Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
It appears that you're running an Ad-Blocker. This site is monetized by Advertising and by ">User Donations; we ask that if you find this site helpful that you whitelist us in your Ad-Blocker, or make a ">Donation to help aid in operating costs.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#1933 - 07/27/02 05:16 AM Xeon MB question  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 730
Moffesto Offline
UGN Supporter
Moffesto  Offline
UGN Supporter

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 730
Kuntucky
Anyone familiar with xeon mbs or just dual cpu MBs in general. I was wondering if you could run one CPU and stick in another whenever.


2 people can keep a secret as long as one is dead
Sponsored Links
#1934 - 07/30/02 01:03 AM Re: Xeon MB question  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 143
olosoft Offline
Member
olosoft  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 143
.
uhm, simply, yes, it is possible to just take out a processor and put in another, of the same architecture. for example, you have a fully running p4 2.0 socket 478, you buy a p4 2.5 socket 478, you can just take the 2.0 out and put the 2.5 in.

as for dual, uhh, what do you want to know. they work pretty much the same as single processor machine. i dont recommend you get one because most thing that you will do wont even be able to use both processes and itll be a waste of money.

if you really want one, i recommend supermicro . they make very very nice dual boards.

i just got just this one and its so damn sexy.

#1935 - 07/30/02 01:47 AM Re: Xeon MB question  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 562
Le4rner Offline
UGN Supporter
Le4rner  Offline
UGN Supporter

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 562
8 bays for RAM? up to 16 gig of RAM. God damn olosoft. That is beyond sexy. That is Super modle. 6 PCI slots, no AGP... Like it matters.

Very nice. <img border="0" alt="[Yum]" title="" src="graemlins/yum.gif" />

#1936 - 07/30/02 07:48 PM Re: Xeon MB question  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 143
olosoft Offline
Member
olosoft  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 143
.
yea, i only have 4 gigs of ram installed, i wasnt able to find 2 gig dimms anywhere, that didnt cost like 1000$. and i got the pci version of the geforce4 ti4600 so its all good.

#1937 - 07/30/02 11:52 PM Re: Xeon MB question  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 122
SephiroX Offline
Member
SephiroX  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 122
England
Sure looks like it hold agp...

Sponsored Links
#1938 - 08/02/02 06:45 AM Re: Xeon MB question  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 860
unreal Offline
Der ‹beltšter
unreal  Offline
Der ‹beltšter

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 860
Likes: 1
KCRQ
Nope...those things you see on the right are for RAM...

#1939 - 08/02/02 05:07 PM Re: Xeon MB question  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 730
Moffesto Offline
UGN Supporter
Moffesto  Offline
UGN Supporter

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 730
Kuntucky
very nice, i need agp... its a requirement for me wink . That ones prolly out of my league.


2 people can keep a secret as long as one is dead

Member Spotlight
Gremelin
Gremelin
Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,202
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics34,149
Posts69,299
Members2,166
Average Daily Posts2
Members2,166
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Latest Postings
The History Thread...
by Gremelin on 08/11/17 07:11 PM
my old account still exists!
by Gremelin on 08/11/17 07:02 PM
My friend NEEDS your HELP!
by Lena01 on 07/21/17 07:06 AM
I'm having fun with this guy.
by gabithompson730 on 07/20/17 08:50 AM
I want to upgrade my phone
by gabithompson730 on 07/20/17 08:49 AM
Newbie here
by gabithompson730 on 07/20/17 08:46 AM
Blackbeard.....
by Gremelin on 01/14/17 07:03 PM
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 41,382
Gremelin 7,202
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Top Liked Users (All Time)
Black Beard Likes: 1
Cold Sunn Likes: 1
Crime Likes: 1
Cyrez Likes: 1
fleshwound Likes: 1
Ghost Likes: 2
Gremelin Likes: 12
Ice Likes: 1
ninjaneo Likes: 1
Top Liked Users (30 Days)
No Data Found
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
(Snapshot build 20170206)