UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
July
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#785 - 12/02/02 03:18 PM ram help
fleshwound Offline
Member

Registered: 03/10/02
Posts: 536
Loc: CO
yeah.. so. i'm all excited cuz my mommy bought me a stick of 512mb of ram right.. so.. i come back to colorado, open up the trusty ole' computer, put it in.. oh.. then my moniter went all crazy. well, finally got that fixed. but i have in memory bank 0 - 64 mb
memory bank 1 - 128 mb
memory bank 2 - 64 mb.

now, the stick of 512 is in bank 1. but it only detects 128 of it.. what the fuck is going on? can any one help me out? i didn't think that the 2 sticks of 64 would work with the 512, but apparently they do. but it's only detecting 128. blahhhh! i am pissed! if anyone knows what's up please help me! i'm going crazy

by the way, i'm running Windows ME..don't know if maybe it's my shitty OS..
_________________________
"when you look around, you can't tell me honestly you're happy with what you see"

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#786 - 12/02/02 05:01 PM Re: ram help
Chem Offline
UGN News Staff

Registered: 10/13/02
Posts: 364
Loc: Vagabond (Location Differs)
Dial U for Upgrade!!!!

my advice is to go to XP, just get it off kazaa,
done and done
_________________________
C++ Should Have Been Called "D"

Top
#787 - 12/02/02 06:14 PM Re: ram help
jonconley Offline
UGN Super Poster

Registered: 10/08/02
Posts: 955
Loc: Merrill, IA, USA
If it was a problem with only the OS detecting it, I don't think it would still show correct amount at BIOS startup. I tried upgrading the BIOS. Fixed problem on my computer. Unfortunately the bootdisk doesn't work like described. The utility cannot come up and it prompts me for the NTLDR missing error. Jesus, that error annoys the fuck outta me.

Anyways, so asking gateway how come it says instructions for ALL OSes. When, not only do the instructions not work with WinME, but WinME was installed by manufacturer, so they should have atleast that.

Top
#788 - 12/02/02 08:40 PM Re: ram help
Chem Offline
UGN News Staff

Registered: 10/13/02
Posts: 364
Loc: Vagabond (Location Differs)
First off, how much ram does your mother board support?
_________________________
C++ Should Have Been Called "D"

Top
#789 - 12/02/02 09:41 PM Re: ram help
fleshwound Offline
Member

Registered: 03/10/02
Posts: 536
Loc: CO
yeah..the tech guy said only 384.. fucker! but, he said a bunch of other crap. here's what he said :
Please note that your motherboard supports a maximum of 384MB of SDRAM
(CAS latency of 2) using 64Mbit chips.

ok.. why doesn't my computer detect 384 from the 512 stick then? cuz it detects 128. and another thing, how the hell can i put 384mb of ram using multiple sticks of 64mb in my computer when it only has 3 slots for it? yeah.. i can't. so that is dumb. oh, and i also want to know wtf the CAS latency of 2 thing means.

he never answered my question as far as how to update Windows ME BIOs. can anyone help with that one? cuz the instrucions on the gateway site do not do it. thanks!

fleshy
_________________________
"when you look around, you can't tell me honestly you're happy with what you see"

Top
#790 - 12/02/02 10:11 PM Re: ram help
sinetific Offline
nobody

Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 815
Loc: Ann Arbor
yeah on my MB i have 3 slots but it only supports up to 512. i have 2 sticks of 256 and an empty slot for nothing. You dont want to update your windows ME BIOS. And by doing this you void your gateway warranty they wont help you to do this at all. TRUST ME. (I wish i still had my log of the "conversation" I had with their tech.) But you need to find your motherboard manufactuer. If you need help to ID your MB
http://www.motherboards.org/forums/viewforum.php?f=2
ten find out if your MB bios has any updates that allow for more RAM.
As for latency I think he's talking about the speed but i doubt it matters since your bus speed is probably slower than the RAM

Top
#791 - 12/05/02 06:28 PM Re: ram help
Eon Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 12/05/02
Posts: 2
Loc: San Clemente
Solution one pick up a new MB, solution two smack the idiot who built your computer. actualy I think one and two kinda go together, and as far as upgrading to XP, I wouldn't until they get more of the bugs fixxed, ALL ABOUT WIN98!!

Top
#792 - 12/05/02 06:48 PM Re: ram help
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7192
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
XP isn't that bad, and it isn't as buggy as you think. My present uptime is 5 days, get on the irc and i'll even show you lol... My max uptime on XP is 4 months, try that on 98...

XP by far has better resource usage than 98 and ME combined, it also doesn't crash as much as 2000 (i know at least 4 users here who have had that issue).
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#793 - 12/05/02 10:49 PM Re: ram help
Infinite Offline



Registered: 03/09/02
Posts: 1041
Loc: Canada eh
WindowsXP has not once crashed, hung, BSoDed, faltered, screwed up in any way for the year I've had it installed. Rock-solid comes to mind. If only it wasn't made by microsoft and bundled with all the other shitty microsoft programs like IE and wizards.

Top

Moderator:  Infinite 
Featured Member
Registered: 08/21/13
Posts: 1
Forum Stats
2145 Members
46 Forums
33429 Topics
68596 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 10:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 26592
Gremelin 7192
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Jimmie Menon, fghijk435948, Devo60, ali, lavos
2147 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 723 Guests and 316 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!