UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
September
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Amazon Gift Card Generator/KeyGen?te
by Gecko666
08/22/14 09:21 AM
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#7405 - 04/08/02 04:10 PM tracert question
sprinter Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/29/02
Posts: 42
i dunno if this is a newbie question or a general question so...what does this trce route tell you? firewall? obviously the packets timed out. but why?

traceroute 210.174.0.175

Type escape sequence to abort.
Tracing the route to pae00af.tktkpc00.ap.so-net.ne.jp (210.174.0.175)

1 core7.otemachi.dti.ad.jp (203.181.69.6) 0 msec 0 msec 0 msec
2 AS2527-2.ix.jpix.ad.jp (210.171.224.91) [AS 7527] 0 msec 0 msec 0 msec
3 202.213.198.186 [AS 2527] 0 msec 4 msec 0 msec
4 210.132.250.227 [AS 2527] 0 msec 0 msec 0 msec
5 210.132.248.30 [AS 2527] 20 msec 20 msec 24 msec
6 * * *
7 * * *
8 * * *
9 * * *
10 * * *
11 * * *
12 * * *
13 * * *
14 * * *
15 * * *
16 * * *
17 * * *
18 * * *
19 * * *
20 * * *
21 * * *
22 * * *
23 * * *
24 * * *
25 * * *
26 * * *
27 * * *
28 * * *
29 * * *
30 * * *

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#7406 - 04/08/02 05:49 PM Re: tracert question
olosoft Offline
Member

Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 143
Loc: .
ok, tracert stands for trace route. it returns every ip of every computer you connect to until you reach your destination. for example, when you connect to a site, your computer contacts your local isps server, then the main server for your area, then the main server, then it connects to a server in the area of your target, then to your targets isp, local, and finaly the actualy target.

take undergroundnews.com
Quote:
Code:
C:\>tracert -h 100 undergroundnews.com

Tracing route to undergroundnews.com [209.120.128.141]
over a maximum of 100 hops:

  1    30 ms    30 ms    40 ms  dsl-254-066.dsl-isp.net [216.254.66.1]
  2    10 ms    20 ms    20 ms  border28.g3-2.speakeasy-26.nyc.pnap.net [209.191.132.48]
  3    20 ms    10 ms    20 ms  core1.ge3-0-bbnet2.nyc.pnap.net [209.191.128.129]
  4    10 ms    20 ms    10 ms  sl-bb12-nyc-8-0.sprintlink.net [160.81.48.17]
  5    10 ms    20 ms    20 ms  sl-bb20-nyc-12-1.sprintlink.net [144.232.7.121]
  6    10 ms    20 ms    20 ms  pos1-3.core1.NewYork1.Level3.net [209.244.160.185]
  7    10 ms    20 ms    20 ms  ae0-52.mp2.NewYork1.Level3.net [64.159.17.34]
  8    10 ms    20 ms    20 ms  so-0-2-0.mp2.Philadelphia1.Level3.net [64.159.0.133]
  9    20 ms    10 ms    30 ms  gige9-1.hsipaccess1.Philadelphia1.Level3.net [64.159.0.154]
 10    20 ms    20 ms    20 ms  unknown.Level3.net [63.209.178.162]
 11    10 ms    20 ms    20 ms  209.50.43.194
 12    20 ms    20 ms    30 ms  rif0.phl049s101.yipes.com [66.54.144.46]
 13    20 ms    20 ms    30 ms  rif2.phl018s101.yipes.com [209.50.43.26]
 14    20 ms    60 ms    30 ms  66.7.139.82
 15    20 ms    30 ms    20 ms  209.120.128.141

Trace complete. 


thats the way it should come out, also, if possible tracert automaticaly looks up the dns' of the ips.

as for those *'s you were getting, thats because you were timing out, try to use -t 1000000000000 thats the timeout in miliseconds. also that -h 100 is that maximum number of hops to preform.

ah, and there was some program, i forget what it was called, that did a tracert and then a whois on each of the nodes and tried to find out the location, then it plotted all the points on a map and connected them, it was pretty coo'. i dont remember what it was called tho...

Top
#7407 - 04/08/02 06:07 PM Re: tracert question
CryptoKnight Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/06/02
Posts: 71
VisualRoute
_________________________
"If you let your wife stand on your toe tonight, she'll stand on your face tomorrow morning" - Sir/Saint Thomas More

-CryptoKnight-

Top
#7408 - 04/08/02 06:31 PM Re: tracert question
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7192
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
Basically it logs all hops between you and your specifide host:

Quote:

Results for undergroundnews.com:
traceroute to undergroundnews.com (209.120.128.141) from chiba.eol.ca (205.189.151.6), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
1 gateway.echo-on.net (205.189.152.126) 1.625 ms 1.213 ms 0.959 ms
2 border1.echo-on.net (192.168.12.2) 1.839 ms 1.636 ms 1.726 ms
3 FastEthernet1-0.tor1.westel.com (204.244.24.245) 2.119 ms 2.011 ms 1.762 ms
4 * * *
5 if-5-1.core1.Toronto2.Teleglobe.net (64.86.84.221) 2.483 ms 2.410 ms 2.347 ms
6 if-10-0.core1.Scarborough.Teleglobe.net (64.86.80.241) 3.348 ms 3.124 ms 3.055 ms
7 if-8-0.core2.Scarborough.Teleglobe.net (207.45.222.206) 127.025 ms 110.942 ms 78.949 ms
8 if-3-0.core2.Chicago3.Teleglobe.net (207.45.222.182) 107.920 ms 106.073 ms 106.650 ms
9 if-2-0.core3.NewYork.Teleglobe.net (64.86.83.218) 106.682 ms 108.240 ms 106.765 ms
10 if-8-0.core2.LosAngeles.Teleglobe.net (64.86.83.174) 106.126 ms 108.046 ms 109.939 ms
11 if-5-0.core1.LosAngeles.Teleglobe.net (207.45.223.62) 108.934 ms 106.097 ms 107.920 ms
12 pos6-1.core2.LosAngeles1.Level3.net (209.0.227.33) 105.805 ms 107.336 ms 106.229 ms
13 so-4-1-0.mp2.LosAngeles1.Level3.net (209.247.10.205) 90.317 ms 90.483 ms 90.551 ms
14 so-0-0-0.mp1.Philadelphia1.Level3.net (64.159.0.110) 96.880 ms 97.260 ms 98.446 ms
15 gige9-0.hsipaccess1.Philadelphia1.Level3.net (64.159.0.146) 97.084 ms 96.874 ms 97.054 ms
16 unknown.Level3.net (63.209.178.162) 98.328 ms 96.987 ms 96.949 ms
17 209.50.43.194 (209.50.43.194) 97.550 ms 97.527 ms 107.598 ms
18 rif0.phl049s101.yipes.com (66.54.144.46) 99.631 ms 99.220 ms 100.057 ms
19 rif2.phl018s101.yipes.com (209.50.43.26) 98.791 ms 98.471 ms 98.556 ms
20 66.7.139.82 (66.7.139.82) 99.153 ms 98.500 ms 98.841 ms
21 209.120.128.141 (209.120.128.141) 98.824 ms 98.997 ms 100.086 ms


chiba.eol.ca to undergroundnews.com
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#7409 - 04/08/02 07:05 PM Re: tracert question
sprinter Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/29/02
Posts: 42
yeah i understand how it works i was just curious why this IP was unreachable? i havent tried changing the default time out. this is the first time i have seen an IP that would time out like this. ill try it again with the -t switch? (<--proper name here?)


ok tryed in windows shell and it says to use a -w so i di and it still times out. doesnt this have to do with the TTL? i know the TTL is time to live but i have to look up how that is determined.

so there is nothing special about the ip address i traced? or at least nothing we can get by using tracert?

Top
#7410 - 04/09/02 12:51 AM Re: tracert question
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7192
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
perhaps it wasn't logged into the internet? either via it bein shut down or dosed heh
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#7411 - 04/09/02 07:34 AM Re: tracert question
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
yep, the computer is not online, the IP is not in use. At least not at the time I checked it out.
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top
#7412 - 04/09/02 08:37 AM Re: tracert question
sprinter Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/29/02
Posts: 42
ok that makes sense but its kind of unusual. there is a pretty good chance that there is a hardware firewall there so i was just curious what i was looking at. thanks guys.

Top
#7413 - 04/09/02 12:18 PM Re: tracert question
Scallion Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 48
Loc: iraq
You could check that ip with nslookup .(something most windows folks don't have)

For those of you who don't have nslookup, I've written a version and posted it near the bottom of http://www.scallion.sp00fed.net for your convinience. THis will look up the IP and tell you what it's DNS record says about it - if you get a negative result, this means that the IP has no DNS record, therefore it is unused, eliminating the need for tracert as a tool to find whether it's online or not.

Top
#7414 - 04/09/02 03:59 PM Re: tracert question
Mornse Offline
Member

Registered: 03/03/02
Posts: 185
Loc: Vancouver
sprinter, you're right, it could be a firewall. Sometimes firewalls block certain requests, so either the computer doesn't exist, or you hit a firewall.
_________________________
Cha want some w***up?

http://www.dopeskill.com

Top
#7415 - 04/09/02 07:19 PM Re: tracert question
sprinter Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/29/02
Posts: 42
SCALLION- thanks for the effort but im proficient with google and that seems to get me by on most things :).
http://network-tools.com/

Mornse- could be a firewall i dunno. i will find out soon though :). or at least have some more info. i would really like to know what it takes to make an addy unreachable as though its not there. a firewall? or a hardware firewall or just something like ipchains,freesco,natd or other setups like this?

Top

Moderator:  Infinite 
Featured Member
Registered: 08/20/13
Posts: 1
Forum Stats
2148 Members
46 Forums
34034 Topics
69201 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 02:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 27196
Gremelin 7192
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Gecko666, defghi795767, Devo60, ali, lavos
2147 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 305 Guests and 289 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!