UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
September
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Doom 3
by Cyrez
09/11/14 08:58 PM
The History Thread...
by Cyrez
09/11/14 08:56 PM
Amazon Gift Card Generator/KeyGen?te
by Gecko666
08/22/14 09:21 AM
Latest Reviews
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#20495 - 06/20/02 12:17 PM Re: How can I save a prog. in RAM?
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
ok, haven't read the site yet - took a peek though to see what you were talking about. But I figure my response to be simple enough that I won't need to yet.

I copied notepad.exe to C:\. Then I executed it. Then I tried to delete it and got this message:

Cannot delete NOTEPAD: Access is denied. The source file may be in use.

Alrighty, that was on Win2k. Now let's see what Win98 says:

Cannot delete notepad: The specified file may be in use by windows

Well Blimey! I do know what I was talking about! Please don't make me ask other people to do the exact same thing. Every one of them will get the same error messages.

So what program are you executing and deleting? Are you doing anything special like running Digital Cortex? And after you executed the program, then deleted it - what did TaskInfo2002 have to say about its cmdline?
----
Another note. Take a look at the memory usage of various programs. You're notice that some of them use less memory than the size of their executeable. Why is that? Cause the entire program may NOT be loaded into memory on execution! Are you a programmer? I am, and one trick that I do is not load modules during program startup - so that the program loads faster. Then during execution I may load other modules in the code as I need them. This is efficient on time and memory.

This is not debateable! Some things I said up there in previous posts I am not 100% sure on, but in all info presented in THIS post IS 100% correct, and don't you DARE tell me otherwise!

You CANNOT delete notepad.exe WHILE IT IS RUNNING! Not unless you use some miracle program which does some fancy shmancy shit. So if you ARE using some fancy program to delete a running program, please cut the crap and tell me!

---

P.S. I am smiling right now. Despite the way I speak, I do not feel frustration or any negative feelings. I am simply emphasizing points very strongly and doubting your intelligence .
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#20496 - 06/20/02 04:54 PM Re: How can I save a prog. in RAM?
Paragon Offline
Member

Registered: 06/14/02
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally posted by SilentRage:
ok, haven't read the site yet - took a peek though to see what you were talking about. But I figure my response to be simple enough that I won't need to yet.
OK then, take a look at the site. You may find some interesting stuff. Be sure to check out the whitepapers.
Quote:
I copied notepad.exe to C:\. Then I executed it. Then I tried to delete it and got this message:

Cannot delete NOTEPAD: Access is denied. The source file may be in use.

Alrighty, that was on Win2k. Now let's see what Win98 says:

Cannot delete notepad: The specified file may be in use by windows

Well Blimey! I do know what I was talking about! Please don't make me ask other people to do the exact same thing. Every one of them will get the same error messages.
Hmm. I copied command.com ran it, and deleted it. It was the first program I came across. I'll try another program...OK it didn't work. Why am I not surprised. After all, I have seen the error before.
Quote:
Another note. Take a look at the memory usage of various programs. You're notice that some of them use less memory than the size of their executeable. Why is that? Cause the entire program may NOT be loaded into memory on execution!
Why didn't I think of that before?! You should have said that sooner. Oh well.
Quote:
Are you a programmer?[quote]I'm working on it.
[quote]You CANNOT delete notepad.exe WHILE IT IS RUNNING! Not unless you use some miracle program which does some fancy shmancy shit. So if you ARE using some fancy program to delete a running program, please cut the crap and tell me!
Nope, no fancy shmancy stuff. I just did it with a DOS program (oops).
Quote:
P.S. I am smiling right now. Despite the way I speak, I do not feel frustration or any negative feelings. I am simply emphasizing points very strongly and doubting your intelligence .
Well, I don't feel too bright right now, but I'm not stupid. I forgot that the program isn't always loaded entirely into memory. If it was I suppose it would be possible, but...yeah, you know what I mean.
Well, thanks for helping me get this cleared up.

Top
#20497 - 06/20/02 06:34 PM Re: How can I save a prog. in RAM?
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
heh, look up at the very first post I made in this topic. I said THERE that the entire program is not loaded into memory. I guess I just have to remember to repeat myself.

and wow, check that out. I tried command.com and edit.com and both could be deleted after you execute them! coooooooool. I didn't know this before - but yeah, com files are completely different from exe files. They are run in the virtual DOS environment. I'm thinking that they ARE loaded completely into memory and run - and that's why you can delete it after you run it. Very nifty.

Hey buddy, we're both learning stuff here.

"Well, I don't feel too bright right now, but I'm not stupid."

Aaah, yes, finally got a bit of humility out of ya - and without completely debasing yourself, good. heh, I was kidding before - I am not doubting your intelligence. All I've got up on ya is more reading - more knowledge. You've got the right kind of mind to get far.

How old are ya anyway?
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top
#20498 - 06/21/02 05:57 AM Re: How can I save a prog. in RAM?
Paragon Offline
Member

Registered: 06/14/02
Posts: 168
Quote:
Heh, look up at the very first post I made in this topic. I said THERE that the entire program is not loaded into memory. I guess I just have to remember to repeat myself.
Oops, you did say it in your first post! I must have forgotten.
Quote:
Hey buddy, we're both learning stuff here.
Yeah. I just learned that the deleted posts in this thread are still viewable. When you go to post, scroll down. You can see the posts I made!
Quote:
Aaah, yes, finally got a bit of humility out of ya - and without completely debasing yourself, good. heh, I was kidding before - I am not doubting your intelligence. All I've got up on ya is more reading - more knowledge. You've got the right kind of mind to get far.

How old are ya anyway?
Thanks.
Contrary to what someone said in a previous post in another one of my threads, I'm not a kid. I'm 20.

Top
#20499 - 06/21/02 12:00 PM Re: How can I save a prog. in RAM?
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7192
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
So that'd make you a "kiddy" not a "kid" since a "kid" is a preteen, a teen that doens't act it is a kiddie, and this goes for anyone approximetely over 25, after that their just lame.
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#20500 - 06/22/02 10:46 AM Re: How can I save a prog. in RAM?
Paragon Offline
Member

Registered: 06/14/02
Posts: 168
...Riiighht.
You consider people up to 25 kids?! Where I live, people are considered an adult at 18.

Top
#20501 - 06/22/02 04:53 PM Re: How can I save a prog. in RAM?
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7192
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
no, but i call "kiddies" aka lamers to the age of 25, then after that their just useless fools nicknamed clueberts.
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#20502 - 06/23/02 08:40 AM Re: How can I save a prog. in RAM?
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
all right children, kiss and make up.

And I'm 22 so I can call you two children if I want to.
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top
#20503 - 06/24/02 06:09 AM Re: How can I save a prog. in RAM?
Paragon Offline
Member

Registered: 06/14/02
Posts: 168
So you think I'm a lamer?

Top
#20504 - 06/24/02 07:27 AM Re: How can I save a prog. in RAM?
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
Yes, he thinks you're a lamer cause you made a null nick. All the arguing in the world will not change that and only make things worse. Just think to yourself that Gizmo needs to take a chill pill and move on...
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top
#20505 - 06/24/02 01:49 PM Re: How can I save a prog. in RAM?
Paragon Offline
Member

Registered: 06/14/02
Posts: 168
I'm not mad, I was just asking. I don't think I'm a lamer, so I won't really be bothered if he thinks I'm a lamer. What's wrong with having a null nick? I had my reasons. OK, apparently it messed with the coding. I can understand that, but I didn't expect it to.

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2

Featured Member
Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 136
Forum Stats
2148 Members
46 Forums
34338 Topics
69507 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 02:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 27500
Gremelin 7192
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Gecko666, defghi795767, Devo60, ali, lavos
2147 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 284 Guests and 264 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!