Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
toggle
July
S M T W T F S
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
· Blackbeard.....
by Gremelin on 07/04/16 08:31 PM
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#18593 - 05/01/04 04:30 PM setting up a bbs
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 27
sparkicks Offline
Junior Member
sparkicks Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 27
I want to set up a bbs but i dont know how i have phpbb and i have php triad and i want to host it from my pc. can anyone help me
ps: i dont know php but i am learning

Top
Sponsored Links
#18594 - 05/01/04 06:04 PM Re: setting up a bbs
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Portland, OR; USA
Well to run PHP scripts on any computer (windows, linux, or even MacOS X) you need an Apache Daemon and a PHP interperater.

If you want the easy approach, do what I do for testing scripts, get EasyPHP (it's a combination Apache/PHP/MySQL setup all pre configured).
http://www.easyphp.org/

If you want the long drawn out approach:
http://www.apache.org/
http://www.mysql.org/
http://www.php.net/
http://www.perl.com/ (or http://www.activestate.com/)


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Top
#18595 - 05/02/04 02:55 AM Re: setting up a bbs
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå× Offline



Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Maryland
PHP triad is PHP/apache/MySQL in one install package. Problem is I belive all the packages are outdated.

Looks like easy PHP is an more uptodate of the same thing.

The thing I would most worry about however hosting this from your box is

1.) Do you have a static IP?
2.) You using DNS?
3.) Have you set up SMTP, POP3, iMAP?
4.) Is it secure enough to open your desktop to the world?


My New site OpenEyes
Top
#18596 - 05/02/04 04:05 AM Re: setting up a bbs
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 807
Ghost Offline
UGN Super Poster
Ghost Offline
UGN Super Poster

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 807
Wisconsin
If you feel that you meet all of syn-tax's requirements check this out, http://www.no-ip.com . They allow you to assign a DNS address to yourself so that people wont have to use an ip to connect to you. For example: you could assign sparkicks.sytes.net to your computer. They give you the option of having a sub domain of a few registered domains. sytes.net is one, then there is dyndns.net, and a few others. Realize of course that this is all free. And if you have a dynamic ip address, no problem. They have an application that will login into your account, check your current ip, and update the dns record on their servers. The update takes a maximum of five minutes too.

Top
#18597 - 05/02/04 04:19 AM Re: setting up a bbs
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Portland, OR; USA
Quote:
Originally posted by in_tax:
PHP triad is PHP/apache/MySQL in one install package. Problem is I belive all the packages are outdated.
EasyPHP is all of those, all current, well close to current ... Even comes with PHPMyAdmin configured lol...

If needing one of the free dns places, go with http://www.dyndns.org/ they have some nice domain choices (like gizmo.is-a-geek.com forwarding to me through the setting in my router) lol...


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Top
#18598 - 05/02/04 09:08 AM Re: setting up a bbs
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå× Offline



Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Maryland
*Word of caution*

BBS's are loaded with security holes. With the wrong hole on your server you could find your self owned.


My New site OpenEyes
Top
#18599 - 05/02/04 02:57 PM Re: setting up a bbs
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Portland, OR; USA
Go with something that's been around for a while, trust me, most of the holes will have been pounded out. Free isn't always better...


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Top
#18600 - 05/03/04 02:28 PM Re: setting up a bbs
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 27
sparkicks Offline
Junior Member
sparkicks Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 27
what could happen other then someone take over my bbs?. Cus i make a backup of my drive every so often.

Any chance that you might be able to get easy php in english cus i cant understand it at all

When i do into it. It has an error message that i cant read and when you click ok it it just closes and nothing starts up.

Sorry for so many posts but i have it working now in english but what port does apache use? it says that some other program is using it

My anti virus was stopping it and i have it up working but it doesnt seem to have php on the list

1.) Do you have a static IP?
2.) You using DNS?
3.) Have you set up SMTP, POP3, iMAP?
4.) Is it secure enough to open your desktop to the world?
I have a fixed ip address if that is what you mean.DNS? all i know is that i connect to my isp by its ip address in the box dns by i dont realy know what it means

I havent set up SMTP, POP3, iMAP cus i dont know how to. I dont even know what it means. Macromedia dreamwever can open php script but i dont know how to use it to run php.
Sorry i didnt know that. I really didnt mean to "mass?" post.

Top
#18601 - 05/03/04 02:57 PM Re: setting up a bbs
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Portland, OR; USA
Yeh it runs in english, run EasyPHP and double click the flashing E in your toolbar, from the dropdown choose english.

Also, they ahve extra english packs at easyphp under the download section, mainly for error pages.

A static IP is a fixed IP; where a Dynamic IP is one which changes.

You can take over the host machine with insecure processes.

Apache runs on port 80.

BTW, there is an edit function, use it; don't let me catch you mass posting again.


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Top
#18602 - 05/03/04 03:09 PM Re: setting up a bbs
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 27
sparkicks Offline
Junior Member
sparkicks Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 27
am i allowed to talk about other bbs here? Cus i know one that i cant seem to get into now but the software was great. You could go into your own profile and see how many views any of your posts had and replies and it was like having you own bedroom. You also had things liking traking your pms to see when they were opened or if they were and stuff like that. Do u know what i am talking about? do u know the name of it?
Do you know hackers.com? It has a bbs but i cant seem to get onto it. or the site

Top
#18603 - 05/03/04 03:13 PM Re: setting up a bbs
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 807
Ghost Offline
UGN Super Poster
Ghost Offline
UGN Super Poster

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 807
Wisconsin
sparkicks, you need to have an SMTP server and a POP3 or IMAP server setup setup on your machine. SMTP is Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (it might be Send Mail Transfer Protocol, i forget which), its how you send emails to other people. POP3 is Post Office Protocol version 3, its one way you can recieve emails, IMAP is internet message access protocol, its another way to recieve email. If its true that Macromedia Dreamweaver can create PHP scripts (never used it beofre), you still need to install PHP on your machine. Go to http://www.google.com and search for a free "POP3 server for windows" same with SMTP and find one to setup.

Top
#18604 - 05/03/04 03:14 PM Re: setting up a bbs
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 807
Ghost Offline
UGN Super Poster
Ghost Offline
UGN Super Poster

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 807
Wisconsin
And yes you can talk about other BBS software on here, but its usually not allowed that you spam us with links to other sites.

Top
#18605 - 05/03/04 03:29 PM Re: setting up a bbs
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 27
sparkicks Offline
Junior Member
sparkicks Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 27
I got a pop3 and smtp.I tried to see if no-ip was working by linking it to my ftp server cerbus but it came up like this:^ The IP address you entered is invalid. Please enter a non-private IP network address it wont allow me to put in ftp in front of the address.

Top
#18606 - 05/03/04 03:37 PM Re: setting up a bbs
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 807
Ghost Offline
UGN Super Poster
Ghost Offline
UGN Super Poster

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 807
Wisconsin
lol, ftp is a protocol, its not part of an ip address. A computer trying to connect to your ftp server first resolves your hostname to an ip address, and then establishes a connection. Also make sure you giving it your WAN ip address, insead of your LAN ip address. go to http://www.dslreports.com/whois and add that as an "A" DNS record.

Top
#18607 - 05/03/04 03:41 PM Re: setting up a bbs
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 27
sparkicks Offline
Junior Member
sparkicks Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 27
sorry i dont understand what u do. How does that site allow u to add that.

Top
#18608 - 05/03/04 03:59 PM Re: setting up a bbs
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 807
Ghost Offline
UGN Super Poster
Ghost Offline
UGN Super Poster

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 807
Wisconsin
No-ip.com should have all the documentation you need. If not search google for "DNS help" or "DNS Records" or something like that. And also remember that if you want people to be able to connect to these services, you have open the ports these use on you router/modem to allow the connections can pass through.

Top
#18609 - 08/11/04 12:14 PM Re: setting up a bbs
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
szlcn Offline
Junior Member
szlcn Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
US (Headquarter)
The parlance on the approval!


Contact information:

Homepage: http://www.szlcn.com or http://www.emaxtel.com/webdesign_html/
E-mail: [email protected]
Tel: 972-351-2020
Top
#18610 - 08/11/04 12:33 PM Re: setting up a bbs
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 209
Red Mage Offline
Member
Red Mage Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 209
here.
Try TikiWiki, I've heard that's easy to run off of home computers, and it has a board.

http://tikiwiki.org/tiki-index.php


Those who say do not know.
Those who know do not say.
Top

Member Spotlight
Crime

Crime
SC, usa
Posts: 506
Joined: March 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics46,185
Posts81,355
Members2,157
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 39,349
Gremelin 7,195
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Herbert_Sherbert, codemauve, Lillysdragon1984, Brewwit, boa
2157 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 0 guests and 1 spider.
Latest News