Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
toggle
February
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#18200 - 02/12/04 08:20 PM naming php variables
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 69
loanbanker Offline
Junior Member
loanbanker Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 69
I have read that I cannot have a space when naming a php variable. Here is my issue. I have a form im working with that someone enters there first name, last name etc..

When im writing the php script can i use the underscore for the naming process.. In other words I know I cannot use $First Name as a valid variable. But can I instead use
$First_Name ? Or am I completely way off base here? Any help is appreciated.


Your mind is fine. Reality is what needs adjusting.
Top
Sponsored Links
#18201 - 02/13/04 12:46 AM Re: naming php variables
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,194
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,194
Portland, OR; USA
That's what you're supposed to use; it's invalid html to have spaces in a name declaration.


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Top
#18202 - 02/13/04 12:13 PM Re: naming php variables
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå× Offline



Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Maryland
Correct. $FirstName, $first_name, $First_name, $First_Name

These are all different but valid varriables.
You could also have something like...


**Replace ) with > and ( with <
Code:
if(!$form_step){
//above line breaks script up and says if no value is set for $form_step do the following.
(Form=My_form.php?form_step=submit)
First Name(br)
(input name="Name[]" id="Name[]" Value="<? echo "$Name[0]"; ?>")
(br)
Last Name(br)
(input name="Name[]" id="Name[]" Value="<? echo "$Name[1]"; ?>")
}
The above turns the first and last anme variables into an array of Name. All array's start at 0 by default. So the First Name would be $Name[0] and Last Name would be called with $Name[1]. Now we work some magic.

Code:
//in same document below the above
if($form_step == "submit"){
if ($Name[0] == ""){
$Name[0] = "Please Enter your First Name";
}
if ($Name[1] == ""){
$Name[1] = "Please Enter your Last Name";
}

if ($Name[0] == "Please Enter your First Name"){
?>
(meta http-equiv="refresh" content="5;url=My_form.php")
(center)
You did not properly complete this form.  Taking you back.
?>
     }
if ($Name[1] == "Please Enter your First Name"){
?>
(meta http-equiv="refresh" content="5;url=My_form.php")
(center)
You did not properly complete this form.  Taking you back.
<?
     }
//if the above steps are not executed then you 
//and start the trim and insert functions
}
See the following links for some ideas
http://us2.php.net/manual/en/ref.array.php


*This is a must for form data*
http://us2.php.net/manual/en/function.trim.php

http://us2.php.net/manual/en/control-structures.for.php

Make all name in your form something like form_feild[]. Now you can trim them all using something like a while or for loop

http://us2.php.net/manual/en/control-structures.for.php
http://us2.php.net/manual/en/control-structures.while.php


With arrays you will want to know these commands also.
http://us2.php.net/manual/en/function.count.php
http://us2.php.net/manual/en/function.explode.php
http://us2.php.net/manual/en/function.split.php


$REMOTE_ADDR - Gets user IP
more environment variables help

Let me know if this helps

http://us4.php.net/getenv


My New site OpenEyes
Top
#18203 - 02/14/04 01:12 AM Re: naming php variables
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 69
loanbanker Offline
Junior Member
loanbanker Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 69
Thanks Gizmo for clearing it up for me.

Sin, I have to say that your post is absolutely perfect in timing. Arrays are the next chapter!

Im reading your links now. Thank you for the help!


Your mind is fine. Reality is what needs adjusting.
Top
#18204 - 02/14/04 12:30 PM Re: naming php variables
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå× Offline



Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Maryland
If you use session try to put the secure(meaning encrypted or non security related) user info you need on all other pages in the session at login time using an array. This will minimise queries and hopefuly speed up page loads.


My New site OpenEyes
Top

Member Spotlight
Gremelin

Gremelin
Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,194
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics43,832
Posts79,006
Members2,157
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 36,995
Gremelin 7,194
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Herbert_Sherbert, codemauve, Lillysdragon1984, Brewwit, boa
2157 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 1 guest and 0 spiders.
Latest News