ram question

Posted by: BackSlash

ram question - 06/22/03 12:33 AM

i'm trying to upgrade my old computers memory, and it states in the manual that it needs 70ns ram, but all i can find on ebay is 60ns ram. so the question is can i put 60ns ram into a machine that asks for 70ns, or will it not work?
Posted by: Deviation187

Re: ram question - 06/22/03 01:29 AM

it should work no? i mean me being the not so smart one.. thats just my opinion(to each his own) cuz i mean as long as its the right kind it needs it should.. im guessing it will only use the 60 though, but ok, lets leave it to the pros now.
Posted by: SilentRage

Re: ram question - 06/22/03 08:02 AM

70 ns ram is older and slower memory than 60 ns.

you can find it on http://www.pricewatch.com
Posted by: BackSlash

Re: ram question - 06/22/03 08:49 AM

i'll take that to mean that 60ns would not work in my system?
Posted by: SilentRage

Re: ram question - 06/22/03 10:45 AM

If speed was all you had to worry about then there would be no problem. the faster ram would simply run at a slower pace. However, 70ns ram uses FastPage memory. 60ns uses EDO memory. If your motherboard only supports FPM memory then it is unlikely that it will properly support EDO. It may detect improper memory sizes and such.
Posted by: BackSlash

Re: ram question - 06/22/03 12:20 PM

actually my motherboard supports both edo and fpm, just can't mix the two in the same bank.