UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
July
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#8532 - 02/25/03 10:31 AM FTP using telnet
§intå× Offline


*****

Registered: 12/03/02
Posts: 3255
Loc: Maryland
Anyone know how? I know there is a way but I do not know how.
_________________________
My New site OpenEyes

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#8533 - 02/25/03 08:09 PM Re: FTP using telnet
Infinite Offline



Registered: 03/09/02
Posts: 1041
Loc: Canada eh
I very much doubt it. YOu can connect to a ftpd no problem, but you need to be able to open connection another for the data transfer. This includes a listing as well as file transfering. The most I have ever been able to manage is to get logged in.

INfinite

Top
#8534 - 02/26/03 12:50 AM Re: FTP using telnet
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
well, heh. You could telnet to ftp. Then use PASV and telnet to the data port the server specifies. that way you can browse around and move/copy/delete files, perhaps create textfiles using that technique even. Totally not worth the effort.
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top
#8535 - 02/26/03 05:18 PM Re: FTP using telnet
§intå× Offline


*****

Registered: 12/03/02
Posts: 3255
Loc: Maryland
I feel kinda n00bish now, dose "copy" allow you to copy files from the remote box to your local box? I would think there is a way, I mean the GUI's have to execute some code to work right?

SR I know in Linux you forced yourself to learn the command line by never using the GUI at least for a good while. I am hoping you can answer this for me. If you feel you did please forgive my ignorance here.

I am trying to figure out if I can do everything I can through telnet I can in say, WS_FTP. Mainly File transfer. I know I can mover, delete, copy, and edit on the server. I am looking for Local to remote transfer.
_________________________
My New site OpenEyes

Top
#8536 - 02/26/03 09:09 PM Re: FTP using telnet
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Registered: 03/14/02
Posts: 1136
Loc: Pimpin the Colorizzle
Alright, well I spent a while googling on ftp and telnet, and didn't find what you want. I mean in theory you could, which is what SR was sayin, and you would just have to send protocol commands to do what you want. Copy, at least what I think SR is saying, is just copying a file on a server. So creating a duplicate file with a different name on a different server. If you want to transfer it to your machine, you have to use get. Now basically, as I see it, you can use telnet as an ftp client, but it'd be a horrendously painful client. That's what command line clients are for... it's entirely possible to learn ftp just by using an ftp client, and the commands should be standard. The output (data stream to server) is all the same, of course, and I think that the interface (commands you type) are the same for clarity's sake. Every client I've used has standard commands, anyway. A GUI client does the same thing, it just attaches buttons to ftp commands. So basically, just grab a command line ftp client and you're set.

Top
#8537 - 02/26/03 09:35 PM Re: FTP using telnet
Infinite Offline



Registered: 03/09/02
Posts: 1041
Loc: Canada eh
Why not just use a command line ftp clietn? I know it's not telnet, but you will get about the same effect with a whole lot less hassle.

As for the commands, the rfc is the best resource on this. But for arguement's sake, to copy a file from a server to the client the command is "GET", and to upload the file you use the command "PUT". Of course, those both have versions to tranfer mutiple files called "MGET" and "MPUT" respectively.

But seriuosly man, your doing the equivilent of bashing your head into a wall repeated ly here. The saying "The right tool for the right job" comes to mind.

Infinite

Top
#8538 - 02/27/03 12:32 AM Re: FTP using telnet
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
because of the FTP protocol learner, it makes it practically impossible to transfer files via telnet. However, if you're using linux, then you can probably use the cat utility to send files to the ftp data port and have them saved remotely.

but even that's a bad idea. FTP clients may sometimes convert data to another format when transferring it between different machine types.

telnet is fine if you want to manage a remote ftp server's files, but not fine if you want to transfer files back and forth.
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top
#8539 - 02/27/03 06:09 AM Re: FTP using telnet
§intå× Offline


*****

Registered: 12/03/02
Posts: 3255
Loc: Maryland
Thanks guys. And to answer why I wanted to know this.. Simpley to know. I mean in theory telnet can connect and preform mnay protocol tasks. I had just never heard of using telnet to FTP. I thought it should be possible and was having a hard time finding good info on it.

Still not 100% sure I got what I was looking for in your answers but I am going to try a few tings now. Thanks again for the help.
_________________________
My New site OpenEyes

Top

Moderator:  Infinite 
Featured Member
Registered: 08/21/13
Posts: 1
Forum Stats
2145 Members
46 Forums
33393 Topics
68560 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 10:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 26556
Gremelin 7192
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Jimmie Menon, fghijk435948, Devo60, ali, lavos
2147 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 595 Guests and 335 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!