Broadband connection

Posted by: Ntd

Broadband connection - 04/30/04 05:30 PM

As you might know my laptop cd-rom drive is stuffed so i cant install my broadband connection on it. I have tryed a network but i have given up on that idea. My question is, is it possible to manually install broadband on my laptop with out the cd?
Posted by: sinetific

Re: Broadband connection - 04/30/04 09:53 PM

If it's cable you can just plug in and use it no software required. I don't really know about DSL. You can just call your ISP usually ask them for the info you need, gateway address and nameservers, and enter it manually if it doesn't show up using dhcp.
Posted by: n0mel

Re: Broadband connection - 05/01/04 05:15 AM

you could always put the cd on a friends computer, then get it from them via the net.

edit: I just realised the stupidity of my response you could do that if you have a connection now.

why have you given up on the network idea?

does anyone you know have one of those little usb drives? or, does anyone own a digital camera and an a usb flash card reader?
Posted by: Gremelin

Re: Broadband connection - 05/01/04 05:53 AM

NTD, some ISP's require the CD to send them your mac address; your best bet is their tech support line, just tell them that your PC doesn't have a cd rom drive.
Posted by: Ntd

Re: Broadband connection - 05/03/04 02:51 PM

ok, thanks and they do have a good support network thanks.
Posted by: sinetific

Re: Broadband connection - 05/06/04 12:27 AM

The mac address should be broadcasted over ARP.
Posted by: Gremelin

Re: Broadband connection - 05/06/04 06:48 AM

Sin, after configuration with most isp's theil assign almost any mac address with an ip (tried it with comcast). They have some sort of internal system that their software add's your information to before it'll assign your modem's mac anything.
Posted by: Ntd

Re: Broadband connection - 05/06/04 11:01 AM

Whats a MAC address?
Posted by: Gremelin

Re: Broadband connection - 05/06/04 11:17 AM

A MAC address is the unique identifier for your network card. Well every device has a MAC address (so I hear) but the Network Card and Modem are the onlyones that matter.
Posted by: sinetific

Re: Broadband connection - 05/06/04 09:40 PM

I never had to use any software for comcast.
Media Access Control, it's like a serial number, a unique identifier, or a finger print even. It's used by routing machines to bind your IP to a device.
Posted by: jonconley

Re: Broadband connection - 05/07/04 09:30 AM

For the software, usually it just automates the setup, as said above.

However, no one mentioned you can usually find a settings file (perhaps .ins extension) but just look through the CD for a file that is small in size and sounds like where settings or setup might be stored. Then view the document using notepad and you will be able to manually enter the settings that are written in there.
Posted by: Ntd

Re: Broadband connection - 05/07/04 12:09 PM

Hey all,
i called the help centre and they said it couldn't be done. So i guess i have to get a hub and make a network :'(.
Posted by: Gremelin

Re: Broadband connection - 05/07/04 02:15 PM

i'd rather buy a USB pen :x...
Posted by: sinetific

Re: Broadband connection - 05/07/04 09:48 PM

what are you trying to do? connect two machines at once to your broadband connection? A hub will not help you there. You need a residential gateway/router. All you said was that you want to hook up your laptop to your broadband connection. If the help center told you that cant be done and you have to buy a "hub", bring that guy to me so I can punch him in the face. What exactly are you trying to do here?
Posted by: Gremelin

Re: Broadband connection - 05/08/04 08:30 AM

BestBuy has some good prices on routers at moment so it's well worth it.

We're planning on buying a 802.11b just for IceMyst's PDA...