UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
August
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Amazon Gift Card Generator/KeyGen?te
by Gecko666
08/22/14 09:21 AM
Latest Reviews
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#8208 - 03/14/02 11:39 PM graphics card question...
PolPot Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 9
Loc: Cambodia
Ok, I know you can install 2 graphics card on 1 computer. My original graphics card is intergrated, it's one of those crappy intel graphic i810 cards. What I want to know is, if I can install a seperate and better graphic card, with out messing anything up?
_________________________
It's a holiday in cambodia...

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#8209 - 03/15/02 09:15 PM Re: graphics card question...
hKzKnight Offline
Member

Registered: 03/12/02
Posts: 626
Loc: LAN
You are trying to just get a new graphics card, correct? Like for example buy a GeForce 4. All you need to do is open the PC. Install and screw in. Plug the monitor to the new graphics card, boot pc up. Then install the drivers. That is all you need to do. Just ignore the old monitor port... Does that answer it for you? If not I will be back or feel free to email me.
_________________________
-hKzKnight
"The ghost... Was never there and you'll never see me"

Top
#8210 - 03/15/02 09:20 PM Re: graphics card question...
B.B.Gambini Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/07/02
Posts: 20
Loc: fort Knox
u might also have to Disable ur on board Video card in BIOS
_________________________
"if murder makes me richer than i'll be a killer"

Top
#8211 - 03/15/02 09:30 PM Re: graphics card question...
hKzKnight Offline
Member

Registered: 03/12/02
Posts: 626
Loc: LAN
True, however most new systems (late 2000 to now) will not need it to be disabled, or you can disable it in windows/linux. Try without disabling in the bios first, then if you need do it. Let Gambini and I know if you need anything. Thanx :+)
_________________________
-hKzKnight
"The ghost... Was never there and you'll never see me"

Top
#8212 - 03/15/02 09:59 PM Re: graphics card question...
olosoft Offline
Member

Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 143
Loc: .
god****it. i just wrote like a ****in essay on this same exact topic before gizzy reset the board.

basicaly, you need to find a video card that uses different resources than the intergrated one. which shouldnt be that hard to find since your current card in built in to the mobo and most likely has its own resources.

also, since you have an intergrated card, you also can buy a dual head card, with output to two monitors from the same card. then you will be able to output three different to three different monitors.

Top
#8213 - 03/15/02 10:10 PM Re: graphics card question...
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7192
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
/me falls on floor laughing

sthu olo
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#8214 - 03/15/02 10:15 PM Re: graphics card question...
PolPot Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 9
Loc: Cambodia
Quote:
You are trying to just get a new graphics card, correct? Like for example buy a GeForce 4


That card is a bit passed my budget :\, but yeah your correct.
I should have my card sometime next week, so I'll let you know then. Thanks for the help guys.
_________________________
It's a holiday in cambodia...

Top
#8215 - 03/18/02 08:34 PM Re: graphics card question...
hKzKnight Offline
Member

Registered: 03/12/02
Posts: 626
Loc: LAN
Sorry didn't get back to ya. Well how much are you willing to spend? GF4 is expensive, yet you can get GeForce 3 with packed power (more then what use to have) and be less expensive. For around $130 you can get the Verto GeForce4 MX 420 AGP. 64MB memory interface with a 166MHz (DDR) clock rate and a 2.7 GB/sec. memory bandwidth. Verto GeForce4 MX 440 AGP, $180. It is a bit better. Take your pick. A lot others out there. Radeon from ATI is nice, but I personally like Geforce, a lot of nice choices and pleased with them in my tests.

It's a good deal
_________________________
-hKzKnight
"The ghost... Was never there and you'll never see me"

Top
#8216 - 03/26/02 09:44 PM Re: graphics card question...
Deviation187 Offline
Member

Registered: 03/26/02
Posts: 536
Loc: L.A Cal.
Oh so this is where you ended up going PolPot, well since you all helped out everything turned out fine for him, pretty good, just had to open up the computer screw it in, well exactly hKzKnight said, in behalve of him ill say thanx, but now i need to save up and buy one myself, because that thing is really good
_________________________
"Hmm, they have the internet on computers now." - Homer Simpson
http://wired.promodtecnologies.com/

Top
#8217 - 04/23/02 04:40 PM Re: graphics card question...
Moffesto Offline
UGN Supporter

Registered: 04/22/02
Posts: 730
Loc: Kuntucky
You should get a radeon, they work very nice... thats what i use.

Another question....

If I have my radeon (AGP) could I buy another lil video card to use along with it? I would like to have dual monitors.
_________________________
2 people can keep a secret as long as one is dead

Top
#8218 - 04/23/02 11:50 PM Re: graphics card question...
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7192
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
yeh you can, but i woudlnt reccomend trying to use 2 radeons...
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#8219 - 04/24/02 06:11 PM Re: graphics card question...
Moffesto Offline
UGN Supporter

Registered: 04/22/02
Posts: 730
Loc: Kuntucky
I wasnt thinking of using 2 radeons, just my radeon and a cheap pci card for an extra monitor.
_________________________
2 people can keep a secret as long as one is dead

Top
#8220 - 04/24/02 06:41 PM Re: graphics card question...
Crime Offline
UGN Super Poster

Registered: 03/01/02
Posts: 505
Loc: Tartarus
are you trying to run dual monitors ?

Top
#8221 - 04/25/02 12:29 PM Re: graphics card question...
Moffesto Offline
UGN Supporter

Registered: 04/22/02
Posts: 730
Loc: Kuntucky
Im thinking about it but i wanna know if anyone has tried it or if it works if i Use my AGP Radeon (main monitor) with a Cheaper PCI (2nd Monitor). If anyone knows if it will work or anything please reply or email me. thanks
_________________________
2 people can keep a secret as long as one is dead

Top
#8222 - 04/25/02 12:45 PM Re: graphics card question...
hKzKnight Offline
Member

Registered: 03/12/02
Posts: 626
Loc: LAN
Try it, I know I tried my main vid card that was part of the mother board then my radeon, it didn't allow it. It was pick one or the other. Worth a shot... They do have special switchers out there for more then one monitor... Can try that... Also there use to be something called SLI mode, you attached the same video card to each other and it had dual power etc... Was sick ****, not many cards do that... I don't know of any really, however 3dfx (RIP) had that perfect with the Voodoo2.
_________________________
-hKzKnight
"The ghost... Was never there and you'll never see me"

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Infinite 
Featured Member
Registered: 08/22/14
Posts: 1
Forum Stats
2148 Members
46 Forums
34027 Topics
69194 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 02:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 27189
Gremelin 7192
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Gecko666, defghi795767, Devo60, ali, lavos
2147 Registered Users
Who's Online
1 registered (Tim050), 290 Guests and 284 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!