UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
August
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Amazon Gift Card Generator/KeyGen?te
by Gecko666
08/22/14 09:21 AM
Latest Reviews
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#9255 - 09/09/03 02:13 AM War Dialing help
chuckyb555 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 09/09/03
Posts: 22
Loc: US
Hey.... i have found numbers that computers have answered. From there, i try to call these numbers but all i get are some beeps. How should i change my configuration of data bits, parity, and stop bits?? Or do i need to change something else???I would appreciate the help-- Thanx

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#9256 - 09/09/03 03:15 AM Re: War Dialing help
unreal Offline



Registered: 03/01/02
Posts: 860
Loc: KCRQ
You're probably calling a fax machine. lol

Top
#9257 - 09/09/03 04:07 AM Re: War Dialing help
Ntd Offline
Member

Registered: 01/21/03
Posts: 217
Loc: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
You shouldn't need to change your data bits if you are trying to connect to a computer because once you connect you automatically go into a handshake procedure and if your getting a dial-tone that means you are disconnected.

Top
#9258 - 09/09/03 07:46 AM Re: War Dialing help
paradox Offline
Member

Registered: 08/28/03
Posts: 240
Loc: New Zealand
Yeah they are right dialing and getting a response have nothing to dowith databits etc..
basically when war dialing your using your modem as a automated phone. Which just dials numbers in a range or randomly depending on your settings and then if it gets a response from a listening computer it stores this number in the got one list.. Thats how it worked.. and in New Zealand thats how i got access to old networks.. not many people use modems in wans or anything anymore
_________________________
The wise make mistakes, the fools repeat them
----------------------------------------
When you have eliminated the impossible, that which remains, however improbable, must be the truth

Top
#9259 - 09/09/03 10:17 AM Re: War Dialing help
chuckyb555 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 09/09/03
Posts: 22
Loc: US
Okay so..... should i still change my parity or stop bits then.... and if i change these will i see a difference the next time i dial one of these numbers???

Top
#9260 - 09/09/03 03:57 PM Re: War Dialing help
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Registered: 03/14/02
Posts: 1136
Loc: Pimpin the Colorizzle
They already told you. No, you don't need to change them. If you change them, you won't see a difference. Like unreal said, you're probably dialing a fax machine.

Top
#9261 - 09/09/03 06:02 PM Re: War Dialing help
chuckyb555 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 09/09/03
Posts: 22
Loc: US
Ok thanx pergesu for verifying that for me.

Top
#9262 - 09/09/03 06:20 PM Re: War Dialing help
chuckyb555 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 09/09/03
Posts: 22
Loc: US
oh and... once i find a number that a computer answers and i dial it, will a war dialer actually help me hack into that system???

Top
#9263 - 09/09/03 08:37 PM Re: War Dialing help
Ntd Offline
Member

Registered: 01/21/03
Posts: 217
Loc: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
I don't think so, you are just connecting to the computer you will still need a password and username.

Top
#9264 - 09/09/03 09:19 PM Re: War Dialing help
chuckyb555 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 09/09/03
Posts: 22
Loc: US
but where will i enter the username and password??

Top
#9265 - 09/10/03 12:50 AM Re: War Dialing help
chuckyb555 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 09/09/03
Posts: 22
Loc: US
ok.... forget my above reply. I have dialed up a computer and it asks me for the username, but when i go to enter it in, it only gives me a couple of seconds and then moves to the password -- not giving me enough time to enter the username and/or password. What should i do?//

Top
#9266 - 09/10/03 01:34 AM Re: War Dialing help
Infinite Offline



Registered: 03/09/02
Posts: 1041
Loc: Canada eh
You should put the keyboard down and back away from the computer, then forget you ever touched one and go about your life.

We're not gonna help you break into another system.

Infinite

Top
#9267 - 09/10/03 08:10 PM Re: War Dialing help
chuckyb555 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 09/09/03
Posts: 22
Loc: US
Hey infinite thanx for the help bud!!!!!

Top
#9268 - 09/10/03 10:34 PM Re: War Dialing help
Ntd Offline
Member

Registered: 01/21/03
Posts: 217
Loc: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
OK are you dialing a computer or are you connecting to a computer through a medium like telnet.
1) dialing a computer:-
When you set-up your pc to connect to a computer (or internet) you open ie (internet explorer) and click on tools:Options:Connections: Then u add a new connection, at that point you will see a box for your username a password.
2) Connecting to a computer:-
You are connected to the internet and you have an ip... So you open the program that you are going to use to connect to the other pc and enter the details (IP:PORT) and then you connect. If you only get a second to type the password or username that means the program on the other end thinks you are some sort of program to and can type really fast, so for example you are using telnet to connect to somesort of pc running a program that only allows you 2 secs to type the username, then u have to find the same program or make one for yourself.

Hope i helped.

Top
#9269 - 09/11/03 12:13 AM Re: War Dialing help
chuckyb555 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 09/09/03
Posts: 22
Loc: US
how do i know which one i am connecting to??? I have the phone number that i dial and it connects me to a Unix computer. And thats when it starts to give me only a few seconds to type in the username and password. What program are you talking about on the other end???? and how do i know which program it is?????//

Top
#9270 - 09/11/03 08:36 PM Re: War Dialing help
Ntd Offline
Member

Registered: 01/21/03
Posts: 217
Loc: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
So you are dialing a computer, Then do what i told you to do when dialing a computer. Do you know the difference between connecting to a computer and dialing a computer?

Top
#9271 - 09/11/03 09:01 PM Re: War Dialing help
chuckyb555 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 09/09/03
Posts: 22
Loc: US
yes i know the difference

Top
#9272 - 09/11/03 10:40 PM Re: War Dialing help
Ntd Offline
Member

Registered: 01/21/03
Posts: 217
Loc: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
How are you dialing the other computer?

Top
#9273 - 09/12/03 01:59 AM Re: War Dialing help
chuckyb555 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 09/09/03
Posts: 22
Loc: US
i am dialing it through a communications terminal named "Modemscan"

Top
#9274 - 09/12/03 02:00 AM Re: War Dialing help
chuckyb555 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 09/09/03
Posts: 22
Loc: US
do you think that i should try to connect through
Telnet????????///

Top
#9275 - 09/13/03 05:17 PM Re: War Dialing help
The Storm Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 09/13/03
Posts: 1
Loc: england
HA READ WHAT THERE SAY IN MAN
_________________________
THE CALM BEFORE THE STORM

Top
#9276 - 09/13/03 06:12 PM Re: War Dialing help
chuckyb555 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 09/09/03
Posts: 22
Loc: US
what exactly are they saying?

Top
#9277 - 09/14/03 12:57 AM Re: War Dialing help
jonconley Offline
UGN Super Poster

Registered: 10/08/02
Posts: 955
Loc: Merrill, IA, USA
To cover again what NTD said

IP - Connecting over a network
Telephone - Connecting via "dial-in"

So while they may look the same telnetting into somewhere and dialing in, they both use very different ways to initially connect.

To telnet, you would use an IP. To dialin, you would use the phone number. Yes, some software allows you to do both and some servers allow you to reach them via phone or IP.

...

Now that that is covered, war dialers generally don't help you hack into a system. Their job is to dial a range of phone lines and list the ones that are computers. Some will grab a banner; the initial text that pops up on your screen.

...

Yes, some systems you will have to change various settings in order to connect properly and/or see anything on the display. This is kind of a guess and test thing, so their are no definite settings. If I remember right, 8-N-1 is the most common basic settings. It has been years, so don't hold me to that.

...

Some systems might not show a prompt, some you may not have time to type anything on, some systems will log your phone number and disconnect you. We can't answer any of the specifics really. If you are spending so much time doing this, experiment and find it out yourself. That is where the actual fun is.

Top
#9278 - 09/22/03 04:02 AM Re: War Dialing help
smartyhands Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 09/21/03
Posts: 57
Loc: Montana Militant Camp
Some advice for total newbies:

Learn to use/manipulate/hack into your *->OWN<-* computer before doing so to someone else's.

PLEASE, PLEASE correct me if I'm wrong.
_________________________
Back off, man! I'm a scientist... - Peter VenkMann

Top
#9279 - 09/22/03 03:28 PM Re: War Dialing help
XSilencerX Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 09/22/03
Posts: 3
Hi, i am the newbiest person you will ever talk to so go easy!
i am using A-dial to get some number, but it just keeps dialing and dialing, actually it spent all nite dialing and hasnt found crap! Do i have to change anything?
_________________________
>XX<

Top
#9280 - 09/22/03 10:24 PM Re: War Dialing help
Infinite Offline



Registered: 03/09/02
Posts: 1041
Loc: Canada eh
OK, one more time people.

WAR-DIALING IS AN OBSOLETE TECHNOLOGY!

Nobody does this anymore. Get out of the 80's and join the present.

Infinite

Top
#9281 - 09/25/03 04:20 AM Re: War Dialing help
chuckyb555 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 09/09/03
Posts: 22
Loc: US
alright..... i have tried using telnet to connect to an ip.... but whenever i enter an ip and an open port, it will go to a blank ms-dos window and just sit there, and then return to the original telnet window. Telnet can't be as simple as putting in an ip and an open port and then just getting access to thier computer can it???

Top
#9282 - 09/25/03 07:58 AM Re: War Dialing help
Ntd Offline
Member

Registered: 01/21/03
Posts: 217
Loc: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
O Boy! Telnet is not as simple as putting an ip and a port. Ok first we have to know what OS you are running to know what telnet you have.

Windows 98:-
. To start Telnet Click Start, Run and type telnet into the input box.
. Once inside telnet Click on Preferences (It is on the menu bar) selected all the check boxes.
. Now Click on connect and enter the ip and port.

Windows 2000/Xp:-
. To start Telnet Click Start, Run and type telnet into the input box.
. Type o ip:port (replace ip with the ip eg 127.0.0.1:135)

Note :: Telnet doesn't automatically give you access to a computer, it is just a terminal program (Terminal program means that it just connects and sends commands) it can be used to hack but i don't know how. If you want to hack then i would surgest that you use NetBOIS in ms-dos. NetBIOS is easy to do.

Links For NetBIOS:-
. http://www.google.com (search key word nbtstat)
. http://users.pandora.be/pitbull/Main/NetBIOS%20Hacking%20guide.doc (READ THIS!!)
. http://www.computer-security.ch/ids/default.asp?TopicID=118 (This one is sweet!!)
. http://www.mycgiserver.com/~ethicalhackers/netbios.html (Another hacking TUT)

Note :: Nbtstat will only give you access if the host computer has file-sharing enabled, however you can do a port scan for port 135, anyway those sites will tell you what to do.

Top
#9283 - 09/25/03 09:43 AM Re: War Dialing help
paradox Offline
Member

Registered: 08/28/03
Posts: 240
Loc: New Zealand
why can't people learn for themselves like everyone else had 2
_________________________
The wise make mistakes, the fools repeat them
----------------------------------------
When you have eliminated the impossible, that which remains, however improbable, must be the truth

Top
#9284 - 09/25/03 05:56 PM Re: War Dialing help
XSilencerX Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 09/22/03
Posts: 3
Dude this is hard, lots of reading . believe its much easier to it do first then learn how to get there!
Ever heard the expression "monkey see monkey do"?
OK...
so ive gone off war dialer like i was told, apparently its in the 80s technology

ive used Telnet, and that doesnt work either, keeps saying cannot connect tohost, port 23 connection failed!
_________________________
>XX<

Top
#9285 - 09/25/03 05:59 PM Re: War Dialing help
XSilencerX Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 09/22/03
Posts: 3
WOW i connected to some place just now, via Telnet... cool first time.
However had to get off... it asked for username, and im still a newbie, too much for me to handle. I want to first go to a families computer! Just to get the hang of it. But like i said before, connection always fails.
I dont know why!!
_________________________
>XX<

Top
#9286 - 09/26/03 04:24 PM Re: War Dialing help
o0O-neo-O0o Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 09/24/03
Posts: 3
Loc: www.matrixwarez.com
Infinite and the like....

he has asked a question that is all

dont flame - its lame -
_________________________
"You may not post warez links in your signature." -- SilentRage

Top
#9287 - 09/26/03 05:22 PM Re: War Dialing help
jonconley Offline
UGN Super Poster

Registered: 10/08/02
Posts: 955
Loc: Merrill, IA, USA
goddamn, i think you are gonna rub me the wrong way. You only have 2 posts and I am already pissed.

First of all, I don't care what board you came from, you haven't been here long at all.

I don't know where you get off telling people not to flame. How about you put in your fair share of time to help and then maybe lecture other people here.

I don't see a single bit of help in your post. I am sure the likes of ppl "flaming" in this thread have contributed 100 times what you will ever contribute to this board.

"What a way to enter a board!!" You just look like a fucking idiot. And trust me, I don't flame very damn often, even if you look in this thread I was giving feedback and not flaming. So know that you really deserve it.

Grrr.

BTW, your FROM: and Signature link to a warez site with direct download links. You are in violation of the TOS for the UGN Security Board. Your just lucky I am not an admin here.

Top
#9288 - 09/26/03 10:06 PM Re: War Dialing help
Infinite Offline



Registered: 03/09/02
Posts: 1041
Loc: Canada eh
No kidding jon. You seem to have quite a big mouth son.

And I don't give a rat's ass where you came from either. In fact if you're coming from DK then I know you're prolly not worth talking to.

I (and others like jon) spend quite a lot of time here helping people out. Wtf do you get off with comments like that? The simple fact of the matter is war-dialing is completely irrelevant to todays networks, and we've been over this a ton of times before.

And like jon said, your sig and location are in violation of the rules of this site. Remove the links or you will be banned.

Infinite

Top
#9289 - 09/29/03 06:15 AM Re: War Dialing help
Ntd Offline
Member

Registered: 01/21/03
Posts: 217
Loc: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
XSilencerX, it sounds like you want to hack a PC via telnet. It can be done but i do not know how. I would surgest NETBIOS, as it is easier and PC's who are vulnerable to NETBIOS attacks are mainly family PC's. (Posted some links before)

Note :: Telnet is a client program used to connect to a server, so you will always be asked for a user name and password, and telnet can only connect to specific server types eg IRC, FTP, SMTP, SSH and alike so trying to connect a web page for instance will not work.

Top
#9290 - 09/30/03 01:41 AM Re: War Dialing help
Ghost Offline


Registered: 06/16/03
Posts: 807
Loc: Wisconsin
acctually dude you can connect to port 80 but its kinda pointless though because we have web browsers. I think when you connect you type: GET"/file.xxxx"HTTP/1.1 and and you can inter change get with HEAD or whatever method it uses. im not sure if this is right so check the RFCs if i am wrong.

And i forgot to mention for example: GET"/index.html"HTTP/1.1
_________________________
[[ GamerSupport ] [ UGN Security ] [ Evil Hosting ] [ Comic Relief ]
~[Ghost]

Top
#9291 - 10/09/03 10:26 AM Re: War Dialing help
o0O-neo-O0o Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 09/24/03
Posts: 3
Loc: www.matrixwarez.com
_________________________
"You may not post warez links in your signature." -- SilentRage

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  Infinite 
Featured Member
Registered: 08/20/13
Posts: 1
Forum Stats
2148 Members
46 Forums
34027 Topics
69194 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 02:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 27189
Gremelin 7192
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Gecko666, defghi795767, Devo60, ali, lavos
2147 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 292 Guests and 313 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!