Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
toggle
February
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#18083 - 01/28/04 03:28 PM Which is better, filter in a query or filter an array
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå× Offline



Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Maryland
I recently was asked to make a search that filtered on 5 different variables. Now that isn't that hard. in MySQL it would be something like

SELECT * FROM TABLE_NAME_HERE WHERE This = '$That' "
." and This2 = '$That2'"
." and This3 = '$That3"
."";

You get the idea.

Problem was not allways would all five variables be used.(is that proper english?) So I found myself researching multi-dimensional arrays and using that instead.

http://www.php.net/manual/en/function.array.php

Now the cool thing about using arrays is I found it to be pretty close to using a database. I have used arrays befor, but never with more than 3 demesions. Using PHP What I did was search the database on the only variable that would allways be used. Then I filtered the array from there. I removed the unwated array elements using unset ()

http://www.php.net/manual/en/function.unset.php

Then re-ordered the array to be able to get its results using array_values()

http://www.php.net/manual/en/function.array-values.php

However, after further reading I find array_values() dose not overwrite the old array, instead it creates a new one. Now with a huge array this could be a memory issue could it not?

I am looking for any thoughtful feed back on this as to what a efficent work around might be.


My New site OpenEyes
Top
Sponsored Links
#18084 - 01/28/04 03:54 PM Re: Which is better, filter in a query or filter an array
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,194
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,194
Portland, OR; USA
array :x


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Top
#18085 - 01/28/04 09:35 PM Re: Which is better, filter in a query or filter an array
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 68
Scalli0n Offline
Junior Member
Scalli0n Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 68
http://www.zend.com/zend/tut/tutorial-ferrara1.php

Wrote that tutorial for zend a bit back.

Top
#18086 - 01/29/04 08:20 AM Re: Which is better, filter in a query or filter an array
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,136
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,136
Pimpin the Colorizzle
Don't know enough about PHP to provide a definitive answer, but based on general programming theory, I think it's safe to say that using the database would be best. Think about the differences in implementation. In the database, you have a system which has had thousands of hours put into it, and is incredibly optimized. Compare that to whatever algorithm you come up to filter the results in the array. I guarantee you the database is going to be better. Furthermore, the database is implemented in native code, so it'll run far more quickly than a similar algorithm done in an interpretted language (PHP). Combine the database's caching mechanisms...and it's a lot faster and smarter to just let the database handle that.

Top

Member Spotlight
Gremelin

Gremelin
Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,194
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics43,855
Posts79,029
Members2,157
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 37,018
Gremelin 7,194
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Herbert_Sherbert, codemauve, Lillysdragon1984, Brewwit, boa
2157 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 1 guest and 0 spiders.
Latest News