UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
by Gremelin
10/05/15 06:01 PM
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#18083 - 01/28/04 07:28 AM Which is better, filter in a query or filter an array
§intå× Offline

Registered: 12/03/02
Posts: 3255
Loc: Maryland
I recently was asked to make a search that filtered on 5 different variables. Now that isn't that hard. in MySQL it would be something like

." and This2 = '$That2'"
." and This3 = '$That3"

You get the idea.

Problem was not allways would all five variables be used.(is that proper english?) So I found myself researching multi-dimensional arrays and using that instead.

Now the cool thing about using arrays is I found it to be pretty close to using a database. I have used arrays befor, but never with more than 3 demesions. Using PHP What I did was search the database on the only variable that would allways be used. Then I filtered the array from there. I removed the unwated array elements using unset ()

Then re-ordered the array to be able to get its results using array_values()

However, after further reading I find array_values() dose not overwrite the old array, instead it creates a new one. Now with a huge array this could be a memory issue could it not?

I am looking for any thoughtful feed back on this as to what a efficent work around might be.
My New site OpenEyes

Sponsored Links
#18084 - 01/28/04 07:54 AM Re: Which is better, filter in a query or filter an array
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7194
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
array :x
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

#18085 - 01/28/04 01:35 PM Re: Which is better, filter in a query or filter an array
Scalli0n Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 08/01/02
Posts: 68

Wrote that tutorial for zend a bit back.

#18086 - 01/29/04 12:20 AM Re: Which is better, filter in a query or filter an array
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Registered: 03/14/02
Posts: 1136
Loc: Pimpin the Colorizzle
Don't know enough about PHP to provide a definitive answer, but based on general programming theory, I think it's safe to say that using the database would be best. Think about the differences in implementation. In the database, you have a system which has had thousands of hours put into it, and is incredibly optimized. Compare that to whatever algorithm you come up to filter the results in the array. I guarantee you the database is going to be better. Furthermore, the database is implemented in native code, so it'll run far more quickly than a similar algorithm done in an interpretted language (PHP). Combine the database's caching mechanisms...and it's a lot faster and smarter to just let the database handle that.


Moderator:  §intå×, Gremelin 
Featured Member
Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 137
Forum Stats
2158 Members
46 Forums
41591 Topics
76766 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 02:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 34753
Gremelin 7194
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Jan Havelles, Herbert_Sherbert, codemauve, Lillysdragon1984, Brewwit
2158 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 246 Guests and 292 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News

  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!