Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
toggle
February
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#10650 - 07/16/02 03:13 AM i need a port number
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 189
CyberNerd Offline
Member
CyberNerd Offline
Member

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 189
Here
anyone know the Aol Instant messenger port? i have to open it so i can direct connect with some people [Shit]


Just because I dont care doesn't mean that I don't understand.
-Homer Simpson
Top
Sponsored Links
#10651 - 07/16/02 03:49 AM Re: i need a port number
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 533
Curse Offline
Enforcement Admin
Curse Offline
Enforcement Admin

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 533
San Andreas
AIM uses port 5190 to connect to the AIM Server, but it uses port 1965 for Direct Connections...

Top
#10652 - 07/16/02 09:39 AM Re: i need a port number
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 730
Moffesto Offline
UGN Supporter
Moffesto Offline
UGN Supporter

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 730
Kuntucky
im thinking about using a firewall.... im cheap so ill prolly go with zonealarm, can u configure what ports u want open with it?


2 people can keep a secret as long as one is dead
Top
#10653 - 07/16/02 09:56 AM Re: i need a port number
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 67
mtlhd Offline
Junior Member
mtlhd Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 67
Los Angeles,CA
Quote:
can u configure what ports u want open with it?
Unfortunately you can't. I don't know any windows firewall program that allows you to do this. But maybe I haven't looked hard enough.


People demand freedom of speech as a compensation for the freedom of thought which they seldom use.
Top
#10654 - 07/16/02 11:25 AM Re: i need a port number
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
sinetific Offline
nobody
sinetific Offline
nobody

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
Ann Arbor
you can configure what programs you want to allow to be able to accept connections though, i think if it's like norton...

Top
#10655 - 07/16/02 10:26 PM Re: i need a port number
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 189
CyberNerd Offline
Member
CyberNerd Offline
Member

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 189
Here
speaking of firewalls i dont think its zone alarm(my firewall) thats blocking the port off since it always asks for connections to be made, i run windows xp and i heard somewhere it comes with a built in firewall, is that true and if it is anyone know how(if) i can alter it to except those connections


Just because I dont care doesn't mean that I don't understand.
-Homer Simpson
Top
#10656 - 07/17/02 01:01 AM Re: i need a port number
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 270
HighLander Offline
UGN Member
HighLander Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 270
Canada
I do not believe that Windows XP actually has its own specific firewall........


Unless you try something to which you have not already succeeded ~ Then you shall NEVER grow
Top
#10657 - 07/17/02 02:45 AM Re: i need a port number
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 562
Le4rner Offline
UGN Supporter
Le4rner Offline
UGN Supporter

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 562
Yea it dose. That was part of the big stink about it coming out. I do not have XP only played with it a few minutes. Might wana search google for XP vs AOL problems. Might find a solution that way.

Top
#10658 - 07/19/02 04:21 AM Re: i need a port number
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 185
Mornse Offline
Member
Mornse Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 185
Vancouver
Yeah, XP does come with a firewall, but by default it's not on. Unless you installed it and turned it on, that should not be a problem.


Cha want some w***up?

http://www.dopeskill.com
Top
#10659 - 07/20/02 01:19 AM Re: i need a port number
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 256
ninjaneo Offline
UGN Security Staff
ninjaneo Offline
UGN Security Staff

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 256
CA, USA
ZoneAlarm DOES let you configure what you want to have open or close.

A box will pop up asking "Do you want so-and-so program to act as a server?"
[Yes] [No]
[X] Dont show this again

heh
ZoneAlarm will let you not/allow these 3 things,
1) Accept Connections - let outside connections in
2) Connect to internet - self explanitory
3) Act as server - blocks people from accessing that port

Top
#10660 - 07/23/02 02:39 AM Re: i need a port number
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 189
CyberNerd Offline
Member
CyberNerd Offline
Member

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 189
Here
Argh i really do hate to bring this back up, but i need another port the one Quake one uses when you connect to servers, im finding this out on behalf of a friend. if you dont know the port does anyone know a way i can find this(prefferably without getting into DOS)


Just because I dont care doesn't mean that I don't understand.
-Homer Simpson
Top
#10661 - 07/23/02 03:04 AM Re: i need a port number
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
sinetific Offline
nobody
sinetific Offline
nobody

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
Ann Arbor
Why not get into DOS? Its not difficult to learn and it will save you time in the future instead of having to ask other people questions you can find out for yourself.

Ill teach you how to find out the port number of any server you connect to.
Open a DOS prompt, type in: netstat
look at the output and decipher it.

It shouldn't be too hard to figure out which connection is the quake server if you know the server name or IP it will be even easier. Apply process of elimination techniques and shut down all other connections that you have and it should be the only one there. If you know the IP of the host use: netstat -n, it will give you numerical output. For more assistance using netstat type: netstat -?
Learn how to learn and teach youself, it will help you more than we ever can.

Top
#10662 - 07/23/02 03:48 AM Re: i need a port number
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 189
CyberNerd Offline
Member
CyberNerd Offline
Member

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 189
Here
i know DOS myself its my friend the only thing he can do in DOS once hes in it is get out of it. And the commands are hard to explain being i dont have Quake you see, but if thats the only way ill have to go with it


Just because I dont care doesn't mean that I don't understand.
-Homer Simpson
Top

Member Spotlight
Gremelin

Gremelin
Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,194
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics43,881
Posts79,055
Members2,157
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 37,044
Gremelin 7,194
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Herbert_Sherbert, codemauve, Lillysdragon1984, Brewwit, boa
2157 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 0 guests and 1 spider.
Latest News