UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
September
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
The History Thread...
by Gremelin
09/18/14 12:42 PM
Doom 3
by Cyrez
09/11/14 11:58 PM
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#8903 - 05/04/03 07:33 PM First Post
Masked_Bandit Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 05/04/03
Posts: 5
I have watching the board for some time and finally decided to register. I have learned a lot just from reading the posts from others. I am fairly new to the computer world but have been in the telecom arena for some time and now am getting heavily into lan's and wan's but anyway I do have a question I would like some help with. I have a system I am trying to rlogin into. I understand that this should be similar to telnet. I have not been able to figure out how to get this to work.In the area I am trying to do this from I do not have access to any OS except windows which as far as I can tell does not support Rlogin sessions from command line. I have found some shareware clients and I have also heard that procomm (which I have) supports rlogin through windows but cannot figure out how to get either to work. Any help will be appreciated.

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#8904 - 05/04/03 11:35 PM Re: First Post
jonconley Offline
UGN Super Poster

Registered: 10/08/02
Posts: 955
Loc: Merrill, IA, USA
http://www.openssh.org/

I would use SSH instead. Why? Because everytime I have asked or seen someone ask about rlogin, it generally goes off into using SSH instead for security reasons.

So I suggest trying that, depending on the linux you are trying to connect to, it may already have OpenSSH installed. If not, all the details are at the above site.

Now, for rlogin, if you STILL want to use it, check the ~/.rhosts file:
Quote:

hostname username
Also make sure you port 513 is open.

I haven't used ProComm for rlogin/ssh before, so not sure how it works. I use OpenSSH client on Linux, and PuTTy on Windows.
I am a newbie, so I hope this is right. I am sure ppl will correct if not.

Top
#8905 - 05/06/03 09:44 PM Re: First Post
Masked_Bandit Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 05/04/03
Posts: 5
Thanks for the reply. I'm not sure if this machine supports anything besides rlogin. In PuTTy how would you start a Rlogin session? Say to ip address 10.1.1.1. I think I can get PuTTy for free at least for a demo period but when researching it, it seemed that it's purpose was to get into cell phones.

Top
#8906 - 05/06/03 09:57 PM Re: First Post
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Registered: 03/14/02
Posts: 1136
Loc: Pimpin the Colorizzle
putty is free. As for using it for rlogin sessions, I don't know, I don't have a copy with me.

Top
#8907 - 05/06/03 09:59 PM Re: First Post
Infinite Offline



Registered: 03/09/02
Posts: 1041
Loc: Canada eh
You get PuTTY here

It's a radio button you check on the initial window. Really simple, you can't miss it.



Infinite

Top

Moderator:  Infinite 
Featured Member
Registered: 08/22/14
Posts: 1
Forum Stats
2148 Members
46 Forums
34725 Topics
69895 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 05:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 27887
Gremelin 7193
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Tim050, Gecko666, defghi795767, Devo60, ali
2148 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 374 Guests and 247 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!