Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
It appears that you're running an Ad-Blocker. This site is monetized by Advertising and by User Donations; we ask that if you find this site helpful that you whitelist us in your Ad-Blocker, or make a Donation to help aid in operating costs.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#18083 - 01/28/04 03:28 PM Which is better, filter in a query or filter an array  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå×  Offline

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 1
I recently was asked to make a search that filtered on 5 different variables. Now that isn't that hard. in MySQL it would be something like

." and This2 = '$That2'"
." and This3 = '$That3"

You get the idea.

Problem was not allways would all five variables be used.(is that proper english?) So I found myself researching multi-dimensional arrays and using that instead.

Now the cool thing about using arrays is I found it to be pretty close to using a database. I have used arrays befor, but never with more than 3 demesions. Using PHP What I did was search the database on the only variable that would allways be used. Then I filtered the array from there. I removed the unwated array elements using unset ()

Then re-ordered the array to be able to get its results using array_values()

However, after further reading I find array_values() dose not overwrite the old array, instead it creates a new one. Now with a huge array this could be a memory issue could it not?

I am looking for any thoughtful feed back on this as to what a efficent work around might be.

Sponsored Links
#18084 - 01/28/04 03:54 PM Re: Which is better, filter in a query or filter an array  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
array :x

Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#18085 - 01/28/04 09:35 PM Re: Which is better, filter in a query or filter an array  
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 68
Scalli0n Offline
Junior Member
Scalli0n  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 68

Wrote that tutorial for zend a bit back.

#18086 - 01/29/04 08:20 AM Re: Which is better, filter in a query or filter an array  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,136
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster
pergesu  Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,136
Pimpin the Colorizzle
Don't know enough about PHP to provide a definitive answer, but based on general programming theory, I think it's safe to say that using the database would be best. Think about the differences in implementation. In the database, you have a system which has had thousands of hours put into it, and is incredibly optimized. Compare that to whatever algorithm you come up to filter the results in the array. I guarantee you the database is going to be better. Furthermore, the database is implemented in native code, so it'll run far more quickly than a similar algorithm done in an interpretted language (PHP). Combine the database's caching mechanisms...and it's a lot faster and smarter to just let the database handle that.

Member Spotlight
SC, usa
Posts: 506
Joined: March 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Average Daily Posts12
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Latest Postings
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 40,225
Gremelin 7,195
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Top Liked Users (All Time)
§intå× Likes: 1
Cold Sunn Likes: 1
Crime Likes: 1
Cyrez Likes: 1
Ghost Likes: 1
Gremelin Likes: 4
Ice Likes: 1
unreal Likes: 1
Top Liked Users (30 Days)
No Data Found
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
(Snapshot build 20160902)