UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#29925 - 06/22/03 12:33 AM ram question
BackSlash Offline
UGN's Resident Homo

Registered: 03/16/02
Posts: 599
Loc: TN
i'm trying to upgrade my old computers memory, and it states in the manual that it needs 70ns ram, but all i can find on ebay is 60ns ram. so the question is can i put 60ns ram into a machine that asks for 70ns, or will it not work?
_________________________
"It's better to burn out, than to fade away."

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#29926 - 06/22/03 01:29 AM Re: ram question
Deviation187 Offline
Member

Registered: 03/26/02
Posts: 536
Loc: L.A Cal.
it should work no? i mean me being the not so smart one.. thats just my opinion(to each his own) cuz i mean as long as its the right kind it needs it should.. im guessing it will only use the 60 though, but ok, lets leave it to the pros now.
_________________________
"Hmm, they have the internet on computers now." - Homer Simpson
http://wired.promodtecnologies.com/

Top
#29927 - 06/22/03 08:02 AM Re: ram question
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
70 ns ram is older and slower memory than 60 ns.

you can find it on http://www.pricewatch.com
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top
#29928 - 06/22/03 08:49 AM Re: ram question
BackSlash Offline
UGN's Resident Homo

Registered: 03/16/02
Posts: 599
Loc: TN
i'll take that to mean that 60ns would not work in my system?
_________________________
"It's better to burn out, than to fade away."

Top
#29929 - 06/22/03 10:45 AM Re: ram question
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
If speed was all you had to worry about then there would be no problem. the faster ram would simply run at a slower pace. However, 70ns ram uses FastPage memory. 60ns uses EDO memory. If your motherboard only supports FPM memory then it is unlikely that it will properly support EDO. It may detect improper memory sizes and such.
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top
#29930 - 06/22/03 12:20 PM Re: ram question
BackSlash Offline
UGN's Resident Homo

Registered: 03/16/02
Posts: 599
Loc: TN
actually my motherboard supports both edo and fpm, just can't mix the two in the same bank.
_________________________
"It's better to burn out, than to fade away."

Top

Featured Member
Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 136
Forum Stats
2148 Members
46 Forums
35157 Topics
70327 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 05:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 28319
Gremelin 7193
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Tim050, Gecko666, defghi795767, Devo60, ali
2148 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 506 Guests and 324 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!