Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
toggle
May
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#18094 - 03/01/03 08:39 AM flash help
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 192
xero Offline
Member
xero Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 192
i am just learning flash, and i needed help on doing something. i have a button in a scene, that has the action "getURL". i was wondering if i can specify the size and properties of a new window that the link is supposed to open, sort of like javascript:

Code:
 <A HREF="#" onClick="window.open('intro.html', 'intro',
config='height=400,width=500,toolbar=no,menubar=no,scrollbars=no,resizable=no,location=no,directories=no,status=no')">Click To Open</A>
 
is it possible to have this same function using the actionscript:

Code:
 on (release) {
    getURL("intro.html", "_blank");
} 
any help would be greatly appreciated.. thanks


"Most of our imports come from outside the country" -George W. Bush

http://www.zero-technologies.com
Top
Sponsored Links
#18095 - 03/01/03 08:48 AM Re: flash help
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,194
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,194
Portland, OR; USA
I THINK (i'm probably wrong) that you'd do:

Code:
on (release) {
   getURL("intro.html", "_blank", "height=400", "width=400");
}
I'm not too sure, been a long time since I actually played with flash :/.


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Top
#18096 - 03/01/03 09:01 AM Re: flash help
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 192
xero Offline
Member
xero Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 192
hmm nope syntax error.. thanks anyway.. anyone else?


"Most of our imports come from outside the country" -George W. Bush

http://www.zero-technologies.com
Top
#18097 - 03/01/03 09:28 AM Re: flash help
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,194
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,194
Portland, OR; USA
Odd lol, see told you that its been a while ... Search google for "Flash getURL Height" or something ...


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Top
#18098 - 03/02/03 09:15 PM Re: flash help
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 599
BackSlash Offline
UGN's Resident Homo
BackSlash Offline
UGN's Resident Homo

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 599
TN
i think in swish, you can call a javascript function. so if you had the javascript in the page it would work


"It's better to burn out, than to fade away."
Top
#18099 - 03/03/03 02:37 AM Re: flash help
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 192
xero Offline
Member
xero Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 192
i did a little search, and i found out when you edit the action in flash mx, where it says URL you just put in like...

Code:
 javascript:openNewWindow('intro.html','intro','height=400,width=500,toolbar=no,scrollbars=no') 
so yeah.. well thanks for the help


"Most of our imports come from outside the country" -George W. Bush

http://www.zero-technologies.com
Top
#18100 - 03/03/03 02:56 AM Re: flash help
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,194
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,194
Portland, OR; USA
shit, i was close!


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Top
#18101 - 03/05/03 07:36 AM Re: flash help
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 192
xero Offline
Member
xero Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 192
ok this must seem utterly retarded of me, but how exactly would one make like a scrollbar for text in flash? after you're done laughing at me please do help


"Most of our imports come from outside the country" -George W. Bush

http://www.zero-technologies.com
Top
#18102 - 03/07/03 11:39 PM Re: flash help
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 212
Rapture Offline
Member
Rapture Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 212
Redwood
Quote:
Originally posted by BackSlash:
i think in swish, you can call a javascript function. so if you had the javascript in the page it would work
that's what i'de do. I just used swish 2.0 and it does everything for you. it's not an expensive program either

Top
#18103 - 04/14/03 02:58 AM Re: flash help
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 10
n-rop Offline
Junior Member
n-rop Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 10
sydney
i would just make a simple motion tween that loops

so the text scrolls across the screen then put in an action.
goto frame 1
and it would repeate.


Mental note to self:must get off ass and make up decent signature
Top

Member Spotlight
Gremelin

Gremelin
Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,194
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics45,741
Posts80,909
Members2,157
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 38,905
Gremelin 7,194
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Herbert_Sherbert, codemauve, Lillysdragon1984, Brewwit, boa
2157 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 2 guests and 3 spiders.
Latest News