Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
toggle
July
S M T W T F S
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
· Blackbeard.....
by Gremelin on 07/04/16 08:31 PM
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#16217 - 10/01/02 12:19 AM XFree86
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
sinetific Offline
nobody
sinetific Offline
nobody

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
Ann Arbor
when I startx with slack my desktop is huge, it's about 4 times the size of my screen. I can drag the huge screen around to go down and be able to see part of my taskbar and along the bottom to see the other side of it, but I just want a normal sized desktop Ive looked through all the Xfconig man pages, through the .config files and all of that and i cant find what I need to edit. Anybody have any idea?

Top
Sponsored Links
#16218 - 10/01/02 08:01 AM Re: XFree86
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 197
Predator Offline
Member
Predator Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 197
Belgium
With xf86config you can config Xfree
But to change the resolution of your screen immedately use 'ctrl' + 'alt' + '+'


Never argue with fools... They will only drag you down to their level, and beat you with experience...
Top
#16219 - 10/01/02 03:53 PM Re: XFree86
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
sinetific Offline
nobody
sinetific Offline
nobody

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
Ann Arbor
ah yes thank you predator, some one else told me that also. Is there anyway I can have it start everytime at a specified resolution?

Top
#16220 - 10/01/02 07:27 PM Re: XFree86
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 626
hKzKnight Offline
Member
hKzKnight Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 626
LAN
Damn Xfree86 can get real bitchy, i find my self reinstalling it often (you can download them etc). Well make sure you have the right graphics setup and that your card is compatible ( i am sure it is). It should allow you to change the res in the "control panel/ config panel" of your Xwindows enviroment if not, try xsetup or setupx (damn I can't remember) something like that.. I'll have to look.


-hKzKnight
"The ghost... Was never there and you'll never see me"
Top
#16221 - 10/03/02 05:43 PM Re: XFree86
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 37
ReverendNinjaSox Offline
Junior Member
ReverendNinjaSox Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 37
I believe, but am not sure, that Slackware comes with a program called xvidtune. Run that and that should allow you to configure the size of the display. I believe. Also, in the config file there are parameters in there that you can change.
In my /etc/X11/XF86Config, there are some lines toward the bottom. They start with
# The whatever server
Section "Screen"
Then find the correct driver / monitor that you are using. You'll see a subsection "Display" in there. Change the Modes line to something like this.
Modes "1024X768"
I believe the first number in the list is what it defaults to. Hope that remotely helps.

Top
#16222 - 10/04/02 01:22 AM Re: XFree86
Joined: Mar 1983
Posts: 55
Skull Offline
UGN Elder
Skull Offline
UGN Elder

Joined: Mar 1983
Posts: 55
Iowa
I know that when i installed my Mandrake it asked me during the install. Otherwise I know that in mandrake its in the hardware section of the gnome configuration under Display, I'd look under such a place in your version. Personally i wouldn't spend to much time in gnome, i used to use that instead of the command prompt but have found my self moving more and more towards the shell because of the power that it possesses, and its remote ability to be accessed from any computer on he net.

Regards,

Skull


Trust me, if i started killing people, there'd None of you left
Top
#16223 - 10/04/02 12:58 PM Re: XFree86
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 37
ReverendNinjaSox Offline
Junior Member
ReverendNinjaSox Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 37
I generally prefer to run everything out of GUI mode. If I need to do anything useful other then browsing the Internet and looking at pertty (Intentionally misspelled) pictures, I just switch over to my command prompt. I'm also real keen on just alt tabbing between windows and being able to view multiple ones at the same time. Sure, alt+f1-6 is real neat and all, however, it's just a lot of a pain in the ass for me unless you really are masochistic or extremely direct to the point. X Displays are very handy. I'm rambling now and not making much of a point. I'm going to blame that on the fact that I'm very tired and it's too god damned early.
If'n you'd like to talk more about X Servers or the fun that ensues when using them, just lemme know.

Top

Member Spotlight
Crime

Crime
SC, usa
Posts: 506
Joined: March 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics46,286
Posts81,456
Members2,157
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 39,450
Gremelin 7,195
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Herbert_Sherbert, codemauve, Lillysdragon1984, Brewwit, boa
2157 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 2 guests and 1 spider.
Latest News