Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
It appears that you're running an Ad-Blocker. This site is monetized by Advertising and by User Donations; we ask that if you find this site helpful that you whitelist us in your Ad-Blocker, or make a Donation to help aid in operating costs.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#17710 - 09/28/03 01:57 AM Midi files!  
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 20
n3o Offline
Junior Member
n3o  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 20
England
Hi,

I was wondering if any body could help me in being able to integrate a midi file into an application.

I am currently using VB Pro 5.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks for those who help ¦:¬)

Sponsored Links
#17711 - 10/03/03 09:43 AM Re: Midi files!  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 599
BackSlash Offline
UGN's Resident Homo
BackSlash  Offline
UGN's Resident Homo

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 599
TN
you could bring in the windows media player control. it is msdxm.ocx on my computer. then just do MediaPlayer1.play(filename) that should work. also look into the PlaySound function in the API. it achieve the same effect.


"It's better to burn out, than to fade away."
#17712 - 10/05/03 02:42 AM Re: Midi files!  
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 20
n3o Offline
Junior Member
n3o  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 20
England
The only problem with doing that, is it will not actually be intergrating the midi file its self.

Do you know anyway of actually putting the midi script for playing the notes into the appliction.

Thanks

#17713 - 10/05/03 03:06 AM Re: Midi files!  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,273
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner
SilentRage  Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,273
OH, USA
add it as a resource file. When the program runs you can save the resource file to a temp directory as a temp file and play it.


Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net
#17714 - 10/26/03 04:36 AM Re: Midi files!  
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 209
Red Mage Offline
Member
Red Mage  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 209
here.
If you know all of the notes, you can input it as:

PLAY "O4ABCDEFGO2ABC" (ABCDEFG being notes, O1-4 being octaves, and using + or - for sharp and flat)

Unfortunatly this only works if you know every note, and I'm not sure if it can do multiple notes at the same time (I use QBasic, so I don't know what the newer ones can do).


Those who say do not know.
Those who know do not say.
Sponsored Links

Member Spotlight
Gremelin
Gremelin
Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,195
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics46,786
Posts81,956
Average Daily Posts11
Members2,159
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Latest Postings
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 39,950
Gremelin 7,195
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Top Liked Users (All Time)
§intå× Likes: 1
Cold Sunn Likes: 1
Crime Likes: 1
Cyrez Likes: 1
Ghost Likes: 1
Gremelin Likes: 4
Ice Likes: 1
unreal Likes: 1
Top Liked Users (30 Days)
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
(Snapshot build 20160902)