Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
Page 1 of 2   1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#2613 - 02/25/03 03:23 AM Remote Control
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 43
vendicate Offline
Junior Member
vendicate Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 43
Ok I have a computer at home and one at work. How can I remotely access my computer at work through my computer at home.Meaning I can open anything,create,delete,copy,etc..almost like a BO except not.Is there a simple way?

Top
Sponsored Links
#2614 - 02/25/03 03:54 AM Re: Remote Control
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Online shocked
Community Owner
Gremelin Online shocked

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Portland, OR; USA
PC Anywhere is one... In WinXP theres Remote Desktop...


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Top
#2615 - 02/25/03 04:22 AM Re: Remote Control
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,041
Infinite Offline
UGN Elite Poster
Infinite Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,041
Canada eh
Citrix is another...

Top
#2616 - 02/25/03 04:53 AM Re: Remote Control
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå× Offline



Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Maryland
telnet://I.P. of computer at work is another... heh


Are you behind a firewall at work, most likely you are and might need some sort of tunneling software.

Hey sum didn't you say you use winputty?


My New site OpenEyes
Top
#2617 - 02/25/03 12:37 PM Re: Remote Control
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 43
vendicate Offline
Junior Member
vendicate Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 43
will pcanywhere work even if i'm behind a firewall?

Top
#2618 - 02/25/03 12:40 PM Re: Remote Control
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 43
vendicate Offline
Junior Member
vendicate Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 43
My work computer is at a university

Top
#2619 - 02/25/03 08:13 PM Re: Remote Control
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,041
Infinite Offline
UGN Elite Poster
Infinite Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,041
Canada eh
Quote:
Hey sum didn't you say you use winputty?
Not winputty, just putty. And yes, I do use it fairly often. NOt sure how it applies here but it is a raw session/telnet/ssh/rlogin client all rolled into one that fits on a floppy. You can find it at http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/download.html .

Infinite

Top
#2620 - 02/25/03 09:05 PM Re: Remote Control
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 43
vendicate Offline
Junior Member
vendicate Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 43
could you put that into simpler terms infinite? about putty

Top
#2621 - 02/25/03 11:23 PM Re: Remote Control
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,041
Infinite Offline
UGN Elite Poster
Infinite Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,041
Canada eh
That's not simple?

er....

Putty is a program you use to get a shell on a remote computer through one of the protocols mentioned above.

er...

Putty is a program you use to get a commandline that is running on a machine far away (or in the same room even) to appear on your own machine like you were really sitting at it.

er...

I don't know how to say it any plainer. Hope that helped.

Infinite

Top
#2622 - 02/25/03 11:32 PM Re: Remote Control
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,136
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,136
Pimpin the Colorizzle
er...

If you're running a telnet/ssh/rlogin server on your own computer, you can use putty to connect to it and h4x0r j00r 0wn b0x0r. PH33R!!!

Top
#2623 - 02/25/03 11:33 PM Re: Remote Control
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 43
vendicate Offline
Junior Member
vendicate Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 43
much better

Top
#2624 - 02/26/03 12:12 AM Re: Remote Control
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Online shocked
Community Owner
Gremelin Online shocked

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Portland, OR; USA
PC Anywhere will work for OUTWARD connections if you're behind a school network (everything will work outward, since most don't have their own external ip you won't be able to do incoming).


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Top
#2625 - 02/26/03 01:12 AM Re: Remote Control
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 43
vendicate Offline
Junior Member
vendicate Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 43
Now what if my computer at home uses the university's server then will it be able to recieve anything?

Top
#2626 - 02/26/03 02:17 AM Re: Remote Control
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Online shocked
Community Owner
Gremelin Online shocked

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Portland, OR; USA
If you do not have a phisical IP (you connect and the IP is dedicated to you, not a network) there aren't any remote access servers that will be able to help you since they idle on the IP and wait for a signal to open a connection. You'll have no real luck unless you'll be able to con your network admin into forwarding the ports from their router to your computer lol...


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Top
#2627 - 02/26/03 02:41 AM Re: Remote Control
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,136
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,136
Pimpin the Colorizzle
"unless you'll be able to con your network admin into forwarding the ports from their router to your computer"

Which you won't be able to do

Top
#2628 - 02/26/03 03:05 AM Re: Remote Control
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 185
Mornse Offline
Member
Mornse Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 185
Vancouver
What about using netcat at work to connect to computer at home, outbound connection which should go through the firewall/router and then you have a remote prompt?


Cha want some w***up?

http://www.dopeskill.com
Top
#2629 - 02/26/03 03:08 AM Re: Remote Control
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Online shocked
Community Owner
Gremelin Online shocked

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Portland, OR; USA
Yeh, they do it for security and shit heh... Basically you're fucked.


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Top
#2630 - 02/26/03 12:35 PM Re: Remote Control
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 43
vendicate Offline
Junior Member
vendicate Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 43
exactly

Top
#2631 - 03/03/03 11:01 AM Re: Remote Control
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 89
Nagachaak Offline
Junior Member
Nagachaak Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 89
scandinavia
vendicate maybe need some basic knowledge to know what to do, yes? maybe he needs some info about ip-adresses yes? maybe a little something not called a "software that does it for you"?
am i the only one doing shit the hard way here?

/me so fucking angry!!!

here is a tip vendicate: read all tuts at blacksun.box.sk


I am beyond God, I am human. I am the razorblade on the communion vein.
Top
#2632 - 03/03/03 11:54 AM Re: Remote Control
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå× Offline



Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Maryland
If he has broad band(on a collage campus he should) He should have a statc I.P. address.

Check it out man. Get your I.P. address today. And again tomorrow. If it is the same you have a static I.P. Now it is possible to have a static I.P. and be behind a proxy and or firewall and I.P. address can be muttled up in some maze of I.P. conversion from your network to the real world. Sooooo

Get your I.P. address Localy doing IPconfg from dos or the start>run bar.

then visit http://www.whatismyipaddress.com/

if they are the same your I.P. address is static and you have more options open to you.


My New site OpenEyes
Top
#2633 - 03/03/03 12:40 PM Re: Remote Control
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 553
Digital Geek Offline
UGN Super Poster
Digital Geek Offline
UGN Super Poster

Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 553
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Be aware that http://www.whatismyipadress.com may not work. In my case, that page does not show me my IP adress but instead shows the IP adress of one of my ISP proxys that manages the traffic. After you get the IP adress from that page, do a "nslookup IP_adress" to check the domain name.

If you have an dynamic IP adress there are still ways of accessing your home computer without the need of knowing your IP adress every time.

One way of doing this is with a Dynamic DNS Update Client. For more info check out http://no-ip.org . They will redirect something like vendicate.no-ip.org to your IP adress. When your IP adress changes, the Dynamic DNS Update Client sends the new IP adress to them. So, you just have to remember the domain name. So if you have a web server on your box instead of going to http://IP_adress you would go to http://vendicate.no-ip.org. The same goes for a ssh server, which I recomand if you want to access your box from other places. Preaty neat.

Top
#2634 - 03/04/03 01:49 AM Re: Remote Control
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Online shocked
Community Owner
Gremelin Online shocked

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Portland, OR; USA
I had a script up at http://gizmo.promodtecnologies.com/ip.php that showed just your IP on the page .


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Top
#2635 - 03/04/03 01:21 PM Re: Remote Control
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 89
Nagachaak Offline
Junior Member
Nagachaak Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 89
scandinavia
u can still see your ip-adress at gizmos site if you press the contact button...


I am beyond God, I am human. I am the razorblade on the communion vein.
Top
#2636 - 03/04/03 01:29 PM Re: Remote Control
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 553
Digital Geek Offline
UGN Super Poster
Digital Geek Offline
UGN Super Poster

Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 553
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Not working for me ... it still gives me the IP adress of the proxy.

Top
#2637 - 03/04/03 01:40 PM Re: Remote Control
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,136
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,136
Pimpin the Colorizzle
Run ipconfig. Here's the output from mine, tells me my IP address in the second line.

Code:
F:\>ipconfig

Windows 2000 IP Configuration

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
You can get even greater detail with ipconfig /all

Code:
F:\>ipconfig /all

Windows 2000 IP Configuration

        Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : baggio
        Primary DNS Suffix  . . . . . . . :
        Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
        IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
        WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139(A
 Ethernet NIC
        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-50-FC-74-F3-75
        DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
        DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 204.127.198.4
                                            216.148.227.68

Top
Page 1 of 2   1 2 >

Member Spotlight
Gremelin

Gremelin
Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,195
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Sponsored Links
Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics46,497
Posts81,667
Members2,157
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Latest Postings
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 39,661
Gremelin 7,195
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860