67
Loc: Los Angeles,CA
No problem. One more thing, if and when you're able to mount the slave drive make it readable only. I think it's still experimental to write to a UFS system under linux, bad things might occur if you write to it.:\
_________________________
People demand freedom of speech as a compensation for the freedom of thought which they seldom use.

Top
#16626 - 02/24/03 04:07 PM Re: Trying to add a slave drive to my redhat box without formatting...
Rapture Offline
Member

Registered: 04/23/02
Posts: 212
Loc: Redwood
hmm well...if anybody cares i recompiled the redhat kernel so it worked with UFS then made the slave drive read only (because it wouldn't let me write). Copied all the stuff to my windows box then unmounted the drive and remounted it. It all works now. Thanks for the links

Top
#16627 - 02/24/03 05:43 PM Re: Trying to add a slave drive to my redhat box without formatting...
mtlhd Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 05/21/02
Posts: 67
Loc: Los Angeles,CA
Glad to hear everything worked out ok.
_________________________
People demand freedom of speech as a compensation for the freedom of thought which they seldom use.

Top

Moderator:  Infinite 
Featured Member
Registered: 08/22/14
Posts: 1
Forum Stats
2148 Members
46 Forums
34027 Topics
69194 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 02:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 27189
Gremelin 7192
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Gecko666, defghi795767, Devo60, ali, lavos
2147 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 296 Guests and 301 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!