UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
July
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#7108 - 08/09/03 11:46 PM Mandrake Linux
MESELF Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 08/08/03
Posts: 68
Hi everyone i'm gonna try and put mandrake linux on my old comp. right now its got 16MB memory a 133Mhz processer. its an IBM Aptiva A40. its got the hard drive space it needs. mandrake says it needs 64M memory so im gonna get two 32M EDO rams to add to the 16 its got. my question is. will it be fast enough to use for internet, word processing, etc. not being used for games, just stuff like spreadsheets and junk. anyway. its got win95 on it is it gonna run faster once i get mandrake on it or will it run slower?

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#7109 - 08/10/03 01:40 AM Re: Mandrake Linux
BackSlash Offline
UGN's Resident Homo

Registered: 03/16/02
Posts: 599
Loc: TN
i have an aptiva m71, which has a pentium 133mhz, and originally had 32mb of ram. i upgraded it to 96 mb of ram and attempted to install mandrake 7.2, it failed miserably. slackware and redhat also failed to install. i was however able to install caldera linux on it. it runs fine for me.
_________________________
"It's better to burn out, than to fade away."

Top
#7110 - 08/10/03 02:16 AM Re: Mandrake Linux
UndeadBob Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 06/11/02
Posts: 62
Loc: UK
i have slackware 9.0 running on a 300mnz with 64mb and i find that when running Xfree86 with KDE 3.1 it is pretty sluggish. but without the gui it runs fine for me.
_________________________
"Mrs. Jones, I'm sorry to inform you, but we've run the tests, and it appears that you have XP. Now don't cry - it's bad, but it's not a death sentence. Modern science has advanced in recent years, and it's now possible to live a reasonably happy life with XP. And there's a survivor's group that you'll want to meet as well."

Top
#7111 - 08/10/03 03:19 AM Re: Mandrake Linux
sinetific Offline
nobody

Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 815
Loc: Ann Arbor
I have a PackardBell 133Mhz which I use to run an IRC server. I have slack 9.0 on it X windows is slower than molases on it and surfing the internet using mozilla is more painstaking than driving behind an old lady. But it does work. Mandrake will not work on that system. It's i686 optimized that means it's been written for processors above 600 Mhz. You won't be able to use a friendly linux distro on that system (ie: Mandrake, Redhat, SuSE) try slackware or a BSD or caldera like BS said. There are probably some other distros out there anyone else have any suggestions?

Top
#7112 - 08/11/03 07:15 AM Re: Mandrake Linux
MESELF Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 08/08/03
Posts: 68
uh oh that could be bad. i need a relatively friendly distro cuz i need to be able to do word processing and stuff. plus the rest of my family (not very computer knowledgeable) needs to be able to at least use it for that.

Top
#7113 - 08/11/03 07:28 AM Re: Mandrake Linux
MESELF Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 08/08/03
Posts: 68
how about these....

http://www.xandros.com/systemreq.html

i checked out slackware is there any chance of running a 'decent' (and by that i mean usable) GUI on slackware?

Top
#7114 - 08/11/03 07:55 AM Re: Mandrake Linux
MESELF Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 08/08/03
Posts: 68
and what about if i got slack 8.1 instead of the new version. would that help speed it up a bit?

Top
#7115 - 08/11/03 08:12 AM Re: Mandrake Linux
Nem2k Offline
Joey from Hackers

Registered: 11/29/02
Posts: 73
Loc: Canada
If you are looking for something user-friendly and for the family you could plan on installing windows instead of linux ... :\

Top
#7116 - 08/11/03 05:38 PM Re: Mandrake Linux
MESELF Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 08/08/03
Posts: 68
ok....i don't have the windows 95 cd anymore that it came with and i don't want to have to pay for a new windows. plus i don't think that computer would run a new version of windows ver well.

Top
#7117 - 08/11/03 06:00 PM Re: Mandrake Linux
Infinite Offline



Registered: 03/09/02
Posts: 1041
Loc: Canada eh
Redhat or Mandrake are about the two user-friendliest distro's out there. Slack is NOT what you are looking for.

Top
#7118 - 08/11/03 06:18 PM Re: Mandrake Linux
MESELF Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 08/08/03
Posts: 68
ok....i was told that redhat and madrake will not run on my 133 mhz soon to be 80MB ram 2gb hard drive piece of shit computer. lol. so would someone please clear this up on what will run and what will not!

Top
#7119 - 08/12/03 02:15 AM Re: Mandrake Linux
MESELF Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 08/08/03
Posts: 68
slackware is startin to annoy me...
i've tried bare.i old_cd.i scsi.i (even though i am pretty sure it is NOT scsi because i can't see an adapter on it........and also the fact that both ide channels are being used and the only things i got is hdd cdrom and floppy.) all it will do is say

loading: vmlinuz.... then all of a sudden it just says 'boot failed: please change disks and press any key to continue'

AAAAAARGGHH this is pissin me off. why won't it even load the kernel from the frickin disk! and i also tried ramdisk hdd=cdrom for all of the images. please help!

Top
#7120 - 08/12/03 02:34 AM Re: Mandrake Linux
BackSlash Offline
UGN's Resident Homo

Registered: 03/16/02
Posts: 599
Loc: TN
i found caldera to be very user friendly and easy to install.
_________________________
"It's better to burn out, than to fade away."

Top
#7121 - 08/12/03 02:49 AM Re: Mandrake Linux
Nem2k Offline
Joey from Hackers

Registered: 11/29/02
Posts: 73
Loc: Canada
MESELF, i got the same problem once. You have to rawrite install.1, install.2, install.3 on different floppys .. the informations on the website seem to be wrong.

Top
#7122 - 08/12/03 02:56 AM Re: Mandrake Linux
MESELF Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 08/08/03
Posts: 68
no......this does not regard install.1 .2 etc. this involves the "BOOT" not "ROOT" disk. i am having the problem when i have bare.i in the floppy drive.

Top

Moderator:  Infinite 
Featured Member
Registered: 08/21/13
Posts: 1
Forum Stats
2145 Members
46 Forums
33429 Topics
68596 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 10:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 26592
Gremelin 7192
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Jimmie Menon, fghijk435948, Devo60, ali, lavos
2147 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 723 Guests and 316 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!