Update Profile Not working?

Posted by: busfault

Update Profile Not working? - 07/07/05 08:14 PM

I went into my profile and decided to put an Avatar on and tried to save it and I recieved the following error:
Not Acceptable

An appropriate representation of the requested resource /cgi-bin/ubbcgi/ultimatebb.cgi could not be found on this server.

I tried again a couple of times with the same error, I also tried it without making any modifications and the same error was produced. I am currently using Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-GB; rv:1.7.8) Gecko/20050511 Firefox/1.0.4 to browse the site.
Hope this helps!
Posted by: KillHour

Re: Update Profile Not working? - 07/07/05 08:51 PM

At least it tells you that it didn't work

When I try to use an avatar it just ignores me
Posted by: IceMyst

Re: Update Profile Not working? - 07/07/05 09:04 PM

When it comes to avitars you cant put up your own you have to use one of the ones that's already here. If you want a personal avitar there is a small hosting fee you do have to pay UGN cause we would have to upload it to the site for your use. Gizmo knows the fee, I just know the rules...
Posted by: KillHour

Re: Update Profile Not working? - 07/07/05 09:18 PM

It's not a custom avatar - it just won't work

Of course I might spring for the custom avatar - it just depends on the fee
Posted by: Gremelin

Re: Update Profile Not working? - 07/08/05 01:35 AM

Try now.
Posted by: KillHour

Re: Update Profile Not working? - 07/08/05 05:00 AM

Nope, still nothing.
Posted by: Gremelin

Re: Update Profile Not working? - 07/08/05 06:10 AM

:looks:
Posted by: Gremelin

Re: Update Profile Not working? - 07/08/05 06:26 AM

Check now and report any errors. Also report how you're getting the errors (ie what avi are you choosing, etc)
Posted by: KillHour

Re: Update Profile Not working? - 07/08/05 06:58 AM

I've tried both 129 and 92. After I select the image, the thumbnail appears next to "avatar image:" like it's supposed to, but when I select "update profile", the avatar doesn't apear in the BBS. Also, if I go back to change settings, there is nothing next to "avatar image:".

I've been having this problem since day 1 (or else I'd already have an avatar ).

Oh, and P.S.: I'm using IE. That might be why I'm not getting an error message.
Posted by: Gremelin

Re: Update Profile Not working? - 07/08/05 07:39 AM

1. Go to "My Profile"
2. Click "Edit Profile"
3. Click "Select a differant Avatar Image" (or whatever the link says for you)
4. Select to Avitar to use.
5. Click "Select this Avatar"
6. Click "Update Profile"

It allows me to go through just fine btw...
Posted by: busfault

Re: Update Profile Not working? - 07/08/05 04:01 PM

There, now it seems to work, thanks!
Posted by: EndGame

Re: Update Profile Not working? - 07/13/05 08:59 AM

may be working for him.
but not working for me.
i followed all steps.

unless i do have the avatar but i just cant see it?
highly unlikely tho
Posted by: Gremelin

Re: Update Profile Not working? - 07/14/05 01:17 AM

I see your megaman avatar just fine. it might be something on your end...
Posted by: EndGame

Re: Update Profile Not working? - 07/14/05 04:59 AM

yea, first time iv seen that too giz

the problem is the av i selected for the past 4 months is:
avatar_img(97)

the wierd thing is i actually have an avatar now which i can see.
which wasnt the case since i registered in january.
Posted by: Gremelin

Re: Update Profile Not working? - 07/14/05 10:16 PM

I took and updated you to that avitar, I even went so far as to turn off the avitar feature for your account so that updating your profile won't be able to clear the setting; you know, to ensure it sticks ...
Posted by: KillHour

Re: Update Profile Not working? - 07/15/05 06:28 AM

Hey Giz, could you do the same thing for me with avatar #92?
Posted by: Gremelin

Re: Update Profile Not working? - 07/15/05 08:59 AM

rofl, it's not letting you set your avi now? wtf?
Posted by: EndGame

Re: Update Profile Not working? - 07/15/05 09:03 AM

Quote:
Originally posted by Gizmo:
I took and updated you to that avitar, I even went so far as to turn off the avitar feature for your account so that updating your profile won't be able to clear the setting; you know, to ensure it sticks ...
i can see it now!
and my account has a childlock feature :p

cheers mate

u wouldnt know why it wouldnt work when i tried would u?
cos iv tried changing the av on 4 different machines at 3 different locations.
Posted by: Gremelin

Re: Update Profile Not working? - 07/15/05 06:25 PM

No idea; if it let me update it for you then there isn't anything wrong with the server itself as it allowed the update...

All I can think of is "user error" but I doubt you could fuck it up 4 times lol...
Posted by: KillHour

Re: Update Profile Not working? - 07/15/05 10:07 PM

I've tried way more than 4 times, and I think your server just hates me :x