UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
December
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#6350 - 01/04/05 10:47 AM need help with linux
javier Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/04/05
Posts: 2
Loc: argentina
i installed linux a couple of days ago and i m having a problem with the web browsers.

i have broadband but when i try to access a web page the browsers do nothing for some secs(up to 30) and then downloads the page. i tried all 3 browsers of my distro(mandrake 10) and it happened in all of them.

i ran the monitor connections utility and found out that when connecting to a web page the browsers stay on 0 kbps for some secs and then transfer quickly for half a second.
anyone knows how to fix the problem or where to search for a solution?
thanxs in advance.

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#6351 - 01/04/05 04:49 PM Re: need help with linux
Ice Offline
UGN News Staff

Registered: 11/29/02
Posts: 1146
Loc: Canada
u must have incorrectly set up DHCP when installing the Distro.

Have u tried pinging some sites ? See if u can connect, if u cant, i prb forgot or incorrectly set up dchp.
_________________________
Good artists copy, great artists
steal.

-Picasso

Top
#6352 - 01/04/05 06:29 PM Re: need help with linux
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7193
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
Try pinging or tracerouting google.com and respond with results.

Also, install FireFox on your distro, http://www.mozilla.org
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#6353 - 01/05/05 02:49 AM Re: need help with linux
javier Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/04/05
Posts: 2
Loc: argentina
i tried doing what you reccomended and this r the results:

PING http://www.google.akadns.net [216.239.63.104] 56[84] bytes of data.
64 bytes from 216.239.63.104: icmp_seq=1 ttl=234 time=234 ms
64 bytes from 216.239.63.104: icmp_seq=2 ttl=234 time=230 ms
64 bytes from 216.239.63.104: icmp_seq=3 ttl=234 time=246 ms
64 bytes from 216.239.63.104: icmp_seq=4 ttl=234 time=230 ms
64 bytes from 216.239.63.104: icmp_seq=5 ttl=234 time=229 ms

--- http://www.google.akadns.net ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 5 received, 0% packet loss, time 22322ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 229.261/234.434/246.964/6.539 ms

i also tried using ping in windows, and the results were:
pinging http://www.google.akadns.net[64.233.171.99] with 32 bytes of data:
response from 64.233.171.99; bytes=32 time=181ms ttl=239
response from 64.233.171.99; bytes=32 time=243ms ttl=239
response from 64.233.171.99; bytes=32 time=266ms ttl=239
response from 64.233.171.99; bytes=32 time=182ms ttl=239
packets: sent=4 received=4 lost=0
<0% packet loss>
maximum time:181ms
minimum time:266ms
average time:218ms

the whole process took 4 seconds in windows and at least 20 in linux
i also tried tracerouting google
traceroute: warning: http://www.google.com has multiple adresses; using 66.102.7.104
traceroute to http://www.google.akadns.com[66.102.7.104], 30 hops max,38 byte packets
1 192.168.8.1 0.695 ms 0.667ms 0.681ms
afater that all the following lines looked like this
2 ***
3 ***
4 ***
till the numbers reached 30

then i tracerouted http://www.yahoo.com
the results were:
traceroute: warning: http://www.yahoo.com has multiple adresses; using 66.94.230.36
traceroute to http://www.yahoo.akadns.com[66.94.230.36], 30 hops max,38 byte packets
1 192.168.8.1 0.690 ms 0.667ms 0.674ms
and then the same thing as when tracerouting google happened
i had to change some of the parenthesis for brackets because the forum showed some error message

i didnt try using firefox but my distro came with mozilla and it had the problem too.
btw, i forgot to mention that i hav a router, in case it has anything to do.
finally, about configuring DHCP, does anyone know of a webpage with info about it?

Top
#6354 - 01/05/05 03:01 AM Re: need help with linux
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7193
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
You're able to connect to the internet; thus you're able to pull a connection to your router... Do you have any other computers behind your router that you could try pinging/tracerouting to validate that either your line doens't suck or your router isn't being a pain in the ass?

also, what model router?
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#6355 - 01/05/05 08:21 AM Re: need help with linux
sinetific Offline
nobody

Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 815
Loc: Ann Arbor
If your router is configured to be a dhcp server. You would just type in 'dhcpcd' or whatever the mandrake dhcp client alias is and it automatically uses your router's configured dhcp settings. That might be your problem.

My suggestion is to nslookup google.com, ping the domain than ping the address compare the times. If the domain takes a long time to resolve you problem is with your dns server configuration. You are not required to use your ISP's domain servers (especially if they are slow and sucky;)).

To modify your nameserver 'vi /etc/resolv.conf'(or nano or pico or whatever your favorite editor is)
Code:
#comments
#To use this file just add entries in this format:
#  nameserver   address
#You can also add static entries with:
#  domain       address

  nameserver    192.9.201.2
  localhost     127.0.0.1
Um your going to have to do some research to get a list of higher level dns servers to bypass your ISPs. Compare your DNS server in windows to the default one used on linux. I really don't think traceroute or tracepath will help since it doesn't seem to be a routing problem, unless you're supposed to be using a proxy server of some type, but usually that would make things slower if you have a broadband connection.

Top

Moderator:  Infinite 
Featured Member
Registered: 08/22/14
Posts: 1
Forum Stats
2152 Members
46 Forums
36190 Topics
71360 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 05:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 29351
Gremelin 7193
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
cdefgh368568, HushHush, golqm, Tim050, Gecko666
2151 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 386 Guests and 344 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!