UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
September
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Doom 3
by Cyrez
09/11/14 08:58 PM
The History Thread...
by Cyrez
09/11/14 08:56 PM
Amazon Gift Card Generator/KeyGen?te
by Gecko666
08/22/14 09:21 AM
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#1933 - 07/26/02 10:16 PM Xeon MB question
Moffesto Offline
UGN Supporter

Registered: 04/22/02
Posts: 730
Loc: Kuntucky
Anyone familiar with xeon mbs or just dual cpu MBs in general. I was wondering if you could run one CPU and stick in another whenever.
_________________________
2 people can keep a secret as long as one is dead

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#1934 - 07/29/02 06:03 PM Re: Xeon MB question
olosoft Offline
Member

Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 143
Loc: .
uhm, simply, yes, it is possible to just take out a processor and put in another, of the same architecture. for example, you have a fully running p4 2.0 socket 478, you buy a p4 2.5 socket 478, you can just take the 2.0 out and put the 2.5 in.

as for dual, uhh, what do you want to know. they work pretty much the same as single processor machine. i dont recommend you get one because most thing that you will do wont even be able to use both processes and itll be a waste of money.

if you really want one, i recommend supermicro . they make very very nice dual boards.

i just got just this one and its so damn sexy.

Top
#1935 - 07/29/02 06:47 PM Re: Xeon MB question
Le4rner Offline
UGN Supporter

Registered: 03/05/02
Posts: 562
8 bays for RAM? up to 16 gig of RAM. God damn olosoft. That is beyond sexy. That is Super modle. 6 PCI slots, no AGP... Like it matters.

Very nice. [Yum]
_________________________
http://promodtecnologies.com/rrfn

Top
#1936 - 07/30/02 12:48 PM Re: Xeon MB question
olosoft Offline
Member

Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 143
Loc: .
yea, i only have 4 gigs of ram installed, i wasnt able to find 2 gig dimms anywhere, that didnt cost like 1000$. and i got the pci version of the geforce4 ti4600 so its all good.

Top
#1937 - 07/30/02 04:52 PM Re: Xeon MB question
SephiroX Offline
Member

Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 122
Loc: England
Sure looks like it hold agp...

Top
#1938 - 08/01/02 11:45 PM Re: Xeon MB question
unreal Offline



Registered: 03/01/02
Posts: 860
Loc: KCRQ
Nope...those things you see on the right are for RAM...

Top
#1939 - 08/02/02 10:07 AM Re: Xeon MB question
Moffesto Offline
UGN Supporter

Registered: 04/22/02
Posts: 730
Loc: Kuntucky
very nice, i need agp... its a requirement for me . That ones prolly out of my league.
_________________________
2 people can keep a secret as long as one is dead

Top

Moderator:  Infinite 
Featured Member
Registered: 08/22/14
Posts: 1
Forum Stats
2148 Members
46 Forums
34318 Topics
69487 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 02:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 27480
Gremelin 7192
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Gecko666, defghi795767, Devo60, ali, lavos
2147 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 291 Guests and 261 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!