UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
November
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#35418 - 05/19/04 03:20 AM hdtv problem
chazman Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 12/19/03
Posts: 56
Loc: coolville
i have a hdtv 47"THe problem is as follows. The TVs are HDTV, they MUST have Component cables going into the TV to get the 480p resolution. My recording gear will only take composite or S-Video signal. The TV will not send a signal out if the source is component. I need a way to split the signal before it goes into the TV and convert it to either S-Video or composite. So I have component going to the TV and composite to the recorders
_________________________
~MY GENIUS IS YOUR SUPIDIDY~

Your gods may come and go and last for eons and eons but i will be here for ever


chaz

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#35419 - 05/19/04 03:59 PM Re: hdtv problem
sinetific Offline
nobody

Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 815
Loc: Ann Arbor
Buy a signal processor. I actually work in this field, building cable(s-video, component) for higher end system, hdtv, and all of that. You need a processor to convert the signal from s-video to component or vice-versa. The signals are completely different.

Top
#35420 - 05/20/04 03:13 AM Re: hdtv problem
chazman Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 12/19/03
Posts: 56
Loc: coolville
Well, I am looking at a hdtv capture card that works under linux, but I am interested in your solution. Tell me more about this signal processor.
_________________________
~MY GENIUS IS YOUR SUPIDIDY~

Your gods may come and go and last for eons and eons but i will be here for ever


chaz

Top
#35421 - 05/20/04 03:55 AM Re: hdtv problem
chazman Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 12/19/03
Posts: 56
Loc: coolville
any info like links or anythin pics watever
_________________________
~MY GENIUS IS YOUR SUPIDIDY~

Your gods may come and go and last for eons and eons but i will be here for ever


chaz

Top
#35422 - 05/20/04 04:49 AM Re: hdtv problem
sinetific Offline
nobody

Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 815
Loc: Ann Arbor
A preprocessor or audio video processor is usually for high end home theater systems. I dont know how much money you have available or are willing to spend or what type of quality you are looking for, but this will preserve the high quality resolution(check the max/output resolution of the processor) while converting it. They can be very expensive or a few hundred bucks depending on what you are looking for.

Just do a search on google for "s-video component processor" or "s-video component convert".
You'll come up with something like this or this . If you don't want to go that route there are actually many solutions to your problem. Unfortunately all of them involve spending money. (unless there is a way to make your tv output through s-video hooked up by component that your not aware of.)

Top

Moderator:  Gremelin 
Featured Member
Registered: 08/22/14
Posts: 1
Forum Stats
2150 Members
46 Forums
35736 Topics
70906 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 05:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 28897
Gremelin 7193
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
HushHush, golqm, Tim050, Gecko666, defghi795767
2150 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 344 Guests and 311 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News
luxury goods sales at $405B by 2019
by golqm
10/28/14 05:19 AM


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!