Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
· Blackbeard.....
by Gremelin on 10/06/15 01:01 AM
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#9580 - 03/14/02 03:33 PM linux help (install hardware)....
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 119
Soap Offline
Soap Offline

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 119
yo... newbie linux-boy here.....

sorry if this is the wrong section (got told off by previous moderators for doing such a thing) I know it deals with a Unix topic but the forum title is "UNIX security" and this has **** to do with security...
anyway move it if you want...sorry for any inconvenience
[end deisclaimer]

Ok, I just got my hands on A Debian CD with a 2.1 kernel and as I live In Africa...
faraway country with a lousy 28,8K Net-access I won't spit on it... (french saying...)

All excited that I am, I installed on 1 of my PCs...it boots fine I get the normal "login:" prompt.... log in as root to do all the changes and make sure I have access to everything.

I just configured my local network (hosts file, routing tables) and it works nicely (only tried a few test pings for now...). I don't have much installed...in fact I'm not sure WTF I have.. I understand it's an old distro (with an old kernel ) and since it's on CD (as oppossed to a DVD-based SUSe distro)... space is limited.
But i REALLY find it a "skinny" install.... I have no access to help files.... man pages for progs like route, ifconfig or arp don't exist.
IS that posssible or have I ****ed up my install somewhere.

Now my major and more important question.... I installed from CD-rom but after install, when I boot a shell I can't access my cd-rom. I have a "/cdrom" directory (which is empty) and my /mnt directory is COMPLETLY empty...

I am little newbie w/t linux but generally at ease w/t computers so don't worry about being brief or complicated (save u time detailing and explaining).

By the way, I have a DVD-rom drive and A CD-rewriter.
I know both their "block device" adresses (hda1, hdc and so on). Do i have to load some drivers from somewhere? (Or "modules" under linux...if i understand correctly) How would I go about doing such as thing

Thx for futur answers...

Sponsored Links
#9581 - 03/14/02 05:07 PM Re: linux help (install hardware)....
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 197
Predator Offline
Predator Offline

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 197
Well to access your cdrom in linux you have to make sure it is mounted. You can do it with the "mount" command.

Oh and the linux/unix section isn't only for security related questions, it's for questions about *nix in general.

so i moved it over there

Never argue with fools... They will only drag you down to their level, and beat you with experience...

Member Spotlight

Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,194
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 34,797
Gremelin 7,194
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Jan Havelles, Herbert_Sherbert, codemauve, Lillysdragon1984, Brewwit
2158 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Gremelin), 196 guests and 315 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News