Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
toggle
April
S M T W T F S
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#9760 - 09/28/02 10:20 PM Telnet
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 189
CyberNerd Offline
Member
CyberNerd Offline
Member

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 189
Here
ok i was playing around for telnet for the first time on a win xp computer, and i noticed the default port to connect to is port 23, and the telnet is all in dos, i dont know if there is a GUI version on xp, but if there is i cant find it. so I spent 2 hours trying to figure how to get it off that default port and im completely stuck can anyone tell me how to do it?


Just because I dont care doesn't mean that I don't understand.
-Homer Simpson
Top
Sponsored Links
#9761 - 09/28/02 11:14 PM Re: Telnet
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 9
Bluefire Offline
Junior Member
Bluefire Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 9
Ontario,Canada
I spent a couple of sec's reading the help file and got it but here we go. you type o to connect ip here port here . Ie o 127.0.0.1 30 this what it look like from xp
Welcome to Microsoft Telnet Client

Escape Character is 'CTRL+]'

Microsoft Telnet> o 127.0.0.1 30
Connecting To 127.0.0.1...Could not open connection to the host, on port 30.
No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it.

Microsoft Telnet>


Beer, Helping ugly people get laid since 1862.
Top
#9762 - 09/28/02 11:35 PM Re: Telnet
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 624
black^Pimp Offline
UGN GFX Whore
black^Pimp Offline
UGN GFX Whore

Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 624
Underground
yes, but what differences it makes it the default port is 21 or 23 bro ? Anyways winXP has lots of security holes i think. I'll see if i can find something more around your problem


+^Born Intelligence
Top
#9763 - 09/29/02 12:12 AM Re: Telnet
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,136
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,136
Pimpin the Colorizzle
There's a huge difference in what port it connects to. 21 is ftp, 23 is telnet. If you use telnet to go to port 21, you don't get the same thing. Here's what you wanna do:

telnet host port

So an example:
>telnet http://www.undergroundnews.com 67

That will connect to http://www.undergroundnews.com on port 67

Top
#9764 - 09/29/02 01:50 AM Re: Telnet
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
sinetific Offline
nobody
sinetific Offline
nobody

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
Ann Arbor
download putty. its tiny, it fits on a floppy.. ssh telnet raw or rlogin. http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/download.html

Top
#9765 - 09/29/02 01:50 AM Re: Telnet
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 599
BackSlash Offline
UGN's Resident Homo
BackSlash Offline
UGN's Resident Homo

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 599
TN
the telnet can be accessed through the command prompt by typing

>telnet http://www.site.com 23

thats pretty much what pergesu just said, but i just wanted to point out that it can be done through the command prompt opposed to searching for the file telnet and opening it.


"It's better to burn out, than to fade away."
Top
#9766 - 09/29/02 03:13 AM Re: Telnet
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 189
CyberNerd Offline
Member
CyberNerd Offline
Member

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 189
Here
ok guys, i solved my problem thanks


Just because I dont care doesn't mean that I don't understand.
-Homer Simpson
Top

Member Spotlight
Gremelin

Gremelin
Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,194
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics45,509
Posts80,677
Members2,157
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 38,673
Gremelin 7,194
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Herbert_Sherbert, codemauve, Lillysdragon1984, Brewwit, boa
2157 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 2 guests and 1 spider.
Latest News