Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
It appears that you're running an Ad-Blocker. This site is monetized by Advertising and by User Donations; we ask that if you find this site helpful that you whitelist us in your Ad-Blocker, or make a Donation to help aid in operating costs.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#17033 - 02/24/04 03:19 AM compiling source in mandrake  
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 28
Sicosis Offline
Junior Member
Sicosis  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 28
Houston
I downloaded TerminatorX for Mandrake along with a bunch of other files and i have to compile them. I've read the ReadMe files and the Install file but I still don't understand the instructions. I'm used to Windows doing everything for you. If someone could help me iwth some instructions I would really appreciate it.


Life's a bitch and then you die so f**k the world and let's get high!
Sponsored Links
#17034 - 02/24/04 04:10 AM Re: compiling source in mandrake  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
sinetific Offline
nobody
sinetific  Offline
nobody

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
Ann Arbor
90% of the time compiling something in linux is more simple than a windows install you just need to type 3 commands:
./configure
make
make install

uncompress the archive you downloaded, either tar -zxvf if it's a tar.gz or .tgz or tar -jxvf if its a tar.bz2, then cd into the new directory that was created and type those three commands, the last one needs to be executed as root because it will copy the binary into your system directory somewhere in /usr and any needed libs.
so just either su to root or use sudo which ever you prefer.

If you have anymore problems feel free to ask.

#17035 - 02/25/04 08:00 AM Re: compiling source in mandrake  
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 28
Sicosis Offline
Junior Member
Sicosis  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 28
Houston
I did that with LinCity and it still didn't work though


Life's a bitch and then you die so f**k the world and let's get high!
#17036 - 02/25/04 10:06 AM Re: compiling source in mandrake  
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,146
Ice Offline
UGN News Staff
Ice  Offline
UGN News Staff

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,146
Likes: 1
Canada
did you install as root ? Not just a su root ?


Good artists copy, great artists
steal.

-Picasso
#17037 - 02/25/04 11:33 AM Re: compiling source in mandrake  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
sinetific Offline
nobody
sinetific  Offline
nobody

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
Ann Arbor
Tell me exactly what you doing.

Sponsored Links
#17038 - 02/25/04 06:21 PM Re: compiling source in mandrake  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå×  Offline


Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 1
Maryland
LinCity? Sim city clone?

#17039 - 02/25/04 06:47 PM Re: compiling source in mandrake  
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 616
weeve Offline
UGN Super Poster
weeve  Offline
UGN Super Poster

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 616
The Beach
Well a good admin su's to root to stay safe, but with installs imo, it's safe not to su, a root console is best.

make clean
make config
make all
make install

that usually works

90% of the time I tried using old make routines I had failures, till I learned a new way to do it way back.

btw learner why do you use ascii as your identifier as in "?♥♣♠♦" liek question wanna play cards? maybe? Also the picture in your profile being a desktop girl:) kekeke


"Beware the Jabberwock, my son!
The jaws that bite, the claws that catch!
Beware the Jubjub bird, and shun
The frumious Bandersnatch!"
#17040 - 02/26/04 02:54 AM Re: compiling source in mandrake  
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 28
Sicosis Offline
Junior Member
Sicosis  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 28
Houston
What is "su", i install stuff as the Root under the KDE Environment.


Life's a bitch and then you die so f**k the world and let's get high!
#17041 - 02/26/04 08:07 AM Re: compiling source in mandrake  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
sinetific Offline
nobody
sinetific  Offline
nobody

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
Ann Arbor
su is known as either switch user or super user. The command by itself will prompt you for the root password to become root(super user). The command su followed by another user name will prompt you for that users password.

If you want to get any help you need to provide us with specific technical details of what is happening. "It didn't work" simply is not enough information. Post any and all errors that you recieve on the command line or else we are just taking stabs in the dark about why "It didn't work".


Member Spotlight
Crime
Crime
SC, usa
Posts: 506
Joined: March 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics47,470
Posts82,640
Average Daily Posts7
Members2,159
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Latest Postings
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 40,634
Gremelin 7,195
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Top Liked Users (All Time)
§intå× Likes: 1
Cold Sunn Likes: 1
Crime Likes: 1
Cyrez Likes: 1
Ghost Likes: 1
Gremelin Likes: 4
Ice Likes: 1
unreal Likes: 1
Top Liked Users (30 Days)
No Data Found
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
(Snapshot build 20160902)