Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
toggle
July
S M T W T F S
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
· Blackbeard.....
by Gremelin on 07/04/16 08:31 PM
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#29774 - 11/12/05 09:03 PM Building new system
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 270
HighLander Offline
UGN Member
Happy Birthday HighLander Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 270
Canada
So building a new system anyone got any suggestions for the Motherboard, was looking at the

ASUS A8N-E MOTHERBOARD ATX S939 NFORCE4 ULTRA DDR PCI-E16 PCI-E4 2PCI-E1 3PCI SATA RAID GBLAN SOUND

but any suggestions would be greatly appreciated


Unless you try something to which you have not already succeeded ~ Then you shall NEVER grow
Top
Sponsored Links
#29775 - 11/12/05 09:25 PM Re: Building new system
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå× Offline



Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Maryland
fatal

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/...tal&image1.x=0&image1.y=0

It is easier and safe to over clock. It has a load of features. It is probably the best MB out there right now.


My New site OpenEyes
Top
#29776 - 11/12/05 10:16 PM Re: Building new system
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 270
HighLander Offline
UGN Member
Happy Birthday HighLander Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 270
Canada
Abit Fatal1ty AN8 SLI NVIDIA Socket 939 ATX Motherboard / Audio / PCI Express / Gigabit LAN / USB 2.0 & Firewire / Serial ATA / RAID

that is a nice MB and price ain't that bad either.

But a question about the processors, what would be better

Socket 939 2.4GHz w/ 2000MHz Bus Speed or
Socket 775 3.8GHz w/ 800MHz Bus Speed

I guess the question is what is better more GHz or higher bus speed


Unless you try something to which you have not already succeeded ~ Then you shall NEVER grow
Top
#29777 - 11/13/05 12:48 AM Re: Building new system
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Portland, OR; USA
That mobo looks pretty decent for AMD64; myself I was looking at the A7N8X-X for an AMD32 for my DVR when I get money to work on it...


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Top
#29778 - 11/13/05 01:05 AM Re: Building new system
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 270
HighLander Offline
UGN Member
Happy Birthday HighLander Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 270
Canada
The Fatal has a 2000MHz FSB though the A7N8X-X only has a 400 MHz FSB, im a bit out on my hardware knowledge is there a reason to get a AMD32 instead of the AMD64 ?

From what I was just reading (Source) The AMD64 FX is the better choice.


Unless you try something to which you have not already succeeded ~ Then you shall NEVER grow
Top
#29779 - 11/13/05 01:15 AM Re: Building new system
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Portland, OR; USA
theres no real point in getting the AMD64 presantly, it'll be rare to find some 64bit applications for winblows; though there are some...


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Top
#29780 - 11/13/05 01:25 AM Re: Building new system
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 270
HighLander Offline
UGN Member
Happy Birthday HighLander Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 270
Canada
Ok I see what you mean, but they will have some more uses for it eventualy, how about the FSB question, 2000MHz would defiently be better then 400 MHz correct ?

While in here, does anyone have any suggestions of where to get a good already modded case, I would like to buy a normal case and mod it myself but I just don't have the tools for that, been checking out case sites all over but can't seem to find one that interests me..


Unless you try something to which you have not already succeeded ~ Then you shall NEVER grow
Top
#29781 - 11/13/05 01:43 AM Re: Building new system
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Portland, OR; USA
Cases, I have one of these that I gave Icey:
http://www.circotech.com/asxsualalcoc.html

They're beautiful...

As for the processor; your FSB has to match your ram, so if you're FSB is over 400 you have to use DDR2 ram; DDR400 you woulduse with a 400mhz FSB.

I know of no real uses for a 64bit system in a windows enviroment at moment, keep in mind that applications have to SUPPORT 64 bit processing in order to take advantage of it... Save your money, get a dual processor machine :x...


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Top
#29782 - 11/13/05 01:59 AM Re: Building new system
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 270
HighLander Offline
UGN Member
Happy Birthday HighLander Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 270
Canada
Yeah they are nice cases, but not quite what im looking for im not really sure what I am looking for. I was thinking something like the

- Thermaltake Tsunami VA3000BWA Computer Case (Black) or the
- Aspire X-Cruiser Thermally Advantaged Case - Silver

http://www.xoxide.com/allcases.html

Thanx for the info on the FSB, maybe I will go with a dual processor just have to find a good dual processor MB


Unless you try something to which you have not already succeeded ~ Then you shall NEVER grow
Top
#29783 - 11/13/05 08:08 AM Re: Building new system
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Portland, OR; USA
I needa get one of these for my PVR eventually:
http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16811112081


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Top
#29784 - 11/14/05 05:58 PM Re: Building new system
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 270
HighLander Offline
UGN Member
Happy Birthday HighLander Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 270
Canada
From what you said up above Giz an FSB over 400 would use DDR200 and 400 would use DDR400, yet looking at the Fatal MB as linked from Sin it has a 2000MHz FSB yet supports DDR400 PC3200, sorry just a little confused, by what you said it should take DDR200 right, or did I just misunderstand you?


Unless you try something to which you have not already succeeded ~ Then you shall NEVER grow
Top
#29785 - 11/14/05 08:55 PM Re: Building new system
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Portland, OR; USA
DDR400 (PC2100) will be for an AMD Athlon XP 3200 (I'm not sure where it starts, you have to look at the clock rate on the package); DDR2 (NOT DDR200; DDR and DDR2 are two TOTALLY differant TYPES of ram) is for newer (and most 64 bit) motherboards.

DDR ram is however backwards compatable, so you can buy DDR400 and just let the system select what you want..


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Top
#29786 - 11/14/05 10:57 PM Re: Building new system
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 270
HighLander Offline
UGN Member
Happy Birthday HighLander Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 270
Canada
ah ok, I understand now thx


Unless you try something to which you have not already succeeded ~ Then you shall NEVER grow
Top

Member Spotlight
Gremelin

Gremelin
Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,195
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics46,229
Posts81,399
Members2,157
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 39,393
Gremelin 7,195
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Herbert_Sherbert, codemauve, Lillysdragon1984, Brewwit, boa
2157 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 4 guests and 1 spider.
Latest News