Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#16619 - 02/23/03 11:50 PM Trying to add a slave drive to my redhat box without formatting...
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 212
Rapture Offline
Member
Rapture Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 212
Redwood
ok I'm trying to add a slave drive that was previously a slave drive in a freeBSD 4.5 box into my redhat 8.0 box without formatting. Not sure how to go about doing this.

when i try....
#mkdir /mnt/hdd2
mount /dev/hdla /mnt/hdd2

I get "mount: your must specify the filesystem type"

IF anybody can help me out with adding this slave drive without formatting that would be great.


thanks

Top
Sponsored Links
#16620 - 02/24/03 12:16 AM Re: Trying to add a slave drive to my redhat box without formatting...
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Portland, OR; USA
Read the man files for mount, if I recall its just a trigger that tells your system what filetype the new drive is using. I don't have a linux box up right now (re organizing my office, so all of my systems are unplugged and sitting on an old desk).

Its rather easy but I don't really recall...


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Top
#16621 - 02/24/03 01:47 AM Re: Trying to add a slave drive to my redhat box without formatting...
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 212
Rapture Offline
Member
Rapture Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 212
Redwood
unfortunatly it's unable to recognize the file system type. I knew this was a problem but was hoping there would be away around it. I've read through redhat's web site and serached on google but couldn't find anything. I may just have to wait till linux can recognize each file system and be more compatible.

Top
#16622 - 02/24/03 01:55 AM Re: Trying to add a slave drive to my redhat box without formatting...
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 67
mtlhd Offline
Junior Member
mtlhd Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 67
Los Angeles,CA
Actually it should be able to read the freebsd filesystem. Correct me I'm wrong but I think the FreeBSD filesystem uses UFS. IF that's the case then you'd just have to configure your Kernel to allow it to read from that type. It's not too hard. I've done it.


People demand freedom of speech as a compensation for the freedom of thought which they seldom use.
Top
#16623 - 02/24/03 02:00 AM Re: Trying to add a slave drive to my redhat box without formatting...
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 67
mtlhd Offline
Junior Member
mtlhd Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 67
Los Angeles,CA
Oh, by the way. I just found this doing a search on Google Linux :

Click Here

It might be a little outdated but it should clue you in on how to use it, if nothing on there helps, then check this out:

Google Results


People demand freedom of speech as a compensation for the freedom of thought which they seldom use.
Top
#16624 - 02/24/03 02:09 AM Re: Trying to add a slave drive to my redhat box without formatting...
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 212
Rapture Offline
Member
Rapture Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 212
Redwood
thank you

Top
#16625 - 02/24/03 02:34 AM Re: Trying to add a slave drive to my redhat box without formatting...
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 67
mtlhd Offline
Junior Member
mtlhd Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 67
Los Angeles,CA
No problem. One more thing, if and when you're able to mount the slave drive make it readable only. I think it's still experimental to write to a UFS system under linux, bad things might occur if you write to it.:\


People demand freedom of speech as a compensation for the freedom of thought which they seldom use.
Top
#16626 - 02/25/03 12:07 AM Re: Trying to add a slave drive to my redhat box without formatting...
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 212
Rapture Offline
Member
Rapture Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 212
Redwood
hmm well...if anybody cares i recompiled the redhat kernel so it worked with UFS then made the slave drive read only (because it wouldn't let me write). Copied all the stuff to my windows box then unmounted the drive and remounted it. It all works now. Thanks for the links

Top
#16627 - 02/25/03 01:43 AM Re: Trying to add a slave drive to my redhat box without formatting...
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 67
mtlhd Offline
Junior Member
mtlhd Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 67
Los Angeles,CA
Glad to hear everything worked out ok.


People demand freedom of speech as a compensation for the freedom of thought which they seldom use.
Top

Member Spotlight
Crime

Crime
SC, usa
Posts: 506
Joined: March 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Sponsored Links
Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics46,472
Posts81,642
Members2,157
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Latest Postings
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 39,636
Gremelin 7,195
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860