UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
September
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
The History Thread...
by Gremelin
09/18/14 09:42 AM
Doom 3
by Cyrez
09/11/14 08:58 PM
Latest Reviews
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#16994 - 10/14/02 11:09 PM Swap partition not being used
Le4rner Offline
UGN Supporter

Registered: 03/05/02
Posts: 562
Okay I am fairly certain my swap partion isn't being used. Doing a few different monitors shows no activity. Memory monitors show almost allways almost maxed out. How can I make sure swap is being used, I messed around in linuxconfg but got no where. any ideas are most welcomed. Thanks ahead of time.
_________________________
http://promodtecnologies.com/rrfn

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#16995 - 10/15/02 12:04 AM Re: Swap partition not being used
hKzKnight Offline
Member

Registered: 03/12/02
Posts: 626
Loc: LAN
I think their is a *nix version of partion magic... Check that out (the shareware for now), that can help and see alot. Hmm also maybe midnight commander, some kind of data programs.
_________________________
-hKzKnight
"The ghost... Was never there and you'll never see me"

Top
#16996 - 10/15/02 12:24 AM Re: Swap partition not being used
sinetific Offline
nobody

Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 815
Loc: Ann Arbor
I think swap was mainly for older machines that didnt have a lot of RAM. When the cache was filled it would use swap space as memory to hold data. If you have lots of memory in your machine I dont think it would really need to use the swap space unless your running some hefty applications.
Windows has something similar to swap, virtual memory, but they just dont use a set space they use the empty space at the end of your drive. I could be wrong though, this is just what my understanding of swap is.

Top
#16997 - 10/15/02 12:29 AM Re: Swap partition not being used
sinetific Offline
nobody

Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 815
Loc: Ann Arbor

Top
#16998 - 10/15/02 12:38 AM Re: Swap partition not being used
Le4rner Offline
UGN Supporter

Registered: 03/05/02
Posts: 562
sinetific.... You da man! BTW how you been man?

Thanks!
_________________________
http://promodtecnologies.com/rrfn

Top
#16999 - 10/15/02 01:10 AM Re: Swap partition not being used
sinetific Offline
nobody

Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 815
Loc: Ann Arbor
good, but busy, thanks for asking man.

Top
#17000 - 10/15/02 03:05 AM Re: Swap partition not being used
hKzKnight Offline
Member

Registered: 03/12/02
Posts: 626
Loc: LAN
when your first install some *nix distros, you can set how much space you want your swap partion to be. Can be a real bitch getting exactly what you want. it beats the "FAT" lol.
_________________________
-hKzKnight
"The ghost... Was never there and you'll never see me"

Top
#17001 - 10/15/02 03:48 AM Re: Swap partition not being used
Infinite Offline



Registered: 03/09/02
Posts: 1041
Loc: Canada eh
Your swap partition should be turned on at boot, but just in case it isn't you can use the 'swapon' command to get it running:

swapon -a

additionally the manpage for swapon will give you the full use of the command.

sum

Top
#17002 - 10/15/02 08:35 AM Re: Swap partition not being used
Le4rner Offline
UGN Supporter

Registered: 03/05/02
Posts: 562
cool...

hKzKnight
it isn't a partiton issue man.. ha ha ha ha I have a /swap partion 500mb worth actualy. Linux just wasn't using it. sinetific and sum helped me out though.
_________________________
http://promodtecnologies.com/rrfn

Top
#17003 - 10/15/02 11:32 AM Re: Swap partition not being used
Energy Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 10/04/02
Posts: 21
Quick check to see how much memory and swap is being used is the top command. Don't be suprised if most of your memory appears to be being used. Most operating systems grab as much memory as they can so they can manage it.

Top
#17004 - 10/15/02 01:47 PM Re: Swap partition not being used
ReverendNinjaSox Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 10/03/02
Posts: 37
What Energy said. Don't worry if it isn't using swap space. Swap is a last resort effort. You want it to not use swap space. It's slower then RAM. If you want to see your swap in action. Open up about 5 instances of Mozilla then do a top. You'll see your swap screaming in pain. Another thing, as a rule of thumb. Your swap is supposed to be the same size as your RAM. Or double it. One or the other. I can't remember. : )

Top
#17005 - 10/15/02 03:22 PM Re: Swap partition not being used
sinetific Offline
nobody

Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 815
Loc: Ann Arbor
now a days with machines that use ~256MB DIMMs and up it should be the same with older machines that use ~16MB SIMMs it should be doubled since it will probably get used alot more. But this isnt a written rule or anything just my opinion your welcome to make your swap space whatever size you like.

Top
#17006 - 10/15/02 06:12 PM Re: Swap partition not being used
Le4rner Offline
UGN Supporter

Registered: 03/05/02
Posts: 562
/me has 384mb Ram.... So I should have 768mb swap?

That is almost a gig of swap space. heh, I allways heard 300 mb of swap.... I guess if what you guys are sayin is the case, then I should be happy because I'm not using all my ram yet.. Ever.
_________________________
http://promodtecnologies.com/rrfn

Top
#17007 - 10/15/02 08:24 PM Re: Swap partition not being used
Infinite Offline



Registered: 03/09/02
Posts: 1041
Loc: Canada eh
Quote:
/me has 384mb Ram.... So I should have 768mb swap?
Yeah, that's a little excessive IMHO. 512mb of swap would be more than ample unless you plan to continuously run a few big programs at once. More than likely you could even get away with a little less if you wanted.

sum

Top
#17008 - 10/15/02 08:49 PM Re: Swap partition not being used
ReverendNinjaSox Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 10/03/02
Posts: 37
This is just the rule of thumb. Make sure you keep that in mind. If you aren't going to be a server you probably will never even notice. You probably still wouldn't notice even if you were a server unless you were really running it ragged.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Infinite 
Featured Member
Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7193
Forum Stats
2148 Members
46 Forums
34507 Topics
69677 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 02:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 27669
Gremelin 7193
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Tim050, Gecko666, defghi795767, Devo60, ali
2148 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 311 Guests and 286 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!