UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
November
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#6885 - 07/26/03 01:24 PM Bypass proxy
infr@script Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 07/26/03
Posts: 7
Loc: IN
Ok, so i tried to nmap a computer on the cable network here in my city.
It said the host seems down so I added the switches for zeroping and XMAS, now it says the host is up ...GOOD. but it just not proceeds anywhere and after some time I ctrl+c it to exit,

I assume that the box is behind a firewall and a PROXY. so is there a way to reach that (maybe by bypassing the proxy) box since i have root priviledges on that and still cannot remote access it.
Also if there is a documentation on bypassing the proxy server.

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#6886 - 07/26/03 04:11 PM Re: Bypass proxy
Infinite Offline



Registered: 03/09/02
Posts: 1041
Loc: Canada eh
With nmap, if you set the option -P0 (do not ping) it will always say "host seems to be up... Good". This however does not mean shit. It does not mean the host is up, nor does it mean that there is anything on the other end to scan. All it means is you skipped the ping portion of the scan that verifies there truly is a responding machine on the other end.

As for actually getting through the firewall, well heh. That's where the fun comes in. Try doing a normal scan (not sure why you are using XMAS) and see what that comes back with. If in the end you don't see any ports open on the outside I don't think it's gonna make a lick of difference in helping you. You're screwed.

But you said you have root privs on this machine. Why not rootkit yourself, or even install some kind of trojan that goes out through the proxy to you? It is almost always easier to get out than it is to get in. Then you can have your remote access.

Infinite

Top
#6887 - 07/26/03 08:43 PM Re: Bypass proxy
infr@script Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 07/26/03
Posts: 7
Loc: IN
I have root privileges on the box not on the proxy so I dont see how the root kit will take me through the proxy server.
Ill do some research anyhow and report back if it does work

Top
#6888 - 07/26/03 08:46 PM Re: Bypass proxy
infr@script Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 07/26/03
Posts: 7
Loc: IN

Top

Moderator:  Infinite 
Featured Member
Registered: 08/22/14
Posts: 1
Forum Stats
2151 Members
46 Forums
35778 Topics
70948 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 05:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 28939
Gremelin 7193
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
HushHush, golqm, Tim050, Gecko666, defghi795767
2150 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 363 Guests and 305 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News
luxury goods sales at $405B by 2019
by golqm
10/28/14 05:19 AM


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!