UGN Security
Posted By: Testing a space between variables - 11/16/05 06:54 PM
How do I print out a set of variables with a space between them. Sounds as though it should be simple as could be and perhaps it is,, however when you don't know how its maddening!

example:

Code
<?php 

$body1 = $LeadFirstName;
$body2 = $LeadLastName;

echo ($body1);
echo ($body2);


echo 'Thank you for registering.  Your free ebook will be emailed to you within 48 hours.';


?>
This prints out


sallysmithThank you for registering. Your free ebook will be emailed to you within 48 hours.


Assuming of course that sally is the first name and smith is the last name used when registering on the form.

What I cant figure out how to do is make it space between sally and smith ($body1 and $body2).

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!
Posted By: KillHour Re: a space between variables - 11/16/05 07:18 PM
I only have experience in C++, but the concept should be the same.

Try echoing a space between the variables.

Code
<?php
$body1 = $LeadFirstName;
$body2 = $LeadLastName;
echo ($body1);
echo ' '
echo ($body2);
echo ' '
echo 'Thank you for registering.  Your free ebook will be emailed to you within 48 hours.';
?>
Posted By: Testing Re: a space between variables - 11/16/05 08:43 PM
Worked like a charm. Thanks! As I thought, simple as can be. lol
Posted By: Gremelin Re: a space between variables - 11/16/05 08:53 PM
It'd be easier as:

Code
<?php 

$body1 = $LeadFirstName;
$body2 = $LeadLastName;

echo ("$body1 $body2 ");

echo 'Thank you for registering.  Your free ebook will be emailed to you within 48 hours.';

?>
Or even:
Code
<?php 

$names = "$LeadFirstName $LeadLastName";

echo ("$names ");

echo 'Thank you for registering.  Your free ebook will be emailed to you within 48 hours.';

?>
Posted By: Testing Re: a space between variables - 11/16/05 10:54 PM
Gizmo you are correct. I tried your first example but was messing up my syntax and I tried several variations of your second one. However when I type it correctly as you have shown it is much easier! Thanks for the help!
Posted By: Gremelin Re: a space between variables - 11/17/05 12:08 AM
You could also do something like:
Code
<?php 

$names = "$LeadFirstName $LeadLastName";

echo ("$names, Thank you for registering.  Your free ebook will be emailed to you within 48 hours.");

?>
Or even:
Code
<?php 

echo ("$LeadFirstName $LeadLastName, Thank you for registering.  Your free ebook will be emailed to you within 48 hours.");

?>
Posted By: §intå× Re: a space between variables - 11/17/05 02:18 PM
Nods.

PHP is very nice and forgiving with variables. You will also find numbers can be used as both char and int values. That is you can treat them as a string of text or in a math equation without creating a new variable. THis is not the case in most other languages, one or the other. PHP says, [censored] it, your a number, we can do math, and [censored] it, a number is a charater too.
Posted By: Gremelin Re: a space between variables - 11/17/05 08:52 PM
AMEN!

Code
<?php
     $one = "55";
     $two = "97";
     $type = "*";

     $math = $one $type $two;

     echo("$one $type $two equals $math");
?>
Posted By: §intå× Re: a space between variables - 11/18/05 02:01 PM
why do you guys use() with echo?

lol

You could just
Code
echo "some text";
or
Code
print "some text";
or
Code
<?="some text";?>
Posted By: Gremelin Re: a space between variables - 11/18/05 08:51 PM
It looks more clean god damnit!
Posted By: §intå× Re: a space between variables - 11/21/05 07:52 PM
lol no it doesn't. It is two more charaters everytime you echo out something.
Posted By: Gremelin Re: a space between variables - 11/22/05 02:28 AM
Readability smirk
© UGN Security Forum