UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
December
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#473 - 10/04/05 01:22 PM Checking for faulty hardware
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Registered: 03/14/02
Posts: 1136
Loc: Pimpin the Colorizzle
My computer fucks up on occasion, and some dude on a mailing list said I might have a faulty hard drive, bad ram, somethin weird...how do I test all this shit to find out what's messed up?

I don't know anything about computers..

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#474 - 10/04/05 03:04 PM Re: Checking for faulty hardware
§intå× Offline


*****

Registered: 12/03/02
Posts: 3255
Loc: Maryland
Quote:

I don't know anything about computers..
lol I am sorry but I find that funny. One of the easiest ways to check is get a hold of some known good hardware and replace it to see if that fixes the problem. You could take it to a decent computer shop and have them test it for you.

Get some diagnostic software, upgrade your firmware/BIOS to something that allows you to run diagnostics. Boot into BIOS and look around and see what is available to you.
_________________________
My New site OpenEyes

Top
#475 - 10/04/05 03:14 PM Re: Checking for faulty hardware
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Registered: 03/14/02
Posts: 1136
Loc: Pimpin the Colorizzle
Okay well what kinda diagnostic software and where do I get it?

Top
#476 - 10/04/05 07:46 PM Re: Checking for faulty hardware
§intå× Offline


*****

Registered: 12/03/02
Posts: 3255
Loc: Maryland
who manufactures your hard drive, ram, mother board?

Also have you tryed reseating the connections? Try pulling ram out and reseating it. Disconnect the IDE cable and replace it. This will a lot of times fix issues.

I had an issue once where I would lose RAM. I pulled it out and re-seated the card and it was fine. I gues I bumped the box and un seated it just enough. Ribbon cables are very cheap, so this is a quick check.

Maxtor makes very nice hard drive utility software. But this is usally for thier drives

http://www.maxtor.com/portal/site/Maxtor/menuit...0Downloads&downloadID=113

figure out who made your I will see what I can find. There is also the Ultimate Boot disk...

http://www.startdisk.com/Web1/ubd/ubd.htm
http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/


Try a google search on some of these

Drive Fitness Test (IBM/Hitachi) 4.02
PowerMax (Maxtor/Quantum) 4.09/4.21
SCSIMax (Maxtor) 2.1
DLG Diagnostic (Western Digital) 4.15/5.04c
Data Lifeguard (Western Digital) 11.0
SeaTools Desktop (Seagate) 1.06.02/3.00.07en
Diagnostic Tool (Fujitsu) 6.20
SHDIAG (Samsung) 1.25
HUTIL (Samsung) 1.19
GWSCAN (Gateway) 3.15
GWSCAN (Gateway) 5.09
Salvation HDD Scan and Repair 3.0
MHDD32
_________________________
My New site OpenEyes

Top
#477 - 10/05/05 03:30 PM Re: Checking for faulty hardware
§intå× Offline


*****

Registered: 12/03/02
Posts: 3255
Loc: Maryland
hey Pergesu... This is what you want man


http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/
_________________________
My New site OpenEyes

Top

Moderator:  Infinite 
Featured Member
Registered: 10/28/14
Posts: 1
Forum Stats
2152 Members
46 Forums
36214 Topics
71384 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 05:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 29375
Gremelin 7193
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
cdefgh368568, HushHush, golqm, Tim050, Gecko666
2151 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 364 Guests and 340 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!