Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
toggle
February
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#15229 - 01/16/03 07:48 AM Ram Question
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 536
Deviation187 Offline
Member
Happy Birthday Deviation187 Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 536
L.A Cal.
Well i have a win2k HP comp. intel Pentium3 and pc100 ram, 900mhz (just some extra info)

now this computer can only hold 256mb of ram. and there are two slots and one has 128 and the other of course empty, I was wondering if I buy a 128mb ram chip, would that help my computer? well more like, would I really notice a diffrence?

-dev


"Hmm, they have the internet on computers now." - Homer Simpson
http://wired.promodtecnologies.com/
Top
Sponsored Links
#15230 - 01/16/03 08:19 AM Re: Ram Question
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 36
windead Offline
Junior Member
windead Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 36
canada
if you are big on multi-tasking, watch movies, or run memory-eating programs you will probably notice a significant difference. if all you do is surf the net, and small things like that you probably wont notice much of a difference.


-windead
Top
#15231 - 01/16/03 03:36 PM Re: Ram Question
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,273
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,273
OH, USA
yes, you will notice a difference.


Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net
Top
#15232 - 01/16/03 07:21 PM Re: Ram Question
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 192
xero Offline
Member
xero Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 192
Really depends on what you're doing, but I don't see how having more would hurt.


"Most of our imports come from outside the country" -George W. Bush

http://www.zero-technologies.com
Top
#15233 - 01/16/03 11:25 PM Re: Ram Question
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 536
Deviation187 Offline
Member
Happy Birthday Deviation187 Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 536
L.A Cal.
well i suppose for movies and games :-P


"Hmm, they have the internet on computers now." - Homer Simpson
http://wired.promodtecnologies.com/
Top
#15234 - 01/17/03 12:46 AM Re: Ram Question
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 36
windead Offline
Junior Member
windead Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 36
canada
then ya, you'll notice a difference.


-windead
Top
#15235 - 01/17/03 03:31 AM Re: Ram Question
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 192
xero Offline
Member
xero Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 192
heh watching movies and playing games... 256 should be plenty. oy try doing DVD ripping or DivX compression or 3D rendering.. now that's some intensive computing =X


"Most of our imports come from outside the country" -George W. Bush

http://www.zero-technologies.com
Top
#15236 - 01/17/03 07:07 AM Re: Ram Question
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 730
Moffesto Offline
UGN Supporter
Moffesto Offline
UGN Supporter

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 730
Kuntucky
you should notice a difference, i didnt notice to much once i went from 256 to 512... but i never do anything on my pc anymore. But i wouldn't settle for less than 512 now. the number is just so sexually attractive.


2 people can keep a secret as long as one is dead
Top
#15237 - 01/17/03 11:10 PM Re: Ram Question
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 536
Deviation187 Offline
Member
Happy Birthday Deviation187 Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 536
L.A Cal.
lol yep. Ill get mine offline in about a week, well a week is when the order will be placed plus 4-7 shipping days :p

thanx for the convincing


"Hmm, they have the internet on computers now." - Homer Simpson
http://wired.promodtecnologies.com/
Top
#15238 - 01/17/03 11:47 PM Re: Ram Question
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 122
SephiroX Offline
Member
SephiroX Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 122
England
yeah i really noticed a big diff when i went from 128mb to 1gb on my p3 box
along with my p4 box that has 512ddr

Top
#15239 - 01/18/03 12:46 AM Re: Ram Question
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,273
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,273
OH, USA
get enough memory and you can disable virtual memory and enjoy true speed.


Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net
Top
#15240 - 01/21/03 01:29 AM Re: Ram Question
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 192
xero Offline
Member
xero Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 192
so what is "enough memory" so one can disable their virtual memory?


"Most of our imports come from outside the country" -George W. Bush

http://www.zero-technologies.com
Top
#15241 - 01/21/03 02:40 AM Re: Ram Question
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,041
Infinite Offline
UGN Elite Poster
Infinite Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,041
Canada eh
More memory than you could ever possibly ever fill up. Say (depending on your habits) around 2 gigabytes. More if you do anything memory intensive.

Infinite

Top
#15242 - 01/21/03 05:53 AM Re: Ram Question
Joined: Mar 1983
Posts: 55
Skull Offline
UGN Elder
Skull Offline
UGN Elder

Joined: Mar 1983
Posts: 55
Iowa
512 Should be fine for most anything you do, I didn't notice a huge jump when i went from 512 to 1.3 gig of ram.

(Is that enough Ram??)

Regards,

Skull


Trust me, if i started killing people, there'd None of you left
Top
#15243 - 01/21/03 02:43 PM Re: Ram Question
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,273
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,273
OH, USA
You don't have to have obscene amounts of ram to safely disable virtual memory. Take a look at your pagefile size. It's probably less than 400 megabytes. 1 gig of ram is probably enough. Skull, go ahead and try to disable virtual memory and see what happens and let us know if it sped anything up.


Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net
Top
#15244 - 01/23/03 04:46 PM Re: Ram Question
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2
ugnez Offline
Junior Member
ugnez Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2
dania beach, fl, usa
Hay, good repsonses, but try this link for more info, maybe more than you need -- there are links there to extensive, but useful info on the subject; bottom line, for this case, going for the extra memory was optimal, may or may not be in other cases.... chugalug

http://www.windowsbbs.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=13007


I have spent most of my money on women and beer. The rest I just wasted...
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
If electricity comes from electrons, does morality come from morons?
Top

Member Spotlight
Gremelin

Gremelin
Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,194
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics43,881
Posts79,055
Members2,157
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 37,044
Gremelin 7,194
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Herbert_Sherbert, codemauve, Lillysdragon1984, Brewwit, boa
2157 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 0 guests and 1 spider.
Latest News