Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
· Blackbeard.....
by Gremelin on 10/06/15 01:01 AM
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#1 - 12/17/03 04:25 PM website with unresolvable hostname?
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 207
Gollum Offline
Gollum Offline

Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 207
ok, i figured out that if i try to ping, i get nothing, but gets something.
however, i still dont' get how and the ip address it resolves to would give different pages

alright, so i was just surfing around looking for lyrics. and well, long story short, i came across this webpage: it's for some band. now, getting right to the point. if i try to ping, traceroute, or nslookup, i get it as

root@core:~# ping
ping: unknown host

or nslookup:

Non-authoritative answer:
*** Can't find No answer

now, how can my browser resolve the hostname, but ping, traceroute and nslookup can't? i mean, it's not that they're unreachable or blocking my's that it's as if they're not even there. how can this be?

also, if i go to the webpage via ip address. which i got easily by just sniffing while going to the site, it says "no web site configured at this address" wtf is this all about?//

Unbodied unsouled unheard unseen
Let the gift be grown in the time to call our own
Truth is natural like a wind that blows
Follow the direction no matter where it goes
Let the truth blow like a hurricane through me
Sponsored Links
#2 - 12/18/03 05:17 AM Re: website with unresolvable hostname?
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,273
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,273
I'm trying to get a grip on what it is you're saying.


Non-authoritative answer:
That seems to work just fine. tracert works fine. ping works fine. And as for accessing the website via IP - this is no good. A single IP may host multiple websites, and if there is no website configured for a raw IP, then you get nothing.

"" however does not have an IP address associated with it. So it doesn't work. Think of it as a completely different domain from the and it makes sense that one would work while the other doesn't. I consider this bad DNS configuration though. You should provide an IP for the root domain identical to the www domain.

Domain Registration, Hosting, Management

Moderated by  Infinite 
Member Spotlight

Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,194
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 34,793
Gremelin 7,194
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Jan Havelles, Herbert_Sherbert, codemauve, Lillysdragon1984, Brewwit
2158 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Gremelin), 208 guests and 346 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News