Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
It appears that you're running an Ad-Blocker. This site is monetized by Advertising and by User Donations; we ask that if you find this site helpful that you whitelist us in your Ad-Blocker, or make a Donation to help aid in operating costs.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#14978 - 04/30/04 04:30 PM Broadband connection  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 217
Ntd Offline
Member
Ntd  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 217
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
As you might know my laptop cd-rom drive is stuffed so i cant install my broadband connection on it. I have tryed a network but i have given up on that idea. My question is, is it possible to manually install broadband on my laptop with out the cd?

Sponsored Links
#14979 - 04/30/04 08:53 PM Re: Broadband connection  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
sinetific Offline
nobody
sinetific  Offline
nobody

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
Ann Arbor
If it's cable you can just plug in and use it no software required. I don't really know about DSL. You can just call your ISP usually ask them for the info you need, gateway address and nameservers, and enter it manually if it doesn't show up using dhcp.

#14980 - 05/01/04 04:15 AM Re: Broadband connection  
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 34
n0mel Offline
Junior Member
n0mel  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 34
...
you could always put the cd on a friends computer, then get it from them via the net.

edit: I just realised the stupidity of my response you could do that if you have a connection now.

why have you given up on the network idea?

does anyone you know have one of those little usb drives? or, does anyone own a digital camera and an a usb flash card reader?

#14981 - 05/01/04 04:53 AM Re: Broadband connection  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
NTD, some ISP's require the CD to send them your mac address; your best bet is their tech support line, just tell them that your PC doesn't have a cd rom drive.


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#14982 - 05/03/04 01:51 PM Re: Broadband connection  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 217
Ntd Offline
Member
Ntd  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 217
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
ok, thanks and they do have a good support network thanks.

Sponsored Links
#14983 - 05/05/04 11:27 PM Re: Broadband connection  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
sinetific Offline
nobody
sinetific  Offline
nobody

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
Ann Arbor
The mac address should be broadcasted over ARP.

#14984 - 05/06/04 05:48 AM Re: Broadband connection  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
Sin, after configuration with most isp's theil assign almost any mac address with an ip (tried it with comcast). They have some sort of internal system that their software add's your information to before it'll assign your modem's mac anything.


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#14985 - 05/06/04 10:01 AM Re: Broadband connection  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 217
Ntd Offline
Member
Ntd  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 217
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Whats a MAC address?

#14986 - 05/06/04 10:17 AM Re: Broadband connection  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
A MAC address is the unique identifier for your network card. Well every device has a MAC address (so I hear) but the Network Card and Modem are the onlyones that matter.


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#14987 - 05/06/04 08:40 PM Re: Broadband connection  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
sinetific Offline
nobody
sinetific  Offline
nobody

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
Ann Arbor
I never had to use any software for comcast.
Media Access Control, it's like a serial number, a unique identifier, or a finger print even. It's used by routing machines to bind your IP to a device.

Sponsored Links
#14988 - 05/07/04 08:30 AM Re: Broadband connection  
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 955
jonconley Offline
UGN Super Poster
jonconley  Offline
UGN Super Poster

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 955
Merrill, IA, USA
For the software, usually it just automates the setup, as said above.

However, no one mentioned you can usually find a settings file (perhaps .ins extension) but just look through the CD for a file that is small in size and sounds like where settings or setup might be stored. Then view the document using notepad and you will be able to manually enter the settings that are written in there.

#14989 - 05/07/04 11:09 AM Re: Broadband connection  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 217
Ntd Offline
Member
Ntd  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 217
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Hey all,
i called the help centre and they said it couldn't be done. So i guess i have to get a hub and make a network :'(.

#14990 - 05/07/04 01:15 PM Re: Broadband connection  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
i'd rather buy a USB pen :x...


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#14991 - 05/07/04 08:48 PM Re: Broadband connection  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
sinetific Offline
nobody
sinetific  Offline
nobody

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
Ann Arbor
what are you trying to do? connect two machines at once to your broadband connection? A hub will not help you there. You need a residential gateway/router. All you said was that you want to hook up your laptop to your broadband connection. If the help center told you that cant be done and you have to buy a "hub", bring that guy to me so I can punch him in the face. What exactly are you trying to do here?

#14992 - 05/08/04 07:30 AM Re: Broadband connection  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
BestBuy has some good prices on routers at moment so it's well worth it.

We're planning on buying a 802.11b just for IceMyst's PDA...


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner

Member Spotlight
Gremelin
Gremelin
Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,195
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics46,798
Posts81,968
Average Daily Posts11
Members2,159
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Latest Postings
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 39,962
Gremelin 7,195
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Top Liked Users (All Time)
§intå× Likes: 1
Cold Sunn Likes: 1
Crime Likes: 1
Cyrez Likes: 1
Ghost Likes: 1
Gremelin Likes: 4
Ice Likes: 1
unreal Likes: 1
Top Liked Users (30 Days)
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
(Snapshot build 20160902)