Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
toggle
May
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#6885 - 07/26/03 05:24 PM Bypass proxy
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 7
[email protected] Offline
Junior Member
[email protected] Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 7
IN
Ok, so i tried to nmap a computer on the cable network here in my city.
It said the host seems down so I added the switches for zeroping and XMAS, now it says the host is up ...GOOD. but it just not proceeds anywhere and after some time I ctrl+c it to exit,

I assume that the box is behind a firewall and a PROXY. so is there a way to reach that (maybe by bypassing the proxy) box since i have root priviledges on that and still cannot remote access it.
Also if there is a documentation on bypassing the proxy server.

Top
Sponsored Links
#6886 - 07/26/03 08:11 PM Re: Bypass proxy
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,041
Infinite Offline
UGN Elite Poster
Infinite Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,041
Canada eh
With nmap, if you set the option -P0 (do not ping) it will always say "host seems to be up... Good". This however does not mean shit. It does not mean the host is up, nor does it mean that there is anything on the other end to scan. All it means is you skipped the ping portion of the scan that verifies there truly is a responding machine on the other end.

As for actually getting through the firewall, well heh. That's where the fun comes in. Try doing a normal scan (not sure why you are using XMAS) and see what that comes back with. If in the end you don't see any ports open on the outside I don't think it's gonna make a lick of difference in helping you. You're screwed.

But you said you have root privs on this machine. Why not rootkit yourself, or even install some kind of trojan that goes out through the proxy to you? It is almost always easier to get out than it is to get in. Then you can have your remote access.

Infinite

Top
#6887 - 07/27/03 12:43 AM Re: Bypass proxy
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 7
[email protected] Offline
Junior Member
[email protected] Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 7
IN
I have root privileges on the box not on the proxy so I dont see how the root kit will take me through the proxy server.
Ill do some research anyhow and report back if it does work

Top
#6888 - 07/27/03 12:46 AM Re: Bypass proxy
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 7
[email protected] Offline
Junior Member
[email protected] Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 7
IN

Top

Member Spotlight
Gremelin

Gremelin
Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,194
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics45,557
Posts80,725
Members2,157
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 38,721
Gremelin 7,194
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Herbert_Sherbert, codemauve, Lillysdragon1984, Brewwit, boa
2157 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 3 guests and 0 spiders.
Latest News