Windows + telnet ???

Posted by: SodaCan

Windows + telnet ??? - 10/28/03 06:52 AM

I know there is a way to get acess to windows through telnet. I been trying to gain access to my old comp via telnet through my new one. Fig. it was a start to learning about telnet. So far i know you enter " telnet host port#" then enter. I tried it with a website an it turned black an when i hit enter twice i got some html an some info on the server. So if any1 knows if u can connect to another windows computer via tel net please help
I thank every1 that put their time into reading this.
Posted by: Gremelin

Re: Windows + telnet ??? - 10/28/03 07:05 AM

to use telnet to connect to anything it'd connect to a service. If you plan on using telnet to connect to the default telnet port your computer will need to be running a telnet service.

To use a client (in this case telnet) to connect to a service on another computer (also in this case a telnet daemon or service) you need to have a server running on "your" computer.
Posted by: SodaCan

Re: Windows + telnet ??? - 10/28/03 07:11 AM

So I would need a server on my old computer or could i just open telnet an connect to default port
Posted by: Gremelin

Re: Windows + telnet ??? - 10/28/03 07:32 AM

You need a telnet server running on the computer to connect via telnet to the server... Just like saying you need to start the car before you can drive it...
Posted by: jonconley

Re: Windows + telnet ??? - 10/28/03 07:45 AM

If you have not sure about NT4/XP, but with my windows 2000 there is a telnet service that you can enable and then you can use your windows accounts to access the machine and get a remote command terminal. It is installed by default I believe, best bet would be to search MS knowledgebase or if you do a search in the XP help on your computer, it will search the KB also.

To get you started, here is a HOWTO on enabling telnet server in windows 2000.

HOWTO @ MS KB
Posted by: Gremelin

Re: Windows + telnet ??? - 10/28/03 07:47 PM

on XP/2k it's installed by default but it isn't ran automatically.
Posted by: pergesu

Re: Windows + telnet ??? - 10/28/03 09:12 PM

And I'll point out that you may want to install an SSH service instead. It gives you a shell just like telnet, but everything's encrypted, so it's far more secure than telnet.
Posted by: SodaCan

Re: Windows + telnet ??? - 10/28/03 09:43 PM

thanks guys you saved me on that one
Posted by: david_isis

Re: Windows + telnet ??? - 12/09/03 09:32 PM

to find out more info on telnet you can go to
http://www.happyhacker.org