D-Link router Firewall Blocking My access to the Internet

Posted by: jdawg

D-Link router Firewall Blocking My access to the Internet - 01/25/07 12:18 AM

can I pick your brain here. I have a d-link gaming router set up and as of now, It doesn't allow my computer to access the Internet past the scheduled time. And then it allows my computer to access the Internet again at a certain time.

I know it is a MAC address filtering system used by Lyksis and other routers like D-Link and Netgear.

But I am having a hard time finding a way around this, all I need done is being able to access the internet after my router disallows me to. I cant access the router by going to its IP because its password protected and I already tried the default and that is not it. So is there some sort of password recovery or brute force password dictionary cracker out there than can help me out?

Please help, much appreciated

Zero6
Posted by: Gremelin

Re: D-Link router Firewall Blocking My access to the Internet - 01/25/07 03:00 AM

We cannot and will not support you in cracking a router with access restrictions; obviously the "owner" of the router would have the password, and if you are the owner you could just do a hardware reset on the box itself.

I can however tell you that most admin centers utilize a standard/stock username which cannot be changed and they tend to use htpassword protection which can be defeated with a tool such as AccessDiver.
Posted by: §intå×

Re: D-Link router Firewall Blocking My access to the Internet - 01/25/07 08:20 AM

http://www.accessdiver.com

You never know Gizmo. He could be just trying to learn about security and it COULD be his router. If it was your router you would want to read up on passwords and how to best create a password list.


start here
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&l...amp;btnG=Search
Posted by: jdawg

Re: D-Link router Firewall Blocking My access to the Internet - 01/25/07 11:32 PM

Originally Posted By: Gizmo
We cannot and will not support you in cracking a router with access restrictions; obviously the "owner" of the router would have the password, and if you are the owner you could just do a hardware reset on the box itself.

I can however tell you that most admin centers utilize a standard/stock username which cannot be changed and they tend to use htpassword protection which can be defeated with a tool such as AccessDiver.



Alright sorry about the confusion. Ill restate my post.

I have a router in my house...no legal harm done...this I swear on.

All I am trying to do is get the password to the router in my own home. and I cannot walk to the router and push the reset button because it will reset the time schedules in place on the router(and i don't want to redo everything for the 8 computer/xbox's in my house on the network)
Posted by: Gremelin

Re: D-Link router Firewall Blocking My access to the Internet - 01/25/07 11:44 PM

Well, if it is your router then you'll do what i mentioned above, you'll need to bruteforce the password using a tool such as Accessdiver.

Step one would be to build a wordlist (or utilize a combolist), obviously if you know the default username it's a lot easier to crack.
Posted by: §intå×

Re: D-Link router Firewall Blocking My access to the Internet - 01/26/07 02:40 AM

psst, hey kid.. over here

You will need to build a wordlist.. Since you probably set the password *cough* you should have an idea on possible passwords you would have used. lol If ummm not, read this

Yep you will have to do some leg work. Nope we will not tell you how but I can point for you. Seriously, grab access driver and read about how to use it.
Posted by: jdawg

Re: D-Link router Firewall Blocking My access to the Internet - 01/26/07 08:33 PM

well I know how to use access driver...and I know for a fact that it requires 2 input boxes to use a standard brute forcer on it... Here is a screen shot
http://tinyurl.com/29l3ol
As you can plainly see^^, there is a different here, theres 1 static input box and only 1 password box...I don't think a combo list will work in this situation. I just need it to attack the password input field and not both un/pw at the same time.

Is there some sort of configuration with access driver that I might have overlooked while reading the manual that will allow only attacking the password field instead of both fields.
Posted by: Gremelin

Re: D-Link router Firewall Blocking My access to the Internet - 01/26/07 10:03 PM

user list contains a list yes, however you can put just one username in the list and tell it to use only that; you would then build a wordlist to use as a password list.

I never mentioned a combo list; i mentioned it'd be simple to do with the default username for the router.
Posted by: jdawg

Re: D-Link router Firewall Blocking My access to the Internet - 01/27/07 04:31 PM

I already tried that, I made one list then a long list of passwords...

Heres the deal. When I make the 1 word "Admin". Then the rest of the passwords...Its filling in "Admin" then "Pass". But there is not a input box for Admin, theres just 1 input box for the Password on the page. I just need to figure out how to make the program input passwords only.
Posted by: §intå×

Re: D-Link router Firewall Blocking My access to the Internet - 01/29/07 12:38 PM

And here is were most new guys get pissed and leave. Access driver can be set up do do what you want it to do. You might have to read up on it. You probably have it set up to do .htaccess passwords. There is a html web form section in the app. Look for it and research how to use it.
Posted by: Cumen

Re: D-Link router Firewall Blocking My access to the Internet - 02/03/07 09:45 PM

Hmm, I am having a similar problem. You see, my brother is the control freak around here, and he has control of my parents; it sucks. Anyways, I as you now know am a World of Warcraft player, and my brother being his self tries to play the boss of me and blocks the connection through our router. Yay! I tried to connect to the router, but he was smart; he changed the username and password, lame. Enough of the story, does anyone have any suggestions on what to do to unblock WoW? I am using a regular Linksys wireless router. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Posted by: Artic Warrior

Re: D-Link router Firewall Blocking My access to the Internet - 02/18/07 05:54 PM

Im assuming the router is in the same house as you. Get a pen and stick it in the reset button on the router (not modem), and that will restore factory settings.