Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
toggle
February
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#8903 - 05/04/03 11:33 PM First Post
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 5
Masked_Bandit Offline
Junior Member
Masked_Bandit Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 5
I have watching the board for some time and finally decided to register. I have learned a lot just from reading the posts from others. I am fairly new to the computer world but have been in the telecom arena for some time and now am getting heavily into lan's and wan's but anyway I do have a question I would like some help with. I have a system I am trying to rlogin into. I understand that this should be similar to telnet. I have not been able to figure out how to get this to work.In the area I am trying to do this from I do not have access to any OS except windows which as far as I can tell does not support Rlogin sessions from command line. I have found some shareware clients and I have also heard that procomm (which I have) supports rlogin through windows but cannot figure out how to get either to work. Any help will be appreciated.

Top
Sponsored Links
#8904 - 05/05/03 03:35 AM Re: First Post
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 955
jonconley Offline
UGN Super Poster
jonconley Offline
UGN Super Poster

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 955
Merrill, IA, USA
http://www.openssh.org/

I would use SSH instead. Why? Because everytime I have asked or seen someone ask about rlogin, it generally goes off into using SSH instead for security reasons.

So I suggest trying that, depending on the linux you are trying to connect to, it may already have OpenSSH installed. If not, all the details are at the above site.

Now, for rlogin, if you STILL want to use it, check the ~/.rhosts file:
Quote:

hostname username
Also make sure you port 513 is open.

I haven't used ProComm for rlogin/ssh before, so not sure how it works. I use OpenSSH client on Linux, and PuTTy on Windows.
I am a newbie, so I hope this is right. I am sure ppl will correct if not.

Top
#8905 - 05/07/03 01:44 AM Re: First Post
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 5
Masked_Bandit Offline
Junior Member
Masked_Bandit Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 5
Thanks for the reply. I'm not sure if this machine supports anything besides rlogin. In PuTTy how would you start a Rlogin session? Say to ip address 10.1.1.1. I think I can get PuTTy for free at least for a demo period but when researching it, it seemed that it's purpose was to get into cell phones.

Top
#8906 - 05/07/03 01:57 AM Re: First Post
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,136
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,136
Pimpin the Colorizzle
putty is free. As for using it for rlogin sessions, I don't know, I don't have a copy with me.

Top
#8907 - 05/07/03 01:59 AM Re: First Post
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,041
Infinite Offline
UGN Elite Poster
Infinite Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,041
Canada eh
You get PuTTY here

It's a radio button you check on the initial window. Really simple, you can't miss it.



Infinite

Top

Member Spotlight
Gremelin

Gremelin
Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,194
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics43,952
Posts79,126
Members2,157
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 37,115
Gremelin 7,194
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Herbert_Sherbert, codemauve, Lillysdragon1984, Brewwit, boa
2157 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 0 guests and 0 spiders.
Latest News