War Dialing help

Posted by: chuckyb555

War Dialing help - 09/09/03 02:13 AM

Hey.... i have found numbers that computers have answered. From there, i try to call these numbers but all i get are some beeps. How should i change my configuration of data bits, parity, and stop bits?? Or do i need to change something else???I would appreciate the help-- Thanx
Posted by: unreal

Re: War Dialing help - 09/09/03 03:15 AM

You're probably calling a fax machine. lol
Posted by: Ntd

Re: War Dialing help - 09/09/03 04:07 AM

You shouldn't need to change your data bits if you are trying to connect to a computer because once you connect you automatically go into a handshake procedure and if your getting a dial-tone that means you are disconnected.
Posted by: paradox

Re: War Dialing help - 09/09/03 07:46 AM

Yeah they are right dialing and getting a response have nothing to dowith databits etc..
basically when war dialing your using your modem as a automated phone. Which just dials numbers in a range or randomly depending on your settings and then if it gets a response from a listening computer it stores this number in the got one list.. Thats how it worked.. and in New Zealand thats how i got access to old networks.. not many people use modems in wans or anything anymore
Posted by: chuckyb555

Re: War Dialing help - 09/09/03 10:17 AM

Okay so..... should i still change my parity or stop bits then.... and if i change these will i see a difference the next time i dial one of these numbers???
Posted by: pergesu

Re: War Dialing help - 09/09/03 03:57 PM

They already told you. No, you don't need to change them. If you change them, you won't see a difference. Like unreal said, you're probably dialing a fax machine.
Posted by: chuckyb555

Re: War Dialing help - 09/09/03 06:02 PM

Ok thanx pergesu for verifying that for me.
Posted by: chuckyb555

Re: War Dialing help - 09/09/03 06:20 PM

oh and... once i find a number that a computer answers and i dial it, will a war dialer actually help me hack into that system???
Posted by: Ntd

Re: War Dialing help - 09/09/03 08:37 PM

I don't think so, you are just connecting to the computer you will still need a password and username.
Posted by: chuckyb555

Re: War Dialing help - 09/09/03 09:19 PM

but where will i enter the username and password??
Posted by: chuckyb555

Re: War Dialing help - 09/10/03 12:50 AM

ok.... forget my above reply. I have dialed up a computer and it asks me for the username, but when i go to enter it in, it only gives me a couple of seconds and then moves to the password -- not giving me enough time to enter the username and/or password. What should i do?//
Posted by: Infinite

Re: War Dialing help - 09/10/03 01:34 AM

You should put the keyboard down and back away from the computer, then forget you ever touched one and go about your life.

We're not gonna help you break into another system.

Infinite
Posted by: chuckyb555

Re: War Dialing help - 09/10/03 08:10 PM

Hey infinite thanx for the help bud!!!!!
Posted by: Ntd

Re: War Dialing help - 09/10/03 10:34 PM

OK are you dialing a computer or are you connecting to a computer through a medium like telnet.
1) dialing a computer:-
When you set-up your pc to connect to a computer (or internet) you open ie (internet explorer) and click on tools:Options:Connections: Then u add a new connection, at that point you will see a box for your username a password.
2) Connecting to a computer:-
You are connected to the internet and you have an ip... So you open the program that you are going to use to connect to the other pc and enter the details (IP:PORT) and then you connect. If you only get a second to type the password or username that means the program on the other end thinks you are some sort of program to and can type really fast, so for example you are using telnet to connect to somesort of pc running a program that only allows you 2 secs to type the username, then u have to find the same program or make one for yourself.

Hope i helped.
Posted by: chuckyb555

Re: War Dialing help - 09/11/03 12:13 AM

how do i know which one i am connecting to??? I have the phone number that i dial and it connects me to a Unix computer. And thats when it starts to give me only a few seconds to type in the username and password. What program are you talking about on the other end???? and how do i know which program it is?????//
Posted by: Ntd

Re: War Dialing help - 09/11/03 08:36 PM

So you are dialing a computer, Then do what i told you to do when dialing a computer. Do you know the difference between connecting to a computer and dialing a computer?
Posted by: chuckyb555

Re: War Dialing help - 09/11/03 09:01 PM

yes i know the difference
Posted by: Ntd

Re: War Dialing help - 09/11/03 10:40 PM

How are you dialing the other computer?
Posted by: chuckyb555

Re: War Dialing help - 09/12/03 01:59 AM

i am dialing it through a communications terminal named "Modemscan"
Posted by: chuckyb555

Re: War Dialing help - 09/12/03 02:00 AM

do you think that i should try to connect through
Telnet????????///
Posted by: The Storm

Re: War Dialing help - 09/13/03 05:17 PM

HA READ WHAT THERE SAY IN MAN
Posted by: chuckyb555

Re: War Dialing help - 09/13/03 06:12 PM

what exactly are they saying?
Posted by: jonconley

Re: War Dialing help - 09/14/03 12:57 AM

To cover again what NTD said

IP - Connecting over a network
Telephone - Connecting via "dial-in"

So while they may look the same telnetting into somewhere and dialing in, they both use very different ways to initially connect.

To telnet, you would use an IP. To dialin, you would use the phone number. Yes, some software allows you to do both and some servers allow you to reach them via phone or IP.

...

Now that that is covered, war dialers generally don't help you hack into a system. Their job is to dial a range of phone lines and list the ones that are computers. Some will grab a banner; the initial text that pops up on your screen.

...

Yes, some systems you will have to change various settings in order to connect properly and/or see anything on the display. This is kind of a guess and test thing, so their are no definite settings. If I remember right, 8-N-1 is the most common basic settings. It has been years, so don't hold me to that.

...

Some systems might not show a prompt, some you may not have time to type anything on, some systems will log your phone number and disconnect you. We can't answer any of the specifics really. If you are spending so much time doing this, experiment and find it out yourself. That is where the actual fun is.
Posted by: smartyhands

Re: War Dialing help - 09/22/03 04:02 AM

Some advice for total newbies:

Learn to use/manipulate/hack into your *->OWN<-* computer before doing so to someone else's.

PLEASE, PLEASE correct me if I'm wrong.
Posted by: XSilencerX

Re: War Dialing help - 09/22/03 03:28 PM

Hi, i am the newbiest person you will ever talk to so go easy!
i am using A-dial to get some number, but it just keeps dialing and dialing, actually it spent all nite dialing and hasnt found crap! Do i have to change anything?
Posted by: Infinite

Re: War Dialing help - 09/22/03 10:24 PM

OK, one more time people.

WAR-DIALING IS AN OBSOLETE TECHNOLOGY!

Nobody does this anymore. Get out of the 80's and join the present.

Infinite
Posted by: chuckyb555

Re: War Dialing help - 09/25/03 04:20 AM

alright..... i have tried using telnet to connect to an ip.... but whenever i enter an ip and an open port, it will go to a blank ms-dos window and just sit there, and then return to the original telnet window. Telnet can't be as simple as putting in an ip and an open port and then just getting access to thier computer can it???
Posted by: Ntd

Re: War Dialing help - 09/25/03 07:58 AM

O Boy! Telnet is not as simple as putting an ip and a port. Ok first we have to know what OS you are running to know what telnet you have.

Windows 98:-
. To start Telnet Click Start, Run and type telnet into the input box.
. Once inside telnet Click on Preferences (It is on the menu bar) selected all the check boxes.
. Now Click on connect and enter the ip and port.

Windows 2000/Xp:-
. To start Telnet Click Start, Run and type telnet into the input box.
. Type o ip:port (replace ip with the ip eg 127.0.0.1:135)

Note :: Telnet doesn't automatically give you access to a computer, it is just a terminal program (Terminal program means that it just connects and sends commands) it can be used to hack but i don't know how. If you want to hack then i would surgest that you use NetBOIS in ms-dos. NetBIOS is easy to do.

Links For NetBIOS:-
. http://www.google.com (search key word nbtstat)
. http://users.pandora.be/pitbull/Main/NetBIOS%20Hacking%20guide.doc (READ THIS!!)
. http://www.computer-security.ch/ids/default.asp?TopicID=118 (This one is sweet!!)
. http://www.mycgiserver.com/~ethicalhackers/netbios.html (Another hacking TUT)

Note :: Nbtstat will only give you access if the host computer has file-sharing enabled, however you can do a port scan for port 135, anyway those sites will tell you what to do.
Posted by: paradox

Re: War Dialing help - 09/25/03 09:43 AM

why can't people learn for themselves like everyone else had 2
Posted by: XSilencerX

Re: War Dialing help - 09/25/03 05:56 PM

Dude this is hard, lots of reading . believe its much easier to it do first then learn how to get there!
Ever heard the expression "monkey see monkey do"?
OK...
so ive gone off war dialer like i was told, apparently its in the 80s technology

ive used Telnet, and that doesnt work either, keeps saying cannot connect tohost, port 23 connection failed!
Posted by: XSilencerX

Re: War Dialing help - 09/25/03 05:59 PM

WOW i connected to some place just now, via Telnet... cool first time.
However had to get off... it asked for username, and im still a newbie, too much for me to handle. I want to first go to a families computer! Just to get the hang of it. But like i said before, connection always fails.
I dont know why!!
Posted by: o0O-neo-O0o

Re: War Dialing help - 09/26/03 04:24 PM

Infinite and the like....

he has asked a question that is all

dont flame - its lame -
Posted by: jonconley

Re: War Dialing help - 09/26/03 05:22 PM

goddamn, i think you are gonna rub me the wrong way. You only have 2 posts and I am already pissed.

First of all, I don't care what board you came from, you haven't been here long at all.

I don't know where you get off telling people not to flame. How about you put in your fair share of time to help and then maybe lecture other people here.

I don't see a single bit of help in your post. I am sure the likes of ppl "flaming" in this thread have contributed 100 times what you will ever contribute to this board.

"What a way to enter a board!!" You just look like a fucking idiot. And trust me, I don't flame very damn often, even if you look in this thread I was giving feedback and not flaming. So know that you really deserve it.

Grrr.

BTW, your FROM: and Signature link to a warez site with direct download links. You are in violation of the TOS for the UGN Board. Your just lucky I am not an admin here.
Posted by: Infinite

Re: War Dialing help - 09/26/03 10:06 PM

No kidding jon. You seem to have quite a big mouth son.

And I don't give a rat's ass where you came from either. In fact if you're coming from DK then I know you're prolly not worth talking to.

I (and others like jon) spend quite a lot of time here helping people out. Wtf do you get off with comments like that? The simple fact of the matter is war-dialing is completely irrelevant to todays networks, and we've been over this a ton of times before.

And like jon said, your sig and location are in violation of the rules of this site. Remove the links or you will be banned.

Infinite
Posted by: Ntd

Re: War Dialing help - 09/29/03 06:15 AM

XSilencerX, it sounds like you want to hack a PC via telnet. It can be done but i do not know how. I would surgest NETBIOS, as it is easier and PC's who are vulnerable to NETBIOS attacks are mainly family PC's. (Posted some links before)

Note :: Telnet is a client program used to connect to a server, so you will always be asked for a user name and password, and telnet can only connect to specific server types eg IRC, FTP, SMTP, SSH and alike so trying to connect a web page for instance will not work.
Posted by: Ghost

Re: War Dialing help - 09/30/03 01:41 AM

acctually dude you can connect to port 80 but its kinda pointless though because we have web browsers. I think when you connect you type: GET"/file.xxxx"HTTP/1.1 and and you can inter change get with HEAD or whatever method it uses. im not sure if this is right so check the RFCs if i am wrong.

And i forgot to mention for example: GET"/index.html"HTTP/1.1
Posted by: o0O-neo-O0o

Re: War Dialing help - 10/09/03 10:26 AM